The Post Hole Diggers

Decks
Richmond Hill ON L4C
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Decks
The Post Hole Diggers
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

74%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for The Post Hole Diggers

Average customer rating:
7.6 10 (65 reviews)

Sort by

Dylan in Etobicoke
Dylan in Etobicoke
1 review Toronto, ON
1/10

Not as advertised

I hired this company to come by and put up about 13 fence posts, they came and said they couldn’t do the job because I needed to remove some asphalt on my neighbours driveway. I asked how much needed to be removed and he said 1 foot around the needed area, it seemed like alot so I removed 8”. It turned out to be way to much, thanks guys. Then the job started and it turned out to be a mess every pole is a different distance. When I asked why, he said you have to pay extra for that even though he never mentioned it. A hole had to be dig by hand and said it would be 200 dollars extra. When the bill was being settled he tried to charge me 300 dollars for the first visit, even though nobody mentioned a word about this. Pole hole diggers had horrible costumer service and terrible communication, I would never recommend anyone using this company. P.S beware of hidden costs.
Dylan

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Dylan,
Thank you for your review I understand your frustration with the cost of the work. However we do explain in our confirmation email that all our prices are just estimates and the pricing will be reviewed once the crew lead gets onsite and assess the site. We phone you the first time to let you know our crew was coming out to do the work and you had nothing ready for him to start. In our confirmation email we let you know that the pricing is not firm until we start the work because every job site is different and the grounds can change in certain areas which effects the amount of work needed. We try our best to keep all our customers happy and we do not obligate them to do the work with us once we change the pricing which is why we do not take any payment until the job is completed. Should you wish to discuss this further I would be happy to help.
Thank you,
The Post Hole Diggers Team

Daniel
Daniel
3 reviews Kitchener, ON
10/10

Fantastic experience with Micky and his team

The office staff was very easy to communicate with and let me know everything I would need for the job. They showed up on time and worked with me to fix a few small problems on site. It started to pour and rather than pack it in, they waited out the rain and finished the job same day. The posts were done well and the cleanup was excellent. Overall a great experience and I would highly reccommend.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Daniel,
Thank you for your kind words I will be sure to let Mike and our office staff know. I am happy your were satisfied with your job.
From
The Post Hole Diggers Team

Rob in Scarborough
Rob in Scarborough
0 reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Deck footing

They dug and installed fence posts and four deck footings in July 2016. The fence posts held out fine but my deck posts sunk and my deck was uneven. Had to spend a full day with a friend to even up the deck and put in a couple more supports next to the ones that sank.
He must have not used enough cement or did not dig below the frost line. In any case he did a bad job,

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Rob,
We are sorry that your job was done that way. However if you had contacted us to discuss your issues we would have been happy to help. In any case I did try looking up your project and we have no records of it. If you can please let me know some more details I would be happy to look into this issue for you.
Thank you,
The Post Hole Diggers

James in Stouffville
James in Stouffville
1 review Whitchurch Stouffville, ON
10/10

Post Holes for Fence and Deck

I contacted the company and received prompt responses to all my questions followed by a detailed quote. The company called me the day before to ensure I was all set and Mike called about 30 minutes prior to arriving. Once the crew was on site they got to work. The guys were awesome, personable and a joy to have there. My 3yr old son was fascinated by the auger and Mike was great at talking to him and offering to show him the machine. Fantastic experience beginning to end and the crew took the time to ensure everything was plum and straight, including switching out poles they thought wouldn't look good in the end product. I can't say enough good things about Mike and the boys. I'll definitely call them again! All the best and thanks for the work!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi James,
It was a pleasure working with you as well. I'm glad you were happy with the crew and the work that was done for you. Look forward to working with you in the future should you ever need anything else done
Have a lovely day,
Mike and The Post Hole Diggers

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Basketball pole

This company was great to work with. Booking was made quickly by phone and email. They were very organized with preparing me with what I needed prior to the job. Mike and crew were very friendly, came on time, and did the job exactly as requested at the agreed price.

I highly recommend this company and their service.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much for your positive review. Hope you and your kids enjoy playing basketball for many years to come. Mike and the PostHole Diggers

pppp in Vaughan
pppp in Vaughan
1 review Vaughan, ON
3/10

Post Review

I was glad, to find someone, to dig my post's. The receptionist, who took my order, was great. She agreed to dig 4 feet deep. But when the guys, came to do the work, they where unprofessional, he didn't want to dig 4 feet deep. he checked his phone, and the receptionist at head office, texted him to dig 4 feet deep. They left the dirt, from the holes, all over my neighbors property. When i asked, if they would clean up, after them self's, I got a rude NO. They never even gave me, a receipt. I will not be using this company again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Waterloo, ON
0/10

Beware of these guys

They dug 2 holes then said a diamond tip auger would be needed to finish the job because there was rock and shale and the cost would be an additional $100 per hole plus the original $40 quoted per hole! I spoke with neighbors that had posts dug recently and they did not have any issues. I had another company come in and they did a great job with no issues and for the original quoted price. Beware!!!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Lori in Toronto
Lori in Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
6/10

Post installation

The service leading up to the installation was fantastic. Paulina was patient and answered all of my questions. On the day of the install the posts were installed quickly and efficiently. However, the professionalism of the crew left something to be desired. They showed up and were smoking in my yard throughout the entire install, the main worker was condescending to me until my husband arrived, then he was ok. They destroyed my rose bush without consulting me or letting me know afterwards. They also walked all over the fence boards I am putting back up, breaking some that I will now have to replace after I had told them I was reusing them. All in all the job was completed on time, and on budget and the quality was good.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Vaughan, ON
3/10

Posthole excavation and sets

Let me start off by saying that I have been installing fences for close to 20 years.
Everything was very professional until I was alerted to the fact that my 12-foot posts were going to cost $10 more per post than a 10-foot post of the same size to install. Even though the length of the post going into the ground would be exactly the same. Couple this with the fact that I carried all of the wood into the appropriate backyard ahead of time.

I also saw one of the workers come out to the company truck on more than one occasion and urinate on the street.

Due to the logistic and personal issues that these guys have..... I will go somewhere else next time for my posts being set.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your feedback and my apologies that you were not satisfied with the service we provided. Unfortunately, we do have a set price list and our prices are carefully calculated based on the average time the jobs take and working with 12' posts does take longer which is the reason for the higher price. As all of our customers are told, if they are not comfortable with any price changes when the contractor is onsite they can refuse the job with no penalty. We are also very upfront when we provide our estimates that the price is for 10' posts and if you had told us you would be using 12' posts we would have gladly told you the price. However, we do thank you for your feedback, and we will definitely use it to work out ways of improving our service for the future.

Javier in Ajax
Javier in Ajax
1 review Ajax, ON
10/10

Great job, competent, efficient, pleasant

They arrived early, they left quickly, they were friendly, the foreman helped me with the planning and placing of the post locations. They are respectful, competent, careful and they know their stuff. Very satisfied with this company and I'd use them again.
Javier

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Javier. It was a pleasure. We're glad that we could help you with your project.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about The Post Hole Diggers

We have been in the post hole digging industry for over 15 years. The Post Hole Diggers prides itself on its integrity, dependability and high quality workmanship. We value our customers satisfaction above all else and strive to deliver on what we promise. Our staff is professional, well trained, and eager to help and strongly believe that no job is too big, too small, or too hard as they always say If there is a will there is a way!!

We have managed over our 15 years in the business to build a reputation for our quality work and our professionalism which has given rise to large contracts with many contractors, construction companies and land developers. We are proud to say that our work speaks for itself and we get many happy repeat customers and referrals for it. We know you will be satisfied with us. Feel free to browse our testimonials for some feedback and reviews.

When working with us, you, the client, can be at ease knowing that we are fully insured for all aspects of the work (from liability to WSIB) and you bear no responsibility should something go wrong. However, we are proud to say that in 15 years we have never had to make any claims for any work related accidents. We always make sure to take all the necessary safety precautions to ensure a safe work environment for our clients and for our employees.

CATEGORIES
Decks and Fences & Gates
SERVICES
Dig & set services, fence repairs, fence building, fence post installation, deck building, deck and other footings installation, prefabricated, vinyl, iron, pressure treated, flagpoles, signs, design and layout, miscellaneous digging services, post installation, hole diggers, pole install, helical piles, helical pier, pile screws, helical screws
SPECIALITIES
Post installation(dig and set or dig only), fence building, deck building.
WEBSITE
http://www.thepostholediggers.ca/
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
10
RETURN POLICY
Customer satisfaction is important to us, if our client is unhappy we will come a solution that the
PAYMENT METHOD
Cash, Debit, Visa or MasterCard
LICENSES
WSIB
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
2 year warranty on the cement used to set our posts and footings
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.