Davel Construction Inc

Interlocking Stone
128 Mountainview Rd. South Halton Hills ON L7G 4K2
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Interlocking Stone
Davel Construction Inc
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

96%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Davel Construction Inc

Average customer rating:
9.8 10 (75 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Halton Hills, ON
10/10

Pergola, Cantilever, Golf Green and more.

Excellent customer service, response times and craft. Good, hard working people with an excellent staff. They did a large project in our backyard, so we brought them back to add to it in a few select ways. We are so glad we did. They also follow up to ensure satisfaction. Have already recommended to others. Thanks Team.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We appreciate your positive feedback and hope you enjoy your beautiful patio and pool in Georgetown for years to come.

Bimmerman5
Bimmerman5
0 reviews Brampton, ON
0/10

Landscape Project

We really did not want to resort to posting an extremely negative client journey as I have even referred Davel to numerous family and friends including my very own neighbour (Both Projects used as gallery pics on Davel's social media). I unfortunately believed Tomas was a man of his word and 5 year warranty period and would eventually address the issues related to his landscaping deficiencies and quality of workmanship.

In 2015 My wife and I trusted Davel (Tomas) and spent our hard earned money to complete a large landscaping project which consisted of hard and soft scaping at our home. Tomas and his team were treated with the utmost respect, provided with meals, beverages each day and full payment as per agreed upon terms.

This project started to fall apart within the first year of completion and within the Davel warranty period indicated at that time by Tomas of five years.

After years of broken commitments to address these issues our home has been left with numerous deficiencies from their work. Our basement wall was damaged / cracked by their mini excavator and starting leaking rain water during the project. (Fixed by Davel after I had to show Tomas video camera footage to prove the damage was caused by a member of his construction team) Our Vendome Paver Driveway has completely sunken and become uneven with materials used becoming cracked, broken, and extremely dangerous for vehicle traffic, Wall Coping on Retaining Garden Boxes have come loose and patio coping have also loosened and broken away and literally fell to the ground.

We have really tried to be patient given the numerous challenges Tomas has indicated he has been facing over the years but it seems as though our kindness has been taken for weakness and we have been burnt by Davel who prides itself on "Building Solid Structures." Unfortunately the truth is after a few years our solid structures started to fall apart and Davel has failed to provide a solid level of post construction service.

Pics Attached

Dean & Tennille

06/12/21 Update - While the pictures speak for themselves we have posted this updated response to set the record STRAIGHT. It is unfortunate that there are gaps in Davel's response which was not honest. Upon Tomas' clear direction we were advised to pay extra (which we did) to have the natural flagstone wet laid on a concrete base for additional driveway durability/strength. Tomas indicted this WOULD be covered under Davel's so called "Warranty". Interestingly, Davel's deceptive company response DID NOT provide any resolution to all of the other deficiencies documented in the pictures. (Defective Retaining Walls, Coping, and Porch/Steps) and in terms of "Disturbing The Foundation" what could be worse than Davel cracking our basement wall? Lastly, when we realized Davel was not returning to address their poor quality of work, we procured another contractor to help us. Thank goodness we did because the new contractor's work has stood the test of time. This contractor also highlighted many errors in Davel's construction and poor workmanship, these have turned out to be additional costly errors at our expense.

BUYER BEWARE!!! We would not like another homeowner to suffer the same experience after investing your hard earned money.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

It's unfortunate that it had to come to this Dean.
It was originally explained to you that we did not want to install natural stone border on the driveway because it will not last and it will crack. You insisted and you were ok with voiding the warranty. Despite that, we still fixed your driveway 2 years later even after you had another contractor put mortar all over the joints and disturb the foundation.
Despite all that , we were still willing to go out and help you at a small cost to you. But that wasn't fair for you.
We feel that we have gone over and above in trying to work with you. Good luck and all the best.

Kyle & Amanda
Kyle & Amanda
1 review Halton Hills, ON
10/10

backyard renovations, landscaping for pool

We are extremely pleased with our experience with Davel Construction. From our first consultation with Tom right through to Dave, Ryan, and Pedro. A job of this magnitude brings added stress and always has changes from the original plans. Davel always provided a professional approach and put our minds at ease every time we spoke with them.

They take pride in what they do and their quality of work is second to none. Our backyard is beautiful and everyone compliments on our oasis. Looking forward to enjoying it next summer. Thanks guys for all your hard work. We would definitely recommend Davel Construction.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Kyle & Amanda , I hope you enjoy your Backyard Pool and Interlocking Patio in Georgetown for years to come.

Morra in Caledon
Morra in Caledon
1 review Caledon, ON
10/10

Outdoor Landscaping

I would recommend Davel Construction for any of your outdoor and landscaping needs. They were professional not only during the consultation process but throughout the whole project. They are easy to collaborate with on their projects and they really listen to the customers needs. Their workmanship is first class! We cannot stop getting compliments on the amazing job they did!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Morra, your home in Caledon is beautiful and now has lots more curb appeal. We are happy that your satisfied.

Elizabeth in Georgetown
Elizabeth in Georgetown
9 reviews Halton Hills, ON
10/10

Front and Side Landscaping

Davel construction was amazing from start to finish. David, Ryan, and Pedro are knowledgeable, professional, and kind. They care about their work and are extremely meticulous. David was always checking in with us, explaining progress, making sure we were happy with everything along the way. When issues arose that had nothing to do with Davel construction David offered to help even though it was not his responsibility at all. We have dealt with multiple contractors in the past and none have come even close to the professionalism that was displayed with this company. We have future plans for more work and will only contact Davel Construction from now on. We highly recommend you look no further and use Davel, you will not be disappointed. Thankyou so much David and team. We love our landscaping!!!!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Elizabeth. Your home in Georgetown is beautiful and now has lots of curb appeal. Glad your happy with how everything turned out.

E. M.
E. M.
2 reviews Mississauga, ON
10/10

Backyard Remodel

We recently had our backyard renovated by Davel Inc and we could not be happier with how it came out. Davel Inc removed old concrete, caped my existing porch and stairs that were cracked and showing wear, created a two level patio with fire pit area and lighted steps. They were also able to make my vision of a sports court come true for my kids. Now they can play hockey and basketball in the back yard! Working with Tomas and Dave made the process so easy from start to finish. The 3D renderings helped us visualize what the design would look like upon completion and everything was installed beautifully. Tomas helped us work within our budget when planning what type of materials to use and there were no surprises. Communication was wonderful. Their team’s attention to detail is unmatched with any other contractors I have worked with, it blew me away! The team was able to problem solve on the fly when it came to caping our stairs and removing a problematic tree. They were able to provide insightful input and suggestions regarding layout of different social areas of the yard. I highly recommend Davel Inc to anyone looking for a backyard remodel.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

It was a pleasure working on your backyard landscape project in Mississauga. The Permacon interlocking slabs you chose create a very welcoming area to entertain.
Im glad we were able to help create a place for your boys to play hockey throughout the year.
It's nice to hear you found value in the 3D renderings. We try our best to help each customer visualize their dream backyards before we start any project.
Thanks again Elizabeth and Blair.

Dan in Toronto
Dan in Toronto
0 reviews Brampton, ON
10/10

Awesome Customer Service

We had our entire front driveway & walkway done in paver stones a few years ago by Davel Construction. They did an amazing job and it looked fantastic. People that were just walking by were knocking on my door asking who did the driveway because it looked that good!

August 2020 Update: The side of the driveway was coming apart a bit due to the steep drop off. These guys came out today and fixed it up like new. When I asked how much they simply said "No Charge". What a pleasant surprise. These guys really stand behind their work!!!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Dan, your interlocking driveway in Brampton will last for years to come.

Steve in Kitchener
Steve in Kitchener
1 review Kitchener, ON
10/10

Back Patio, Retaining Wall and Front Steps

We hired Davel to create a pretty large patio, replace an old retaining wall and redo our front stairs. We could not be happier with the results.

You know you have hired the right people for your job when all your neighbours comment on how efficient, clean and professional the crew was BEFORE even seeing the final product. It took them a total of 3 days to complete our project (after digging it out and prepping in the Fall last year). At the end of each day, Dave and his crew tidied up the yard and street before leaving for the day.

When people actually came back to have a look at the patio, 'UNBELIEVABLE' ... "GORGEOUS' ... and a bunch of other words that I can not repeat here were the reaction we got. Like I said earlier, we could not be happier with the finished project.

Tom was great to work with and explained material and design options really well. His 3D design was very helpful and he was open to modifying it to suit what we were really looking for. He would always make sure we were happy and even followed up a month after the project was complete to check in on how we were enjoying the new patio.

Dave and his crew worked their butts off when they were here, often working 10 - 12 hour days. Our project required A LOT of cutting and there is not a single one that we are not happy with. Their attention to detail and unwillingness to compromise quality for speed really shows in the finished product.

Our quoted price (from August 2019) did not change even though we made changes to the firepit and ended up picking a more 'premium' coloured stone. Tom also managed to 'upgrade' our armor stones at no extra cost!

I have and will continue to recommend Davel to my friends and family. We are so glad they accepted our job being an out-of-town company.

Thanks Tom, Dave and crew.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Steve, your interlocking patio with fire pit will help you enjoy the upcoming summer.
It was a pleasure working with you in Kitchener and we hope to work together again some day.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Brampton, ON
10/10

Walkway/Patio

Very satisfied with this company! Great customer service too. The final result was as good as I pictured. Thanks again guys I will recommend this company to others for sure.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the great review, we appreciate the feedback.

Henry in Vaughan
Henry in Vaughan
1 review Vaughan, ON
10/10

Flagstone porch, patio & steps

I chose Davel to cover my front porch, steps and patio, which they had to build first, approx. 200 sq.' with flagstone 4 years ago. Over each winter, minor issues developed which we noticed in the following spring such as grout shrinking, mortar underneath breaking down, in small areas. They came back each time to fix everything with no questions asked. Same thing happened again this past winter. When David got here, he checked everything. Then I received a call from Tom telling me that the best way to fix it, once and for all is to remove EVERYTHING and re-do it all, starting from scratch. Both my wife and I were shocked that THEY wanted to go to the trouble and expense to make it right for now and the future. We didn't ask for it to be re-done. They're the one's that wanted to do it. It cost them for 4 men for 3 full days and all the materials they had to use. This level of service and commitment to make sure that their work is perfect, after 4 years, is astounding. David is even going to come back next spring to check it and make sure that everything is still perfect. The level of skill and detail that David and his men put to into their work is remarkable: checking everything as they go to make sure that the stone fits perfectly, that everything is square and level. It's amazing to watch them working. and they clean up after themselves: no mess what so ever. Tom and David were a pleasure to work with. Even their guys are friendly and polite. This is the company to use. They stand behind their work 110%. I'm fairly confident that if it was another company that I had used, it would probably have been a battle to get the issues fixed. Not with these guys. I highly recommend them.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Henry, unfortunately from time to time repairs are necessary for a variety of reasons. We stand by our workmanship and will always deal with any issues as soon as possible. Thanks for the great review.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Davel Construction Inc

Davel Construction is a full service exterior renovations company. We specialize in stone work. We design and build beautiful Interlocking Stone work and Natural Stone work at a great price. We service Mississauga, Milton, Burlington, Oakville, Brampton, Georgetown, Caledon, Vaughn, Richmond Hill, Woodbridge, Kitchener, Cambridge, Waterloo. We pride ourselves in ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Interlocking Stone pros in Milton?