First Choice Fence

Fences & Gates
Brampton ON
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Fences & Gates in Vaughan  >  First Choice Fence  >  A good solution for an aging fence
Tracey Hamilton
Tracey Hamilton
20 reviews Toronto, ON

A good solution for an aging fence

My mother's fence had three fence posts that were rotting out so we searched homestars and after reading First Choice Fence's excellent reviews we decided to give them a call. They were prompt at returning our call and coming out for an estimate.
Pratema was very nice & suggested that instead of replacing the existing fence posts which could ultimately break more of the fence, that we erect posts in front of the existing ones thus straightening and stabilizing the fence. Once weather permitted, Pratema and her team came out to do the job. The team got straight to work and for the most part did an excellent job. Although they had a bit of trouble installing one of two posts on the west side of the yard, they did finally manage to get it in and both looked great. The reason I am not giving a 10/10 rating is because of how the the one post looks on the east side of the yard just inside the gate. It was the last post they installed. I believe the problem occurred when the post was not cut to size properly before it was put in the cement. Unfortunately since they had already laid it in the cement and had another job to get to, they tried to size the post by sawing the top end after it was up thus not giving an even and smooth cut like the other two posts. We also noticed that this post was probably not the best looking out of the three to put just past the gate since it's quite noticeable when you walk into the yard. This may be a small thing but I know the look of the one post bothers my mom since it's not perfect & it's quite noticeable being at the entrance to the yard right beside the patio. In the end, we took some sandpaper & sanded down the top as best we could to make it look a little better but we would have preferred the cut was done straight & smooth in the first place. As far as function, I have no doubt that the posts will do the job so we have no complaints there.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Sorry for the issues but when you guys came out we were not finished with the job and we don't do sanding but if that's something you had wanted us to do you should have asked .Thanks