Canadecks Inc.

Decks
20 Marion St. Caledon ON L0J
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Decks
Canadecks Inc.
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

95%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2018 winner 2 timesBest of 2018winner 2 times

Reviews for Canadecks Inc.

Average customer rating:
9.7 10 (51 reviews)

Sort by

Martin in London
Martin in London
1 review London, ON
10/10

Elevated deck

Canadecks built us a large elevated deck with stairs. The project got delayed a few weeks which was disappointing but it was worth the wait. Tyler is very personable and easy to deal with. He immediately addressed any concerns we had and corrected them without question (ie. minor imperfections with lumber). The construction is very solid and looks great. The deck is exactly what we wanted and exceeded our expectations.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I really appreciate the feedback towards your experience. Was a fun build and you both are great customers. Appreciate the Coffees and donuts! Enjoy the deck! Tyler.

Cristian in Brampton
Cristian in Brampton
1 review Brampton, ON
0/10

Concrete patio and raised wood deck

Contracted Canadecks after reviewing their profile on here to do a concrete patio (10' x 23') and a wooden elevated deck (10' x 12').

Job started on Wed, 6/26/19, and issues arose from the first day:

1) the third party disposal bin company they contracted had dropped off a bin on my driveway without proper wooden blocks, thereby causing damage to the asphalt (dents, scratches and a crack)
2) their usage of heavy machinery (Bobcat) without laying down of plywood sheets (as Tyler had initially mentioned they would use) caused damage to an interlocked path (about 90-100 sq ft) as well as to lawn on the side and at the back of the house.

Further issues from this project:

3) forgotten? wooden beam (2" x 4" x 10') burried in the concrete pad
4) disposed concrete trash in the garden by fence with neighbour
5) concrete pad had improper slope for water drainage; rough broomed finish with blotches in some spots - looks old)
6) wooden deck (rough finish from cuts not sanded; staples left in some wood beams; cuts left unstained; looks like some of the beams they used were old, which cracked/split creating safety hazard)

When confronted, Tyler agreed to address issues, but only resolved issues 3 and 4 and agreed to discount for the resolving of issue 1.

After he and his 1 worker came to address these issues (3 & 4) I advised him that I will hold back an amount of $2,278.50, so that I can address the remaining issues (2, 5 and 6). Should there be a balance left, I would pay them that difference. After about half hr of back and forth about how they did their job and me saying that it was not completed and not done right as well as the damages caused, they left.

Found another contractor to address outstanding issues, but at a higher cost ($2,994.50) than what I held back ($2,278.50). Advised Tyler of this and he now states that these are my issues and that I still owe them a balance.

I have taken pictures and a video of all the damage done from the job and will attach several here.

Got the driveway holes/crack patched and sealed by another contractor - decent job, but will never look like it did before - it was recently done and in mint condition.

Tyler's attempt to "fix" the deep trenches left by the Bobcat was to literally dump some black soil in there - which was mostly washed away by the rain the next day - solid fix guys!

Lawn was in great condition before the project started (all 3 surrounding neighbours can attest).

A bit hard to see, but the surface of the concrete pad (broomed finish) was terribly done - it looked like it was many years old (really poor job). Can see water pooling right in the middle and in some spots backfall towards the house - instead of draining away - no attempt to fix this by Canadecks - Tyler advised there's nothing they can do. Hired a contractor who spent a whole day just grinding away at the surface to create proper drainage and to improve the look of the surface.

Needless to say, there's a HUGE discrepancy between my experience and the raving reviews on homestars.com (39 reviews all 10/10 except for one 7/10), which raises many red flags for me. Are they fake reviews? Or was this just a case of carelessness, incompetence or malicious intent?

Hope others do not get burned.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We appreciate you finding us online and detailing your experience. We would like to apologize for any and all inconveniences experienced throughout your project. We did try our best to go above and beyond our usual scope in order to make sure you are satisfied with our work. Our team has returned to address and resolve any possible issues outstanding on your property. If we are able to discuss further, please contact us at your earliest opportunity.

Regards, 
Canadecks Inc.

gandkgregory
gandkgregory
1 review Coldwater, ON
10/10

Cottage deck

Professional, on time, quality of work is exceptional. We are a water access cottage, and he and his team were amazing! Would recommend to anyone!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Gary & Karen, thanks so much for the business and the awesome review. I'm sure we'll see you soon. Tyler.

Rob in Caledon
Rob in Caledon
1 review Caledon, ON
10/10

New Deck

After getting quotes from 6 different companies we decided to go with Canadecks to remove our old deck and build us a brand new one. Tyler was the most professional of the contractors that came out to quote and we felt like he had a good understanding of what we wanted done. Overall we couldn’t be happier with how the deck turned out. Quality of workmanship was impressive and he went above and beyond to ensure the deck was built solid. Tyler and his crew were respectful of our property and were open to slight revisions to the original plan. He even built custom bench seating from looking at two pictures my wife had given him and was able to create exactly what she was looking for. I would definitely recommend using Tyler and his team for any deck building projects.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Rob & Lidia, thanks so much for the great review! I hope the deck made the b-day party that much more enjoyable.
Tyler.

10/10

Backyard deck

Tyler and his crew built our backyard deck back in Spring 2015. The pricing was competitive, and the work was completed within a very reasonable time. Tyler was able to customize the deck design with additional benches based on my request. Three years later, the deck is still there, fully functional and looking good.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Andre, been a long time. Hope all is well. Thanks for the great review!

Evilmom in Brampton
Evilmom in Brampton
1 review Brampton, ON
10/10

Great work!

We hired Tyler to originally build our deck last year and asked him back to build our gazebo. His designs are wonderful and the workmanship is top notch. We have already passed his name and contact info to our family and friends.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks so much for the great review! Hope you enjoy the deck & gazebo!
Tyler

jmackx in Kleinburg
jmackx in Kleinburg
1 review Kleinburg, ON
10/10

Deck Install

I hired Tyler and his crew to complete my composite deck install of approx 350sq’. He was on time with his start date & completed the project in the given 5 days. The price was very competitive and I would recommend Canadecks to anyone.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the great review. Enjoy your project!
Tyler.

John Leon in Brampton
John Leon in Brampton
1 review Brampton, ON
10/10

Replace a raised deck and staircase

Tyler and his team did a superb job from start to finish. I was impressed by Tyler's knowledge and experience in our initial meetings. His recommendations about design and materials proved to be right on the mark and we were thrilled with the final product. The quality of the workmanship was beyond our expectations. They worked extremely hard and finished the job in one weeks time. The guys were extremely pleasant and professional. We have already recommended Canadeck to friends who are considering similar renovations.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi John, thanks so much for the great review. Enjoy the new addition!

Sharon
Sharon
2 reviews Kleinburg, ON
10/10

Composite deck

Tyler and his team did an amazing job building a beautiful composite deck in my backyard. I am very satisfied with their work and their service. Will definitely recommend Canadecks to friends and family. Thanks again Tyler!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Sharon, thanks so much for the business. wish you the best throughout the holidays! Tyler.

West GTA
West GTA
5 reviews Mississauga, ON
7/10

Raised deck and cedar fence

We hired Canadecks last Fall to rebuild our raised deck and replace 60 feet of fence. The quality of their work is impeccable. We are very pleased with the final product, both the deck and the stretch of fence were nicely built.
We had compiled other 4 quotes for these jobs, and although Canadecks was the second highest in pricing, we selected them as our contractor because:
1) We preferred dealing directly with the contractor throughout the entire process (as opposed to agreeing on a project with an appraiser, then having a completely different crew doing construction),
2) During our interview process, Tyler seemed knowledgeable and personable (the latter turned out to be a misjudgment later on),
3) Canadecks had all very positive reviews online.
Tyler and Mike were punctual, kept the work area reasonably clean during construction, and showed great craftsmanship. Our only issue was the disgruntled demeanor Tyler had on the job, pretty much from the get-go.
Because this was a particularly expensive and long-term renovation, we put special attention to its execution. We took time off from work to be on site, and spent a few hours every day directly on the work area, ensuring that no major construction decision would be made without us being involved. This seemed to particularly irritate Tyler, who became more and more aloof as days went by. In a particular incident, while we were asking Mike about the process of pouring the new footings, Tyler scolded at him right in front of us with a “We are not teachers, go back to work!”. Tyler visibly lost it, creating a very awkward moment for all of us. He never apologized for his outburst that day.
On a positive note, a few weeks after the project had been completed, Tyler called to follow up on our satisfaction with the deck and fence. We mentioned that one stretch of the fence was too short and that we were thinking of replacing 10 of its boards with longer ones. He graciously agreed to come back on site and do the job for us. We did appreciate his commitment to the quality of his work.
We have no complaints at all about our new deck and fence, however, it was such an uncomfortable experience working with Tyler, that we would not consider Canadecks for any future project. Nonetheless, we would not discourage other home owners, particularly those who are able and willing to have a completely “hands-off” approach to their project.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

It’s unfortunate you felt this way throughout your project. We believe we are hired based on trust and experience to complete the job without constant interferences. This led to an injury early on in the project, and put constant stress towards the attention of our surroundings to ensure our customers would not be put in the situation of another accident. I'm glad we can both agree that overall the project was a success.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Canadecks Inc.

Canadecks Inc. is owned and operated by Tyler Koch, servicing Caledon and all surrounding areas focusing on your custom decking needs. Using many different varieties of product, Canadecks Inc. provides you with a design and budget for your complete backyard oasis.

From a young age, Tyler was introduced to the carpentry business by a family friend - from framing houses out west, to building decks in Toronto and now in his hometown, Caledon. The entrepreneur has always dreamed of owning his own business, and since 2014 it has been a dream come true. Since Canadecks Inc. opened shop, Tyler and his team have built decks, pergolas, gazebos and even outdoor kitchens.

If you’re interested in having your backyard ideas come to life, contact us for a free estimate today!

Thanks,
Canadecks Inc.
(905) 757-6377

CATEGORIES
Decks
PRODUCTS
Natural Wood * Pressure Treated Sienna * Cedar Composite * Azek * Trex * Moisture Shield * Veka Deck Hardwoods * Ipey * Brazilian Walnut * Ash * Bamboo and many more...
SERVICES
Decks, Fences, Sheds, Gazebos, Pergolas, Building Permits, Architectural Drawings and even Basement Renovations
WEBSITE
http://canadecks.ca
YEAR ESTABLISHED
2014
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
3
PAYMENT METHOD
Cash & Cheque
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.