Lalji Home

Coquitlam BC V3K6Y7
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Furniture in Coquitlam  >  Lalji Home  >  Many furniture and customer service issues!
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Coquitlam, BC

Many furniture and customer service issues!

It's actually ZERO stars and Will NEVER purchase from these guys again! If you want a thorough review, here it is! We bought the WHITE Coventry bedroom set, a purchase of over $3000. It wasn't delivered when promised, and I had to call the store multiple times to see what was going on. The sales associate we bought from seemed unorganized and frazzled as she didn't know what was going on. They finally delivered the furniture and multiple pieces were damaged. The delivery guys blamed it on the warehouse guys, and when I reported the condition and sent photos, the brand ambassador Shane blamed it on the delivery company. Unprofessional! They said they would deliver another set, and then called and changed the second delivery time from an 11 am to an 11 pm delivery! ABSOLUTELY RIDICULOUS to deliver this late at night, and considering they had already messed up the first time and I had to chase them around to figure out where my furniture was. It finally got delivered and I was just grateful to have it.

Mind you, the set is supposed to be WHITE, as advertised, but it's really a yellow tint that clashes with my surrounding white furniture. This has been bothering me for some time, so while browsing for other furniture, I went into the store a few months later and ran into Shane. I mentioned the concern I had with the colour, and he assured me the furniture is not supposed to be cream or beige or yellow, that it SHOULD be white. Had he told me right then and there that the furniture is cream or off-white, I would've said, "oh ok", and moved on. But he confidently confirmed that it is WHITE. He told me house lighting could affect its appearance, and requested pictures, and sent a tech over.

Again, they didn't call or come when they were supposed to and I had to call their store to figure out when the tech was coming over. The Tech Daniel eventually came, and he too was confused and agreed it appeared yellow, but couldn't figure out why it didn't look white compared to my other white furniture, the white bedding, picture frames, crown molding, etc all around it. He held up a sample drawer to see the colour against all of my other white furniture, by the way.

1. He tried to convince me at first it was the lighting. We showed him the furniture in 3 different types of lighting (natural daytime, white, and soft yellow). Still yellow furniture!
2. He then didn't know what to say, and tried to convince me to paint my walls "a dark gray or black... like a tv screen" ...
3. ...OR to change my hardwood floors in order for the furniture to appear more white.
4. After the tech left, I contacted Shane. Shane tried to tell me that this is the white finish colour that shows up if the furniture is REAL WOOD. He then also told me to re-paint my walls and change all the lighting in my house.

And that was the end of that conversation on his end.

Considering that I have stark white furniture (from other retailers such as the Brick, Buy buy baby, Ikea and Walmart ) sitting beside this Coventry set, ....and the lighting, walls, and floors don't affect ALL of these other pieces, their explanations are illogical and appalling!

What kind of customer service is that?!? So the problem according to this company, is apparently my home, where other stark white furniture exists. But in order to make Lalji's furniture look more white, I must undergo renovations, and repaint my home, change the lighting and change my floors. My other real wood furniture that sits beside theirs has a finish that is ACTUALLY WHITE and is not affected one bit by each of the excuses they gave!

Why would you advertise this (Online, In store, AND Verbally in a conversation with me) as WHITE furniture then? Why not admit and advertise it as cream or beige or even off-white furniture???? I spent all this money, and it really could've been as simple as being forthright in their advertisement. It sticks out like a sore thumb, and now I'm stuck with this set and have to spend more money to get it repainted.

They not only have terrible communication with consumers, but they can't admit any fault on their end. Once your payments clears, they no longer have any follow-up care. They just take your money and don't care if there's issues with the product, regardless of how much money you spent with their company. It is shocking! Please save yourself the hassle of dealing with these unprofessionals and go elsewhere to spend your hard-earned money. Lalji's is an extremely disappointing and frustrating company to purchase from. SHOP ELSEWHERE!!!

Approximate cost of services:
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review.

When you originally purchased your delivery was done during the Christmas rush and the drivers were delayed that’s why your delivery was completed in the evening. We tried to reschedule with you but you confirmed with our staff you had to have the delivery that day regardless of the time. We hired a third party to assist with our busy schedule and they did damage your furniture which was immediately replaced by our store.

During your recent visit, you told us the bedroom suite was yellow. The Coventry Lane is our bestselling bedroom and we have never had an issue with it but nevertheless we sent a technician out at no cost to you because we are here to provide great customer service.

Our technician brought a drawer from our floor model to your home and it matched perfectly. No yellow at all. Your lighting and surrounding décor are making the items look creamy instead of white therefore we suggested painting or changing the lighting. Our tech held the drawer in the natural light and he confirmed with you it’s white. As soon as the moved it into your bedroom the color changed to creamy white.

Please keep in mind when you are comparing real wood furniture that has been stained white to MDF or particle board from Ikea or Walmart it is not going to be as white because it’s real wood.

After speaking to the vendor we have reviewed the finish and we have confirmed is it white. It may not be as white as paper but the finish is white.
We apologize that you had a bad experience but as a company we have done everything we can. Thank you