Triple R Construction Inc.

Kitchen Planning & Renovation
1027 Pandora Ave Victoria BC V8V 3P6
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Condominium Renovations in Victoria  >  Triple R Construction Inc.  >  Kitchen and bathroom Condo renovation
Gerald Perina in Victoria
Gerald Perina in Victoria
1 review Simcoe County, ON

Kitchen and bathroom Condo renovation

My wife and I hired this company based on the reviews included in this website as well as the BBB and were extremely disappointed with the result!
Byron was, without exception one of the most disorganized general contractors I have ever dealt with. The project was poorly executed and managed almost from the beginning and in the end took twice as long to complete then was originally estimated and cost at least 50% more. We got wrong doors installed, wrong counter tops installed, and rework on walls and ceiling because he failed to notify electrician of the change order for the microwave system. I believe part of the problem was that they are overbooked on work but whatever the reason I would strongly suggest that anyone who plans to use them make sure you track hours carefully, get a signature beside each item you request to be ordered and installed, and be prepared for delays and cost over runs. As for the workmanship it was satisfactory if nothing else.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Gerald.

I would like to thank you and your wife for hiring Triple R Construction to do your recent renovation and also for the time you took to write this review.
We are disappointed that you were unsatisfied with our services.
You certainly did have valid reasons to mention in your review. The electrical that was missed on your change order for your microwave hood fan; as you know there was no additional cost to have the remedial work done.
Regarding the rest of your concerns,I feel we did our best to rectify the situations as they developed. I had no indication that you were so dissatisfied until reading your review.
A renovation such as yours is a fluid situation.
The reason your job cost 50% more and took 50% longer was because of the delays that were beyond our control, the change orders, and the increase of the scope of work from the original estimate once the job had commenced. All of which were requested or initiated by you.The results of these change orders was the increased time and cost to complete your project.

Seeing how this forum is for potential clients to read the experiences from past clients, I would like to address the rest of this reply to new potential clients.

The relationship between a contractor and the customer is similar to a marriage, in that in order to to be successful, communication is key with your renovation contractor.
When your contractor gives you an estimate on a specific scope of work and a time frame; to stay within that time frame and budget, the scope of work must not change. Once the project has started and the scope of work changes this will undoubtedly extend the length of the job and the cost of the job.

So determining what you want done on your job and having that precise scope of work for your contractor is key for a successful time frame and budget.This being said, we have seldom done a larger renovation that has not had some change orders requested or hidden problems that have to be dealt with, thus once again increasing the time line and cost of the project.
Another area that many clients fail to realize, is that when they decide to either hire their own sub trades whom are outside the general contractors control, that this can also lead to delays on the project as we are unable to coordinate or control the quality of their work and can result in the critical path of the job not being followed.
Thirdly there are things outside the scope of repair that your general contractor cannot control as in the case of this client. The property management/Strata-management can be difficult to deal with, it is neither the the clients or the contractors fault, but if either of these dropped the ball with giving permission, direction or access, the job can be delayed.
In conclusion it is Triple R Constructions goal to have open and honest communication with all our clients so as to complete our clients projects to a high quality of work and in a timely manner as well as at a fair cost. Over the past five years, the vast majority of our clients have found this to be so.
We welcome all feedback from our clients and we are open to all criticism and will honestly look at ways to continue to improve our communication and our commitment to quality service for our clients.