Timeline Journey Renovations Ltd

Handyman Services
71 Ellis Ave Kitchener ON N2H 4G6
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Handyman Services
Timeline Journey Renovations Ltd
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

66%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Timeline Journey Renovations Ltd

Average customer rating:
5.4 10 (12 reviews)

Sort by

K in New Hamburg
K in New Hamburg
0 reviews Baden, ON
10/10

Basement renovation and more

Excellent company! Steve is fabulous to work with. Excellent transparency, communication and customer service. Steve works with you to develop a vision, keeps open communication all through the process and has excellent followup to ensure ypu are happy with the work. Prices are fair and this company stands by their quality. We have used them numerous times and will continue to so so.

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
1 review Kitchener, ON
10/10

Bathroom Renovations

Steve and Victory are great. Back in March I had them do my downstairs bathroom for a more "spa" bathroom. They were professional every step of the way. They were tidy and cleaned up each evening after work. It was such a great experience that when I wanted to do my upstairs bathroom 6 months later I contacted them again. I reached out to Steve again for the reno. The second bathroom turned out wonderful too. Highly recommend, they are great working with you to get exactly what you want/picture.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

You make it a pleasure for us to do our renovations. Thank you so much. We look forward to doing more work for you in the near future!

IMajano in Kitchener
IMajano in Kitchener
1 review Kitchener, ON
0/10

Fix front, back Flower bed and door

I was not happy with the work that you provided for my Grandma today. We had agreed upon a rate of $60/hour, but you brought more workers and ended up charging her $1000 for 5 hours of work. This was not what was agreed and it seems like the work on the garden will not end up lasting long. I would not recommend working with Timeline Journey without an actual quote.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I was shocked to read this comment from Maria’s granddaughter. I immediately phoned Maria about it. She told he she had no idea her granddaughter had written this. She went on to say she never said anything negative about us and in fact she is extremely happy.
It’s unfortunate that her granddaughter did not consult Maria first. If she had, she would have learned that there we did much more than just 5 hours of labor. Mark pulled more than 700 kilograms of old concrete from the side bushes of Maria’s house to his truck and then to the dump. Meanwhile, Coulton rebuilt two of her garden beds and made her garden shed door animal-proof. The combined labor alone took almost 13 hours not including my time helping Maria pick out garden stones. And yes, I gave Maria written quotes for all this work before we started.
I have never met Maria’s granddaughter but I’m sure she is a good person who loves her Grandma very much and was just trying to protect her. I just wish she had taken the time to ask her Grandma about it before posting these comments. I hope that Maria’s granddaughter can see now that there may have been more work done than she realized. Perhaps you can ask your Grandma about it. As you know, she is a very wise woman and she saw everything we did.
At the end of our phone conversation, I asked Maria if she was unhappy with our price or the work we did in any way. She replied:
“How many times I call you that night Steve? I call you 2 times to say how grateful I was with your price and the work you all did. I wanted to call you a third time but I did not want to bother you again that night. You know Steve, I had the best sleep in such a long time, knowing this work was finally done, and so fast. I have wanted it done for so long and suddenly my garden is so good again.”

Mel W  in Waterloo
Mel W in Waterloo
1 review Waterloo, ON
10/10

Two-level back deck with overhead roof

We hired Steve to build our dream deck/outdoor living space and I could not have been happier with the entire project. I had a general vision and Steve was willing to include all sorts of unusual touches that made it fabulous. This included two levels of decking off the back of our house, an overhead roof and privacy walls, a hidden staircase, a pocket door, and a curved section to fit around our above-ground pool. The lower deck required building around an giant, old vine that we were able to work into the design. To top it off, Steve was completely open to us incorporating used materials into the project included old windows and barn board. I have never found another renovator who was willing to take on a project like this. It totally transformed our backyard and we are so glad we had Steve's skills, creativity, and willingness to take on this one-of-a-kind project.

Was this review helpful?
Michael D.
Michael D.
1 review Kitchener, ON
10/10

Kitchen Reno, basement Reno, bathroom Reno, tiling, framing

Steve is always a pleasure to deal with. He's very reliable and knows his stuff, so I've used him for several projects at several of my properties over the past 8-9 years. I also have him walk through a property with me before I buy it to gain his insight. I would not hesitate to recommend Steve and Timeline Journey.

Michael D Brewitt.

Was this review helpful?
ans007 in Kitchener
ans007 in Kitchener
1 review Kitchener, ON
10/10

Removal and installation of windows as well as front door repair

Steve and his crew were professional and very upfront with the cost. Provided a written quote ahead of time and surpassed my expectations.work was completed in a timely manner and finished professionally.I am a millwright by trade so i understand the amount of work that goes into this job and was happy with the final outcome.Thanks to Steve and his crew for a job well done.
Andy

Was this review helpful?
Lorrie in Cambridge
Lorrie in Cambridge
1 review Kitchener, ON
10/10

Windows installation

Timeline Journey sent Victor to install 9 windows in our house. Victor cut out a new window for us in our bedroom and did it masterfully. We are very pleased with his work. Victor was polite, very fastidious and reliable. He always let me know when he'd be in the next morning working on the windows. The windows were installed carefully and trimmed and primed beautifully. I chose to finish the painting myself although he said he would have done it if asked. He always left the job site in pristine condition. I highly recommend him to do an excellent job.

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Waterloo, ON
1/10

Dream Kitchen Disaster

We hired Timeline to install our dream kitchen. We had previously used them to do our bathroom which we were very pleased with. Then they did our roof soffit and fascia, which was okay, but we now have an extra down vent into our back yard that we didn't ask for, under Steve's advise, and still have leaks at the corners.
We still thought, things weren't too bad, so asked them to install our dream kitchen. Well, Steve got his general labour guy to do the tiling on the floor instead of his expert guy. What a joke. We now have raised corners on some of the tiles, a faded patch of tiles running through the middle, and grouting that has come away already.
When we pointed out the poor work, Steve got his specialist tiler to look at it, and straight away he pointed out the issue, and actually removed and replaced a number of problematic tiles, but that still left the rest of the floor uneven. Why Steve didn't use his professional for the flooring - well, feable excuses of not being available. Well then you schedule your staff better.
To rub insult to injury, the guys doing the work would finish by 4pm. When I went to collect my kids from school, I drove past another house and saw the same guys working there instead.
Steve quotes he doesn't take on too many jobs, preferring to focus on quality. Obviously another big mistruth.
Steve has some really good specialist staff, but prefers to cut corners and use general labourers for smaller, 'less important' jobs.
I do not recommend using this company, and am now faced with patch up repairs because of his poor workmanship

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

It’s discouraging to read that this client refers to their kitchen as a disaster. We did a lot of work besides the floor and when I looked over their kitchen with them at the end of the job they both expressed that they were very happy with the everything; even the floor.

The person I had doing the tile work, and the rest of the Cabinet installation work is a very skilled carpenter; not a general laborer by any means.
When we had the issue with their tiles, I discussed various options. I told them we would do whatever was necessary to satisfy them.

The clients decided there were just certain tiles that were a problem. I had them mark the ones they were unhappy with and we then pulled all those tiles and reset the floor.
When everything was finished, the clients told me they were very happy with the final result.

It was 2 years between the time we built their kitchen and the time they wrote this review. It saddens me that in all that time they didn’t feel they could talk to me about it.

Steven Tennant
Timeline Journey

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Guelph, ON
1/10

addition

Had to commence legal action against this company due to water leaking into new foundation. After trying to get steve to repair poor workmanship for two years I finally got fed up with his delays. Just kept caulking vs rectifying the deficiencies. Water leaking through tied pins. Windows and at grade. Had to have around foundation dug up only to find he had buried all the old concrete from the patio and walk way up aGainst foundation. Did not build it to the plans. And skimped by using a knee wall that was not in the plans. Painters wet through personal belongings and used daughters blouse to cover his head. Went into fridge and helped themselves to beverages. Hardwood flooring guy was the best.

Garage roof leaked and steve covered the vent with duct tape as he said the water. Was balancing in. Had a another roofer come in and he had to pull half the rear garage shingles off as the valley had not been installed properly. Didn't even claim for this and sucked up the cost.

Judge rule in my favor and had the contractor that did the repairs break down his invoice more I feel I would have gotten all my money back. Unfortunately every time the new contractor pulled something apart he found more work that did not comply to the building Code.

No water problems since I had them rectified by new qualified contractor. Had to have an engineer do a report and testify which was beneficial and recovered the cost.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

You wouldn’t know it from the comments above, but this client and I got along really well during construction. I actually like him very much. I think he would agree that the Home addition itself is quite beautiful.

The water issue was indeed frustrating. There was a very small amount of water seeping into the basement no matter what we tried to do to fix it. But it wasn’t from lack of trying. He even hired an engineer to try to find the cause, but even the engineer couldn't figure it out.

And yes, in the end, my client did sue me. His engineer wrote a report saying that the concrete foundation wall was not reinforced as required by the building code.
But he was mistaken. I have photos proving that the foundation is reinforced. Even though I testified to this in court, I didn’t find these photos until after the case was over, and the Judge took the Engineer’s report over my word.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Timeline Journey Renovations Ltd

We are a Kitchener Home Renovations and Home Improvements company who specializes in everything from bathroom renovations, kitchen renovation, basement renovations, fences and decks and any other service that you may think of a Kitchener Handyman service for.
***
We’re different. We’re small. We’re nice. We’re local. We’re family-owned. We listen to you. We like Seniors. They keep trying to adopt us. We are known for doing what we say we will. We do one project at a time.
***
We listen. We observe. We build according to your budget, not ours. We remodel homes tiny through huge, very old and very new, and apply the same care and passion to all of them. We build your store and we can help you design it too.
***
Small jobs lead to large jobs; and large to small. We don't know where one becomes the other, so we do both. The number one question we get from clients is: "Do you do..." the answer is YES!

CATEGORIES
Handyman Services
SERVICES
Renovations, Windows & Doors, Remodeling, Handyman Services, Senior's Services, Decks, Commercial Services, Cabinets, Tile, Brick & Stone, Flooring
WEBSITE
http://www.timelinejourney.com/
YEAR ESTABLISHED
2006
PAYMENT METHOD
Cash, Cheque and e-transfer
LICENSES
Journeyman Carpenter, All other licences and certifications held in good standing
MEMBERSHIPS
Kitchener Chamber of Commerce
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
1 Year on all Workmanship
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.