Ontario Stone Design

1221 Stone Church Rd E Hamilton ON L8W 2C6
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Countertops in Hamilton  >  Ontario Stone Design  >  $5,000 Mistake
0 reviews Port Dover, ON

$5,000 Mistake

DO NOT use this Company. I chose a beautiful granite for my L shaped kitchen. I knew there was going to be a seam but I never imagined that they would cut it in such a way as to look like two completely different materials. I have attached photos of what the seam looks like. I was not given the opportunity to decide whether I wanted to accept this horrible matching or to choose a different slab that would not have resulted in this issue. When you look at my countertop it is the first thing your eye goes to. This cost me $5,000 that was hard earned and saved over a long time. The only solution I was offered was to spend an additional $1,700 to cut into a second slab. If this is work they are proud of, stay away from them.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

My name is Lela Stevanovic, owner of Ontario Stone Design. Understanding price per sq foot and understanding to get the job done right are two different things. This is something that is explained to every customer when they visit our location and I will explain again to those who want to know, so they have a better understanding. I have also contacted this customer and reviewed and explained the reasoning behind this issue.
PRICE PER SQ FOOT MEANS that the size of the slab is utilized to complete the countertop. SHOULD the customer want the perfect MATCH on a stone like this, the customer would inquire the cost of a second slab. This customer after many msg choose not to do so, because the cost would have been higher, I have reached out to this customer to resolve this issue but the customer choose not to resolve. Also has a side note, the job was $4600 not $5000. When one understands the reasoning, one will understand that the best option is not always to shop price per sq foot.

I am sorry that you feel this has been a negative experience for you but I do feel and stand by the fact that I have tried to explain and resolve this issue with you directly.

Feel free to contact me and let me explain further to you why this happens in the world of stone and please remember - if you want perfect matches in stone, it will cost more!

Ontario Stone Design LTD
1221 Stone Church Rd East