Mr Foundation Inc

Structural Engineering
5460 Canotek Rd Unit 99 Ottawa ON K1J
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

88%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Mr Foundation Inc

Average customer rating:
9.3 10 (44 reviews)

Sort by

Shaun in Ottawa
Shaun in Ottawa
0 reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Cracked Foundation

From the moment Mr. Foundation answered my call knew I felt a sense of relief. Our basement flooded not once but twice in the spring and the reality of dealing with insurance and multiple contractors was already weighing on my wife and I. Once Margaret answered my call with her soft and comforting voice it was like she could sense the stress we had been through already. I explained my situation to Margaret and was told someone could come asses the foundation within the week. Chris came that week and within 10 minutes I had an estimated start date for the work and the cost. A contract was sent over and that was that.

The day the repairs started the crew was on time, polite and very respectful of the property. They clearly explained the work they would be doing and pending no surprises they would be done by end of day. At the end of the day the repair was complete, the yard in the same condition as when they arrived and I could not be more happy and satisfied with Mr. Foundation.

I hope I don't have any additional issues but if I ever do I can guarantee I will be calling them.

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Repairs to cracks in the foundation.

I had water seepage in my basement. Mr. Foundation found cracks in my foundation and recommended waterproofing and repairing them. In addition, they excavated and installed an inlet pipe at proper elevation into existing sump pump. The work was done efficiently and on time. The crew was respectful, professional and kind. They ensured that the premises were always cleaned up and safe at all times while the work was being done. I highly recommend Mr. Foundation.

Was this review helpful?
ron in Ottawa
ron in Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Basement wall water proofing

As for many homeowners, I suspect water leaking in basement block walls is a source of great angst and frustration. Discussion with a couple of contractors left us feeling highly vulnerable. Luckily, we were introduced to Mr Foundation whose experience and professionalism is highly apparent. Without itemizing all the details, suffice to say that dealing with Mr Foundation is a godsend! Mr Foundation provided detailed explanations of probable issues, remedy options and recommended approaches. Upon agreement, work was scheduled and carried out when promised. Staff were courteous and obviously professional. We were extremely pleased with all staff and workmanship.
Thank you!

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

No more stress!

Bear with me, this is a long review....

I had two areas of my foundation that needed to be repaired, one around the chimney, and when it rained a lot, I needed to use a shop-vac as that is how much water was getting in, and the other area on the side of my house which I had previously contacted another foundation repair company that tried to repair it from the inside of my house. Needless to say, it didn't work, and because they did such a lousy job, did not want to even bother with them again.

After not dealing with the foundation for a while, I realized that the mental and physical stress I was under from not getting the foundation repaired outweighed the money I would spend, and decided to contact another foundation repair company.

I had the owner of Mr. Foundation, Patrick, show up to my house, and he examined the areas that needed to be replaced, and mentioned that he would give me an estimate shortly, but did recommend contacting other
foundation repair companies too, which I thought was a nice things to hear.

Also, in order to fix the area on the side of my house, they would have to dig on my neighbor's front yard, and assured me that the work would not include any heavy machinery and that they would put back my neighbour's front yard just like it had been before the work, which I was happy to hear.

After contacting other companies, I decided to go with Mr. Foundation.

A work order was written up explaining everything that woudl be done, which seemed to me to be quite extensive and thorough.

The work would not begin for at least four to six weeks, as they are that busy.

When they did come to begin repairs, the crew were friendly, efficient, and obviously knew what they were doing. It took two days to do both repairs, but normally would have been done in one day, however it had been raining quite a lot, and the crew were worried for their safety around the chimney, as the soil in that area is quite sandy, and they were concerned of the hole they had been digging, would collapse, so decided to wait until the following day.

The area around the side of the house went without a hitch, but I was informed that the weeping tiles along the chimney were clogged with that sandy soil, and normally they would recommend doing a power spray of water to flush out the clog, but could not guarantee it would work due to the fact that being in a row house, my weeping tiles were connected to my neighbors' and so on, and did also mention that if I did not go ahead, they would have to restrict the terms of the warranty on that part of the house, as I would still have a drainage issue.

I liked that they explained exactly what was up, and gave me the option of what to do.

All in all, they repaired both areas, and left my and my neighbor's property in very good shape.

Then about a month later, the big test!

"With a 7-day rainfall of 150.2mm, Jul 22nd➞Jul 28th 2018, were Ottawa's wettest 7 days in more than 119 years, since Jul 11th, 1899."

Not a drop of water to be seen anywhere in the basement!

If that doesn't prove to me they did a great job, I don't know what will.

Hope I never have to contact them again, but if I ever run into another problem with my foundation, I certainly know who I will call!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Diane in Gloucester
Diane in Gloucester
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Basement foundation repair and waterproofing

Have nothing but praise for Mr. Foundation. From my first encounter with the owner, Mr. Lecours, had a very good feeling and I was not mistaken. Team led by foreman Chris was hardworking, kind, answered all my queries, worked in difficult weather, always on time and in good mood, rebuilt everything they had to dismantle to my satisfaction including my stone entrance, deck and interlock. All in all, best decision I have ever made in choosing them.

I have been recommending them since the beginning and will continue to do so. Thanks to them, I now have a dry basement and have nothing to worry about anymore. Thank you again Mr Foundation.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Diane, it was a pleasure working with you.
Majella

DJGH in Gloucester
DJGH in Gloucester
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Foundation Repair / Water Leak

It was a pleasure dealing with the team from MR Foundation. From the initial diagnosis to the scheduling of the repair to the completed work all commitments were honoured per our agreement. The team completing the repair in one day and left the “worksite” (my backyard) in excellent condition. I will recommend this company to my family and friends without hesitation.

Was this review helpful?
Can-uT7-nUq-QXz in Gloucester
Can-uT7-nUq-QXz in Gloucester
1 review Ottawa, ON
8/10

Basement leak repair

Requested cost estimate to repair basement leak. Within a week the estimate to complete the work was sent to me and I called the office to accept the offer. Within 2 weeks 3 young men came to our house & carried out the work and were finished by mid-afternoon (approximately 6 hrs).
The work was done cleanly and efficiently and we are very happy with the results. I would happily recommend the company to prospective customers.

Was this review helpful?
gocdn in Ottawa
gocdn in Ottawa
2 reviews Ottawa, ON
3/10

Misquoted and incomplete job

After being very clear that I wanted a membrane on the entire front wall of my foundation, they gave a quote that turned out to be for only a 6 ft section. The reduced length was hinted at by vague language in the quote. I wasn't home for the first half of the job and by the time I arrived it was too late. My mistake for not reading every word, but it didn't occur to me since it was completely obvious in our discussion that the membrane was supposed to cover the full length of the wall. Why would anyone go through all that trouble and expense to cover only a 6 ft section? What would be the point? They also badly damaged the interior wall when they knocked out bolts that were embedded in the foundation. I wanted the bolts removed, and assumed they would properly repair the holes, as agreed, but they only patched the outside with a thin layer of cement. I asked for a quote to do the job that I originally wanted and it was double the first quote - for almost the same amount of work! Gee, thanks for the obvious attempt to gouge me, but I'll pass. I'll use the money to repair the damage they did on the first job.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

On the 22 of November 2017 an estimate of services was provided to Mr. Carswell by email. In this estimate it was clearly stated that a 6' dig (excavation) would be preformed at the front entrance area.

Prior to signature he had ample opportunity to get other quotes from other suppliers of services. Mr. Carswell approved the estimate that was sent, and a contract was issued and signed by Mr. Carswell on the 8th of December 2017. The contract clearly defined a 6' dig.

The bolts in question were removed and repaired.

We are of the opinion that we have never mislead the client as to the size of the dig since it was very clearly defined in the estimate and the contract.

The client is aware that we issue a ten year transferable warranty on the work performed.
Mr Foundation has been in business for 26 years and we pride ourselves on quality of service.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
1/10

quote for foundation work

I had a property that required foundation work, I called Mr Foundation for a second quote. I was charged a $250 fee for the quote despite advertising free quotes. The quote that I received was double my first quote. Not sure if he really how there could be such a discrepency. Any how I would definately get a couple of quotes and don't pay for quotes. Its not a common practice.

The property was not outside of the Ottawa bounderis and I not sure what is meant by a real estate fee but the properties is a new investment that was bought and required foundation work. The home had a sold sign sold sign in the front,so I don't see what the difference is. If the quote was anywhere comparable, I would not think it is a dishonest practice but when you go from $37 000 to $89 000 for less work something is grossly wrong. The other contractor did a very thorough quote was with me at the property for over an hour and we went through and discussed several option as well as they had more score of work of enlarging the window wells and changing out the windows (supplied by myself) .

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We charge a $250 fee for real estate inspections or if you live outside our Ottawa Boundary (pass Cumberland or Kanata) which as a business owner is a common business practice. Most of our competition give quotes over the phone and our closed for the season. We work all winter and meet with every client. Mr Foundation has been in business for 27 yrs. please check out the reviews our repetition is very good. We make sure that each job is diagnosed properly and provide the client with a right solution. We do recommend that all of our clients get minimum of 3 quotes, we also provide our clients with references of work that has been completed in there area.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Mr Foundation Inc

Mr. Foundation a full service foundation repair company with over 19 years experience. Mr. Foundation is a certified installer of Ram Jack Foundation Repair Systems, a hydraulic piering system composed of steel push and helical piers, a cost effective technology to re-level structures and alleviate future settlement of foundations. In ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Structural Engineering pros in Ottawa?