Gitano Roofing

Roofing
207-1650 Dundas st e Mississauga ON L4X 2Z3
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Roofing
Gitano Roofing
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

98%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2013 winnerBest of 2013winner

Reviews for Gitano Roofing

Average customer rating:
9.9 10 (563 reviews)

Sort by

ed in Vaughan
ed in Vaughan
0 reviews Vaughan, ON
10/10

Roofing

We had water damage in the house and determined that the cause might be roof related (the house is overdue for new roofing). I called Gitano and they came right away and did an inspection. Found out that the leak was likely due to cracks in the exhaust pipes located on the roof. They patched them up right away and told me that the roof was fine and didn't need to be replaced for some time!! Not only were they quick, they were honest, friendly and provided amazing service. Can't thank them enough for the work and more importantly the peace of mind. Customer for life!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Ed, thank you so much for the kind words and the opportunity to work on your roof. A safe roof and our customer peace of mind are of at most importance to us and we are so pleased we could help.

Rajat from Mississauga
Rajat from Mississauga
5 reviews Mississauga, ON
10/10

Roof Replacement

Great company. Gitano and team did our roof 1.5 years ago. They did a great job on a complicated roof that required shingle replacement with a steep pitch, and a flat roof replacement - not all roofing companies can do a flat roof. We recently required a follow up to recaulk a small portion of the flashing on the roof . The work was minor, but they were at our house the same day on a cold Jan day. You can tell how good a company is by how well they respond to warranty repair. This is rare in the home reno business. Fast, prompt service. Very satisfied and highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Rajat, thank you for the kind feedback. As our owner likes to say we have your back for the next 15 years with our warranty thus it was our pleasure to come back out. Happy New Year and we are always just a call, text or email away should anything else come up.

Josh in Toronto
Josh in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Roofing

Slavik and the Team at Gitano are as good as it gets. They are professional, hard working and overall a pleasure to deal with. If you’re looking for roofing help, look no further.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Josh, thank you for the kind words and for the opportunity to work on your roof. It was our pleasure!

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Excellent, quick response for a small repair!

When cleaning the eavestrough of our house, we noticed a small hole in our roof. It was right through the plywood as well as the shingles, probably done by squirrels.
We called a few roofing companies, as this was over the holidays, and many were closed.
Gitano Roofing ended up coming the next day (on a Saturday). We took a picture of the roof colour, and he arrived with matching shingles, and left us the rest of the box in case we needed more. He put a piece of metal down to cover the hole, and covered it with the new shingles, and took a picture to show us the completed work. Very efficient. We were sent an email with the invoice to e-transfer the money, $150. Great service!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

It was our pleasure to help. Thank you for the kind words and yes our service team is available year-round for emergencies and to provide warranty service to our past full roof replacement customers. Hope you had a great holiday season and a happy new year!

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Attic/Roof Venting

I requested a quote from several companies regarding concerns over lack of proper ventilation in our attic and the potential for moisture buildup. I also wanted someone to access the condition of our roof (1930s home) due to some sagging. A few hours later a representative from Gitano (Slavik) called and said that he was in the area and would be happy to drop by to assess my concerns. He spend 30 minutes examining the attic and assessing the structure. He did not have any immediate concerns however he gave me a few tips on things that I should monitor. He did not try to sell me on anything and he alleviated my concerns - which was a win-win. Thanks Slavik!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we are pleased to hear that Slavik was able to give you good news and alleviated your concerns. We never fix anything that is not in need of repair or replacement and we thank you for considering for service.

Barbara in Toronto
Barbara in Toronto
2 reviews Mississauga, ON
10/10

Repair roof gutter

Gitano Roofing had replaced our old roof with a new one about 2 years ago. At that time we were very pleased. They were professional, efficient, timely and when finished had cleaned the site very well.
Last week I called them again to see if they could possibly help with part of gutter giving away.
(This was due to the ice, snow build up on top of leaves that we hadn't had the chance to clear.).
I didn't know that they could. However the very next day i had an email, phone call. In two days Slavic came right over (on a weekend!)!! Slavic not only fixed the problem but made it even better.
This was a job that they didn't have to do, since it was our doing, but in good faith they did.
Slavic was so pleasant, accommodating and professional.
If one is ever looking for a roofing company. I strongly recommend GITANO ROOFING.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Barbara, we are delighted to hear about your experience with our warranty service and it was our pleasure to help with the gutter. We are always a phone call, email or text message away and we absolutely have your back for the next 15 years.

Leah from Toronto
Leah from Toronto
10 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Excellent continued service

I originally reviewed Gitano five years ago when they replaced our roof (we were very satisfied with the experience). Just wanted to provide an additional review now to say how great this company has been. Our roof is an almost vertical slope, so over the years we have had the occasional shingle start to detach. Any time I have contacted Gitano about this, they have replied almost immediately and come out to fix/replace the shingle at no cost and within a few days. I would continue to highly recommend them!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Leah, thank you so much for sharing your experience with our warranty service. We are glad to hear that your ongoing experience with us is a great as the initial roof installation service. We always a phone call, email or text message away and we absolutely have your back with our 15 warranty on labor and workmanship.

G Cook
G Cook
3 reviews Brampton, ON
10/10

Excellent Roofing Company

Well organized and very professional.
Dealing everything very openly, no hidden agenda, not money grabbing.
When contacted the first time, they told me very clearly that it would take around 4 to 5 weeks. Around that time, called me and delivered all the material, and finalized the date for installation. After couple of days their crew of 8 people showed up and completed the work in one day.
There was one person dedicated to collect the removed shingles and nails from the ground.
After completing the job, I had to chase them to handover the check which is a proof for "they are about the work and not behind the money"

Excellent job

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We are pleased that you were happy with the work and the process. It was our pleasure to complete your roof, thank you for the business and we have your back for the next 15 years!

New HO
New HO
4 reviews Toronto, ON
9/10

Unauthorized work

UPDATE: After discussing the issue and our displeasure with the Gitano team (see initial review below) it is clear that a simple misunderstanding was at play. We were very satisfied with their responses to our concerns. They promptly and thoroughly addressed every one of our complaints and generously offered to remedy any and all issues we had. At the end of the day I would not hesitate to recommend Gitano to anyone.

---
INITIAL REVIEW:
We had agreed to hire Gitano last week to replace our roof, where we had

explicit and specific instructions about not scheduling the job until AFTER Aug 23rd. Prior to replacing the roof, we were planning for a mold specialist to inspect the attic (we previously had a leak) to see if there was more damage requiring more layers of the roof to be removed.

First surprise: Even though we did not have a scheduled date, Gitano's suppliers immediately dumped shingles on our front lawn, and some other supplies on our front path. We were heading out of town for several days, so I moved the cardboard cartons into our mudroom so they wouldn't get soaked if it rained while we were gone.
Second surprise: Upon returning from our trip on Aug 19th, we find the shingles and materials gone, a section of front lawn pulled up, and our backyard furniture moved (table stacked on top of our coffee table, lawn chairs unstacked). Turns out that against our very specific instructions, Gitano's team came and replaced our roof! So not only did they trespass on our property while we were out of town and prior to our home inspection, we are now on the hook for $4000+ job that we did not authorize, and we are beholden to them if we are to rely on them for the 15-year warranty.

Review has 1 previous version
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for trusting us with your roofing project and giving us the opportunity to work with you to resolve all of your concerns. We are glad that you are you happy with the roof and the workmanship and we have used all of your feedback to improve on our admin process. We don't believe that we have earned payment until you are fully satisfied which is why as a policy we don't require a deposit and we don't send an invoice until you are happy. Enjoy your new roof and we have your back for the next 15 years!

Raj
Raj
4 reviews Mississauga, ON
10/10

Roof Replaced

Our roof was in bad shape with multiple patches being done to builder shingles by previous owners. I had to get the roof patched the same year I moved in but started hunting for a company that was fairly priced and that had good reviews on here based on previous customer experiences.

The written quote process was effortless and lots of great material was provided for light reading on the process that they follow to get the work done. The shingles that they recommended was based on their years of experience on how they held with their past customers.

Couldn't be happier with their service and will highly recommend them. Very professional and quality workmanship!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Raj thank you for the kind words and yes those three-tab shingles will blow away time and time again. We are glad we could help !!!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Gitano Roofing

Gitano roofing is Happy to be awarded Contract or the year in the GTA for 2018 !! At Gitano Roofing customer satisfaction is our number one priority because this is what gives us our name. What makes us different from the others you may ask ? We do not rush our work we take pride in every nail that goes in you're roof and we will not stop serving you until you are 100% Happy. There are many brands of shingles on the market. We Only use GAF and a special ridge cap system for maximum wind protection !!!

CATEGORIES
Roofing
PRODUCTS
1.GAF TIMBERLINE
SERVICES
Roofing
BRANDS
1.GAF TIMBERLINE
STYLES
Tab less
SPECIALITIES
Best of HomeStars Award 2013
WEBSITE
http://www.gitanoroofing.com
RETURN POLICY
100% Money Back
PAYMENT METHOD
Cheque-Draft-Money Order
LICENSES
Mississauga-Toronto
MEMBERSHIPS
BP Certified installers
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
DIPLOMAS
Contractor of the year GTA 2018
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
PROJECT MINIMUM
500
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
All work to be completed in a workman like manor. Any alteration or deviation from the above specifi
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.