The Handy Force

General Contractors
Toronto ON M1L 1W9
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Paint & Wallpaper Contractors in East York  >  The Handy Force  >  General Jobs Around the House
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON

General Jobs Around the House

Working with the Handy Force was one of the worst customer experiences I've ever had - for a few reasons. The initial visit and quote was amazing, after confirming contract/ signing deposit, I received many updates all of which was to say "we haven't found someone yet, but we're working on it". This went on for weeks, and the actual job was finish two months later. It was doing small jobs here and there (replacing wall, fixing valve and one drain, etc). One of the people they brought in to do the work gave me his business card and said "go through me next time and you don't need to talk to Handy Force" the other, had atrocious workmanship and left a mess. The Handy Force "project manager" was someone I had to chase constantly, and when they contracted out a task, would tell me the night before that 'hey someone is coming tomorrow'.
Good for people that have had good experiences with them, it is evident that smaller jobs do not get adequate service, but then their whole shtick about 'odd jobs so you don't have to' is misleading.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response


Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and I am so sorry for your negative experience. Feedback, good and bad, is very important to us because it allows us to push ourselves further in areas we already excel and improve in areas we do not.

As a result of your feedback the entire leadership went through every single invoice from the last six months together to see if we could match your described scope of work, “replacing wall, fixing valve and one drain, etc.” and figure out who your project manager, and team, was. Despite the team spending several hours on this, we could not find an invoice, recall a project like this or recognize your style of writing. This is a challenge for us because we now struggle to use your feedback to grow as we do not know who was responsible as you have chosen to post anonymously.

What is striking about your feedback is you mention certain things that raise a flag for us, like the project manager contracting out tasks. We never sub-contract the tasks you are describing. All of our work is done by our employees, in our uniform, on our payroll. It is one of our core values.

You also mention that your project manager called you and said, “We haven't found someone yet, but we're working on it”. This implies that they were looking for someone to do your project, but we have our own staff. Certainly there can be delays in starting a project if a previous one runs long or external factors like weather, but trying to “find someone” simply isn’t us. We have our own staff.

You wrote that the project manager called you the day before starting and said, “Hey someone is coming tomorrow” but all projects are scheduled at least a week in advance, unless it is an emergency situation we can accommodate (in which case it is next or same day).

You brought up that one of the people gave you their business card to contact them directly. Again, this would have been a sub-contractor which we would not have brought on site for a project like this and if one of our employees did try and moon-light, knowing who it was would be very helpful so that we could react accordingly.

I apologize if you feel that certain jobs get more or less care than others but we take great pride in treating all projects equally. All of our managers are salaried employees and there is no motivation to focus on bigger or smaller projects, just on each project in the order they are received. If one of our project managers was poor in their communication skills or style, or made you feel that your project was not a priority, again, knowing who would be so helpful to us to be able to coach and grow.

At the end of all this I am so sorry that you had a terrible experience with a renovator but we cannot help suspect you have either confused us with another company or the person you hired was pretending to be us (both of which have happened before) given all the inconsistencies you describe versus how we operate.

If you feel comfortable, it would really mean the world to us if you reached out to let us know more details. It would be so helpful.

Again, from all of us at The HandyForce, we are sorry you had a bad renovation experience. When one person does, it reflects poorly on our entire industry.

-The HandyForce team