Appliance Healer

Appliance Repair
Toronto ON
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Appliance Repair in Toronto  >  Appliance Healer  >  Buyer BEWARE...very!
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON

Buyer BEWARE...very!

Brought our SMEG toaster to be repaired. It was diagnosed as needing a new element. After paying $80 to replace the element the toaster experienced the same problem a month later. Brought it back only to find out that Samson tinkered with the toaster but NEVER replaced the element as he had claimed a month earlier. He had to come clean because SMEG does not sell replacement parts so he couldn't have replaced the part. When I asked him about this, he became defensive and proceeded to tell me that he mixed up our toaster with another one that he had repaired. He claimed he was confused due to lack of sleep repairing so many machines. Samson was not confused when he charged $80 for a repair he never did. He also promised to send a video of the repair he claimed to have done. That video was never forwarded to us. He refunded only $35 of the $80. A month later, I have a broken toaster and I am out $45. BEWARE. I will also send a complaint to the Better Business Bureau.

Approximate cost of services:
Was this review helpful?
Company Response Hello readers, here is the link for the exact toaster that is mentioned here that was worked on. I do many repairs and work very long hours up to 5AM most nights so yes things do get confusing from time to time however I'm honest when it comes to replacing the parts and this is one of the reasons we are making a youtube page to show the job for people that want the details. In our busy schedule things get overlooked and we forget to send links out for people BUT nothing is hiding our links can be found on youtube if you take the time to look for it or if a reminder is send most likely we will will provide it, I can't remember to do everything without some help along the way:) As for unsatisfied customers or jobs that break again we provide a 30 day warranty and partial refund policy and this is the case here we gave a refund but not full refund as we have to value our time and make some money to keep the business running. Had the customer gave more time I may have provided a new part or complete new toaster from the SMEG company as I was currently in the process dealing with the head office and it looked like things were going well up until I decided to call the customer with my "good news update" then things took a turn as you all can see. It's unrealistic to even think that you can get a new element replaced in a SMEG Toaster for only $80 because they sell for over $200.00
YouTube Update:
Of course we have to stand up for our side of what happened because we are running a reputable business and don't want people to think otherwise. My repair job did last for around 30days as stated in the other letter by the customer and even if it was past our warranty period we would have helped to resolve the problem. Many people are going threw a difficult time right now in year of 2020 it's important that we help each other and lift up one and other rather then to do the opposite. I'm going to re-post this on Youtube page below the video so others can have their say in if we did the right thing or not or how they would have done things any differently? Sometimes for all my hard work and late hours I put in I think I should not even try to fix some projects because people don't appreciate the extra efforts I put in so they can keep their appliances working and help reduce the land fills in the process.
Thanks for reading and have a good day everyone. Please see the You-Tube Link to watch the video and make your comments as you see fit but please be polite and respectful if you do comment: