Hy Grade Steel Roofing Systems Ltd.

Roofing
2 Airpark Place Guelph ON N1L 1B2
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Roofing
Hy Grade Steel Roofing Systems Ltd.
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

71%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Hy Grade Steel Roofing Systems Ltd.

Average customer rating:
8.7 10 (166 reviews)

Sort by

Lin
Lin
2 reviews Toronto, ON
8/10

Love the metal solution

I spoke with Mark in 2017 about requirements and costs and color choices. He was super easy to work with and patient with me as I took my time to evaluate traditional roofing solutions and other metal roofing companies. My family looked at many houses across Toronto that had HyGrade roofs as well as competitor roofs (Each company gives out addresses of past jobs, with owner permission).

After months I committed to HyGrade. There was some time delay in the work start due to staffing and weather - but it did not affect my needs. The work was done in Jun 2017. The roof is great - serves its purpose as a long lasting roof.

There were just a few things to note...

1. Unfortunately, my neighbor told me one of the contractors backed into her car causing thousands of dollars in damages. He left his name (Peter) and number on her car, but never picked up the phone when she called him. I tried calling HyGrade on her behalf to find out if there was any other contact info. In the end, there was no way for us to get him to respond - so she had to cover the damages herself.

2. I had asked that one small portion of the house have the existing roofing stripped and that the material be left in the driveway for us to dispose of (instead of paying extra to have the company dispose of it). I had to pay extra to have this work done. However, I was not at home to see the work done and there was never any material left in my driveway. When I tried calling the contractor to confirm the work was done as required, he wouldn't pick up the phone (see #1 above). So either the work was NOT done or they did do the work plus went the extra step of disposing the asphalt sheets for me.

3. A corner piece blew off in a big rain/wind storm within a year. I called the company and they immediately came over and replaced it. What was strange was that there was only one nail in the piece - I would have expected more. I had also asked if this was normal but also received no response from the company. 10 stars for coming over as quickly as they did - they definitely stand by their warranty. Questionable stars for initial work done that even allowed for a piece to blow off - luckily it didn't hit anyone or anything. It landed in our driveway.

4. Lastly, as the old roof was left on for the majority of the roof, there are pieces of it visible sticking out from under the metal roof. It's possible that the old roof had excessive overhang - but it would have been nice if the metal had fully covered the red or they had somehow trimmed those bits back. In the end, I rarely look at the roof and so it's not that noticeable and I don't think affects the roof function.

Overall, I highly value the metal roof - the strength and longevity. The neighbors have given me complements and I'm glad I didn't put more asphalt on. Over the last 2.5 years I've noticed the snowguards stop the snow from sliding off initially, and then it comes off in big chunks. The color is just as good and even as it was when it was installed. Overall I'm very satisfied with the product.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Lin,

We strive to be open and upfront with our customers, and greatly appreciate this feedback. Thank you for the opportunity to address your concerns.

In regard to your neighbor’s vehicle, after checking through our notes, it doesn’t appear that Hy-Grade was notified of this situation. We do apologize you had issues reaching the installer directly, however we strongly encourage customers to call head office in these situations, including neighbors if issues arise during the installation.

After checking all the original paperwork, it was listed on your contract for us to strip the section you had listed, so we can assure you it would have been done at the time of install. Since it was listed clearly that you intended to dispose of the materials, the installer likely disposed of those materials as an additional courtesy to you while cleaning the job site.

In rare circumstances we do experience human error in our installation. When the piece of ridge cap came off of your roof, we investigated the cause and fixed the issue while we were there. During the installation a fastener was missed on one side of our ridge cap at the gable. As you are aware, we do a full quality control inspection, however sometimes we can miss a single fastener in these reviews. A roof the size of yours will on average have about 5600 fasteners! We’re glad that you were pleased with our response time, as we always try to ensure our customers receive attention as quickly as possible, especially in a situation like this. We are proud of our 50-year warranty and appreciate your feedback here.

Based on our Quality Control inspection photos, we’re not able to see the area you’ve mentioned where the asphalt is visible from beneath. If you have concerns about this area, please call our Service Department.

We hope we have addressed all of your concerns, and we appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience. We’re thrilled that overall, you’ve been very happy with your Hy-Grade experience and the last roof your home will ever need.

bandkbt
bandkbt
0 reviews Kingston, ON
10/10

Steel roof

The installers were quick and professional. Our new roof looks great. We are very pleased.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much for reviewing us! We know you'll enjoy your permanent peace-of-mind for many years to come. Welcome to the Hy-Grade Family! -The Hy-Grade Team

Frances
Frances
1 review Mississauga, ON
8/10

steel roof

They were efficient, fast, reliable, hardworking and friendly. The roof looks great and I'm satisfied.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We're delighted that you chose us to permanently protect your home. If you need anything, you know where to find us! Welcome to the Hy-Grade Family :) -The Hy-Grade Team

al
al
1 review Selkirk, ON
9/10

Steel Roofing

Prompt response and quote. Fast courteous service. Competitive pricing. Great warranty. Very satisfied would recommend.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Welcome to the Hy-Grade Family and thank you for leaving a review! We are happy to hear you're satisfied. Thank you for recommending us and be sure to check out details of our Referral Rewards program to find out how you can earn! www.1855HYGRADE.com/referralrewards - The Hy-Grade Team

helenvt
helenvt
0 reviews Orillia, ON
10/10

Metal roof installation

Very professional and friendly workers. Our roof looks fantastic! No complaints. Took about 2 weeks to complete with cold weather and snow storms.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We appreciate it. Please enjoy your peace-of-mind. -The Hy-Grade Team

ackersde
ackersde
0 reviews London, ON
10/10

roof

Great company to deal with all around. Excellent product. Great installers and nice guys too!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are happy to hear of your satisfaction. Welcome to the Hy-Grade Family! -The Hy-Grade Team

icookscook
icookscook
0 reviews Apsley, ON
8/10

Steel Roof

Steel roof installed at our cottage. There were initially some issues with the first crew scheduled to install but Matt at Hy-grade was able to obtain another crew to complete the install. Roof looks amazing! Getting lots of compliments. This is the second roof we have had Hy-grade install for us. We had our home done 4 years ago.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for leaving us a review. It's unfortunate when we come across circumstances beyond our control, but we certainly do everything within our power to make it right as soon as possible. We're happy to hear you're satisfied with your second Hy-Grade Roof. We're so delighted to have you as a part of the Hy-Grade Family :) -The Hy-Grade Team

rhewton
rhewton
0 reviews Washago, ON
10/10

Roofing

Good group of hardworking guys
Delays in work but only due to weather conditions
Very satisfied

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! Welcome to the Hy-Grade Family :) -The Hy-Grade Team

Cheryl
Cheryl
1 review Welland, ON
9/10

roof

excellent product, good installer- however-I asked ,when I got the estimate, if they could do this roof which is a steep barn style- turned out they wanted to get a special crew on, and he had problems getting helpers, leaving him working a few days without anyone to spot him- which is unsafe-and his compressor broke down for 2 days, a good contractor should have a back up unit, he lost 2 perfectly good days- because of the problems with timing, they worked in a lot of cold- not nice-they did very carefully go round my satellite dish which was great, I didn't have to have it re installed-
I am satisfied with the work- but make sure they can do you roof- make sure when they'll start, make sure they have helpers-it looks fabulous ,I have had compliments already

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave us a detailed review. We are happy to hear you are satisfied with the completed installation of your roof. Unfortunately, due to the nature of our work, we do sometimes run into challenges beyond our control along the way. Our installer was in the midst of an employee change in the middle of completing this installation. We expect our installers to have a minimum 2-people while on site. Unfortunately, this time it was not possible. In this case, we had a trainer on site whenever possible so that our installer was not working alone until he was able to gain another crew member, who was there through the completion of the installation.
Thank you again for choosing Hy-Grade and we are certain you will enjoy your permanent peace-of-mind for many years to come. Welcome to the Hy-Grade Family!
-The Hy-Grade Team

R K.
R K.
0 reviews Kingston, ON
10/10

Steel roof

Fantastic team. Dependable, reliable, hard working group that went over and above, hIghly recommend.
Very positive experience from start to finish.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much for reviewing us! We know you'll enjoy your permanent peace-of-mind for many years to come. Welcome to the Hy-Grade Family! -The Hy-Grade Team

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Hy Grade Steel Roofing Systems Ltd.

Hy-Grade Steel Roofing is Ontario's #1 and original permanent steel roofing solution. We have been manufacturing and installing our system since 1988. Its unique design is made for Ontario's temperature extremes allowing for expansion and contraction without pulling on the fastener or wearing the metal around it. Contact us for ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Roofing pros in Aurora?