Hy Grade Steel Roofing Systems Ltd.

Roofing
2 Airpark Place Guelph ON N1L 1B2
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Roofing
Hy Grade Steel Roofing Systems Ltd.
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

83%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Best of 2019 winnerBest of 2019winner

Reviews for Hy Grade Steel Roofing Systems Ltd.

Average customer rating:
8.7 10 (160 reviews)

Sort by

icookscook
icookscook
0 reviews Apsley, ON
8/10

Steel Roof

Steel roof installed at our cottage. There were initially some issues with the first crew scheduled to install but Matt at Hy-grade was able to obtain another crew to complete the install. Roof looks amazing! Getting lots of compliments. This is the second roof we have had Hy-grade install for us. We had our home done 4 years ago.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for leaving us a review. It's unfortunate when we come across circumstances beyond our control, but we certainly do everything within our power to make it right as soon as possible. We're happy to hear you're satisfied with your second Hy-Grade Roof. We're so delighted to have you as a part of the Hy-Grade Family :) -The Hy-Grade Team

rhewton
rhewton
0 reviews Washago, ON
10/10

Roofing

Good group of hardworking guys
Delays in work but only due to weather conditions
Very satisfied

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! Welcome to the Hy-Grade Family :) -The Hy-Grade Team

Cheryl
Cheryl
1 review Welland, ON
9/10

roof

excellent product, good installer- however-I asked ,when I got the estimate, if they could do this roof which is a steep barn style- turned out they wanted to get a special crew on, and he had problems getting helpers, leaving him working a few days without anyone to spot him- which is unsafe-and his compressor broke down for 2 days, a good contractor should have a back up unit, he lost 2 perfectly good days- because of the problems with timing, they worked in a lot of cold- not nice-they did very carefully go round my satellite dish which was great, I didn't have to have it re installed-
I am satisfied with the work- but make sure they can do you roof- make sure when they'll start, make sure they have helpers-it looks fabulous ,I have had compliments already

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave us a detailed review. We are happy to hear you are satisfied with the completed installation of your roof. Unfortunately, due to the nature of our work, we do sometimes run into challenges beyond our control along the way. Our installer was in the midst of an employee change in the middle of completing this installation. We expect our installers to have a minimum 2-people while on site. Unfortunately, this time it was not possible. In this case, we had a trainer on site whenever possible so that our installer was not working alone until he was able to gain another crew member, who was there through the completion of the installation.
Thank you again for choosing Hy-Grade and we are certain you will enjoy your permanent peace-of-mind for many years to come. Welcome to the Hy-Grade Family!
-The Hy-Grade Team

R K.
R K.
0 reviews Kingston, ON
10/10

Steel roof

Fantastic team. Dependable, reliable, hard working group that went over and above, hIghly recommend.
Very positive experience from start to finish.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much for reviewing us! We know you'll enjoy your permanent peace-of-mind for many years to come. Welcome to the Hy-Grade Family! -The Hy-Grade Team

Earl in Guelph
Earl in Guelph
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

Steel roof

Not sure how much was paid. Hygràde is full of
Excuses not to fulfill their 50 years warranty. Every single time it rains it leaks. They just want to charge more money. I am very dissatisfied with their support. I am tired but will keep fighting.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello, thank you for sharing your concerns with us. We are unfortunately unable to locate a file that matches the information you've provided here. We'd appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns in relation to your specific job and help find a solution. Our warranty covers any leaks due to a roofing system malfunction or workmanship for 50 years from the date of install. Any service covered under the warranty is non-billable. Please contact our Head Office during operating hours so we may help you with this. - The Hy-Grade Team

Eric D.
Eric D.
0 reviews Waterloo, ON
10/10

Hy Grade Steel Roof

Hy Grade installed a steel roof on our home that was constructed in 1906. It has a very complex roof line with lots of valleys and peaks.
The salesperson was very knowledgeable about their product and answered all of my concerns.
The installation team was extremely professional and meticulous about their work. The result looks spectacular.
We have had a number of rain storms with very high winds since the installation as well as two large snowfalls. No problems or leaks and snow was well contained to the roof by the snow guards.

Some websites claim the steel roof would interfere with cell phone reception and wifi. The steel roof has had no effect on either of those services or the T.V. antennas we use inside the house.

We are 100% satisfied with the product, the installation and the appearance of the new roof.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a detailed review of your experience. We greatly appreciate your business and welcome you to the Hy-Grade Family! Please enjoy your permanent peace-of-mind for many, many years to come. -The Hy-Grade Team

ANON
ANON
0 reviews Newmarket, ON
10/10

Steel roof installation

We have nothing but praise for the Hy-Grade team right from the sales rep, to delivery driver, to installation team, quality inspection and after sales service. They were all accommodating, helpful and easy to get along with. A quality product and quality workmanship from a quality team. We've already received compliments on how it looks. Couldn't be happier!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know how we did! We are happy to hear you're enjoying your new roof and know it will provide you peace-of-mind for many years to come. Welcome to the Hy-Grade Family! -The Hy-Grade Team

gj
gj
0 reviews Port Perry, ON
10/10

STEEL ROOF INSTALLATION. HOUSE & DETACHED GARAGE

HOUSE WAS BUILT IN 1885. THERE WAS EXTENSIVE LEVELING & PREPARATION TO BE COMPLETED PRIOR TO THE INSTALLATION OF STEEL.

AN EXISTING PITCH CHANGE IN THE ROOF BETWEEN THE UPPER LEVEL & LOWER LEVEL THAT WAS ORIGINALLY BUILT CROOKED (WENT FROM A DISTINCTIVE CHANGE ON ONE SIDE TO THE UPPER LEVEL JUST ROLLING INTO THE LOWER ON THE OTHER SIDE). PITCH WAS STRAIGHTENED OUT PERFECTLY & LOOKS GREAT.

THEY DID A GREAT JOB & THE FINISHED PRODUCT IS LOOKS NICE & STRAIGHT.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for leaving a review for us! We are happy to hear you like your new roof! We know you'll enjoy peace-of-mind for many years to come now that your home is permanently protected. Welcome to the Hy-Grade Family! -The Hy-Grade Team

jkheg122
jkheg122
0 reviews Saugeen Shores, ON
7/10

New roof

Roofing contractors were very good, however hygrade themselves we found were not very efficient, it was extremely difficult to pin them down to a time frame and we were never informed of any information voluntary from Hygrade. It was always us chasing them trying to find out a date. Originally we were told maybe June when we paid our deposit, roof was completed in October after numerous phone calls. Their lack of communication we found very frustrating.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi there,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback for us. Due the nature of our business we are not able to provide installation dates at the time of contract signing but rather estimates based on current wait times. Wait times can be affected by many factors including availability of crews, unexpected project delays or advances, weather delays, etc. For this reason, we provide estimates with updates approaching your installation. At the time of your contract singing, we provided an estimated wait time of August. Due to many of the above factors, the wait time in your area was extended. We do ask our Roofing Consultants to keep their customers updated during the wait and are always available at Head Office to assist with this as well.
Since the time of your contract signing we have also added a “Hy-Grade Welcome Call” into our order approval process. In this call we confirm the wait time estimate you’ve received, we ensure you received your welcome letter which details the process between contract singing and installation and we also ask your preference on how often you’d like to be contacted with an update. Unfortunately, this was implemented shortly after your order was approved. Since its implementation however, we have received lots of positive feedback and have been able to improve our communication with customers.
It’s because of customers providing their feedback, like you have, that we’ve been able to continually improve on the service we provide to our Hy-Grade Family. Thank you once again for taking the time and we are positive you will enjoy the peace-of-mind that comes with your Hy-Grade Roof for many years to come!
-The Hy-Grade Team

Karen S.
Karen S.
0 reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Metal Roof

Hy-Grade replaced both my neighbours' and my roof and we were both very satisfied with the wor, from start to finish - from sales to installation to post quality inspection. Everyone was very professional and courteous, and the final product looks great!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us Karen! Welcome to the Hy-Grade Family! -The Hy-Grade Team

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Hy Grade Steel Roofing Systems Ltd.

Hy-Grade Steel Roofing is Ontario's #1 and original permanent steel roofing solution. We have been manufacturing and installing our system since 1988. Its unique design is made for Ontario's temperature extremes allowing for expansion and contraction without pulling on the fastener or wearing the metal around it. Contact us for your free, no obligation quote today. We install year round and cover most of Ontario.

Hy-Grade now supports 30 employees and over 90 people in the sub-trades!

http://www.hygraderoofing.com

CATEGORIES
Roofing
PRODUCTS
Hy-Grade Steel Roofing System
SERVICES
Permanent Steel Roofing - Manufacturer and Installer
BRANDS
Ontario's #1, original, engineered, proven and perfected permanent steel roofing system. Yep, it's a Hy-Grade!
STYLES
One style, the best one designed to handle Ontario's temperature extremes including the expansion and contraction temperature changes bring.
SPECIALITIES
Installing permanent peace of mind. 50 Year Warranty. Established in 1988.
WEBSITE
http://www.1855HYGRADE.com
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1988
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
30
PAYMENT METHOD
Cash, cheque, MC/V, debit, financing with leading lending institutions w/ great rates, secured/unsecured, fixed/variable. $115/month average/typical.
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
50 year transferable warranty
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.