Mhc Home Comfort

44 Dundas St. W. Mississauga ON L5B 1H3
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Gas Line Installation in Mississauga   >  Mhc Home Comfort  >  Gas Fireplace and Gas line
The Fist in Mississauga
The Fist in Mississauga

Gas Fireplace and Gas line

We purchased a Gas Fireplace locally through the MHC Home Comfort store, and scheduled an installation. The installation included tile finishing and a gas line installation. The pre-sales process was fairly good, and the sales person came to our house and walked us through the process. We purchased the fireplace, and scheduled the installation. We also contracted them to install a gas line to our deck, so that we could have a gas barbecue later on.

The installation process was fairly quick and painless, and the job done on the fireplace installation appears to have been done properly. The tile finishing I'd rate 6/10, since there are some areas around the edges which have small gaps. Minor, but it really takes away from the finish to see that. I'd actually recommend that if you buy a fireplace from these guys, that you have someone else do the exterior finishings. When we turned the fireplace on for the first time smoke started pouring out of my pot lights and consuming the top area of my basement. After panicking and shutting everything down, I got a hold of them, they said that this was normal for new fireplaces, and to let it burn like that for a while and it will eventually clear. This was the case, but I found it odd that they didn't walk through this with me.

If this was the end of my review I would have rated them higher than I did. However, I am not impressed with the gas line installation.

1. The connection on the deck is already rusting significantly after a year. I think some rust is normal, but this is excessive.

2. We recently had a home energy audit done. This was before the fireplace/gas line was installed. When we had our second audit, our home was SIGNIFICANTLY worse. With the fan spinning at our door and the house pressurizing, we went around to try and figure out where the air leaks were happening. I was surprised to discover that the area around the gas line was sucking in a TON of air. It seems that after they drilled a hole in my house for the line, they didn't seal it at all. Completely unacceptable.

After discovering this, I really hope that they did everything right with the fireplace. No problems yet, but who knows.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear valued customer,
We apologize for the previous issues and guarantee you that we only hire gas licensed, experienced and trained technicians so despite the acceptable issues you have pointed out you can be sure that the fireplace was installed correctly. We would like to inform you that our staff, service, and overall work quality has improved since and we continue to work on improving ourselves. If you wish you, may contact us for any future home comfort needs you may have and we will provide you with satisfactory service. Thank you