La Vie Furniture

Furniture
44b Dufflaw Road Toronto ON M6A 2W1
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Furniture
La Vie Furniture
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

72%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for La Vie Furniture

Average customer rating:
8 10 (85 reviews)

Sort by

syke from Milton
syke from Milton
1 review Milton, ON
0/10

Custom Sofa

We had a horrible experience with this company. We went to the Dufflaw location. Made our order at the end of January, our couches did not arrive until June. The company failed to call us to notify us of the delay, the estimate they had given us was mid-end of April. I had to call repeatedly to get a status. Jason the manager said "why would we call the customer if we don't have anything to report" - sorry, what? So you're not going to give a courtesy call to your customer to inform them that their order will be delayed significantly. Absolutely ridiculous. Not to mention we had to practically beg and plead for some sort of compensation for the crap we had to deal with, in which he only offered $100, until a representative from the Mississauga location convinced him to up it a bit more, and his final offer was $150.00. Even the representative at the Mississauga location felt horrible (Ken) and said that a 2 month wait was really bad and if he had the authority he would have compensated us some more money. They hassled us so much about a colour change we wanted about 1-2 weeks after we placed the order, to which my husband and I said forget it because of how rude they were being. Had we not paid a deposit we most definitely would have dropped this company and gone somewhere else based on their unprofessional, uncaring and absolutely negligent customer service. Everything was a fight with them, a battle., it was an exhausting ordeal - I'm not even exaggerating, I'm not an overly hormonal female and their service literally had me crying by the end of it. They made it so difficult that despite the couches finally arriving, we don't even have the pleasure of enjoying them, as looking at them now, they are a constant reminder of Nick and Jason and how despicable their customer service was. I'm sure there will be some sort of nonsense response to this review, to which I say buzz off - you both were horrible people to deal with, and I hope others never have the misfortune of dealing with such horrible customer service. We are hoping someone will buy them off of Kijiji, so we can go elsewhere and create some positive memories for the couches that will adorn our home.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

1. customer ordered on end of January and we estimated it will be here around end of April. We wrote black and white on the sales contract that the time is an estimate and actual time may differ due to some uncontrollable factor and customer understood and signed. The couch arrived in mid of May and we called customer to book delivery and customer said he was not available and he told us he will call back to book delivery appointment. He called in June and we delivered in June.

2. The reason this customer is so pissed is because the amount of compensation we offered to her is different from what she wanted. She wanted 400 $ to compensate her for 2 weeks delay but it wasn't reasonable and we can only afford 150 $. She accepted happily and left a bad review in the following day.

Denise from Toronto
Denise from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Perfect sofa!!! A+ Experience!!

Assisted Review

An assisted review is collected by a contractor on behalf of the homeowner after their work is completed. The homeowner must confirm the text of the review and may make any changes she or he deems appropriate. The homeowner then assigns the contractor a review score out of 10. Assisted reviews receive the same scrutiny as other reviews and must follow our review guidelines.

Just received my sofa a few days ago, I ordered it at the end of January and it arrived earlier than the promised eta. I am very happy with the quality of the sofa and my experience overall. The delivery guys were very professional and patient when they were setting up my sofa for me... I would definitely recommend this company if you’re looking for a great customized sofa.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Daisy from Toronto
Daisy from Toronto
1 review Markham, ON
10/10

Fast time, Good service

Assisted Review

An assisted review is collected by a contractor on behalf of the homeowner after their work is completed. The homeowner must confirm the text of the review and may make any changes she or he deems appropriate. The homeowner then assigns the contractor a review score out of 10. Assisted reviews receive the same scrutiny as other reviews and must follow our review guidelines.

We have to say it was our luck to find this company through internet, we were looking for specific sized sofa set for my new home but we were on a tight schedule because we were moving into our new home very soon. I shopped around at a lot of furniture stores and they always needed quite a bit of time to process my request and I really could not afford to wait several weeks for my sofa. Eventually I came across La Vie on the internet and my husband and I paid them a visit last Sunday. When we arrived at the showroom we were greeted by a very kind salesman who showed us around and helped us find several of the sofas we had seen on their website. A couple of the ones we liked were available in stock and once we settled on a particular piece, we set up the delivery schedule and the sofa was delivered to us on the day we received our keys. We are extremely pleased with the service we received and the great quality of our sofa and we would definitely recommend shopping at La Vie if you are looking for modern furniture and need it quickly.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Judy from Toronto
Judy from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

Chole LHF 2 PCS SECTIONAL SOFA

My sofa set was bought and delivered in August 2014, and barely two months we noticed that there was a tear on the arm-rest, so we reported to the company, and they bluntly refused to acknowledge that it was their product faulty and instead blamed on the customer for our negligence. It was kind of a ripped off company, even suggested that we had to do our part to protect the leather and even so ridiculously recommended their professional contract repairer to do the repairs at our cost. Instead of sending someone to take a look at the problem just simply ignored us. Why in the first place they have warranty for the products they sold then. Like one of the reviews from here that said if you do not honour warranty is ILLEGAL!!!!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

This is Jason from La Vie Furniture. I handled your case so I guess you should remember me. We offer 1 year manufacture warranty for all our products to against manufacture defeats. Can you upload the image of the damage here to let others to take a look? It is a long straight knife cut and it is not manufacture defeat and it is not covered by warranty. There must be an accident happened. What I offered to you is since this is not manufacture defeat, our company will not cover 100% repairing charge but we will cover 50%. Is this fair?

Olga from Toronto
Olga from Toronto
1 review Thornhill, ON
10/10

Living room and Bedroom

Assisted Review

An assisted review is collected by a contractor on behalf of the homeowner after their work is completed. The homeowner must confirm the text of the review and may make any changes she or he deems appropriate. The homeowner then assigns the contractor a review score out of 10. Assisted reviews receive the same scrutiny as other reviews and must follow our review guidelines.

We purchased living room and bedroom furniture from their Toronto store, I was so happy my order coming ahead of time, but we met a little problem with our elevator, after their delivery agent spoke with head office, they waited us almost an hour, there was no any attitude, I was so sorry to delay them such long time. And I have to say they are providing very professional service, I met same situation before from other company, finally I had to change new schedule, and paid another service charge. Their quality is excellent, good price, you should save this company at your visit list.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Lisa from Mississauga
Lisa from Mississauga
1 review Mississauga, ON
0/10

Sectional couch

My husband and I went into La Vie's Mississauga location in February after researching real leather sectional couches. We finally picked out a custom leather sectional. The employee there was fairly helpful however, had to keep "calling Head Office" to get answers to our questions. We were told the couch would take around 6 weeks, which we thought was reasonable for a custom-made couch. After paying a 50% down payment and signing papers, we noticed the date of delivery was for the last week of April, which was closer to 9 weeks.
Fast-forward to the end of April. No call to set up delivery. We finally reached someone the first week of May and was told our couch wasn't in the country and it most likely would be available for delivery until the end of May. We were told there was a problem with the Port of Vancouver (the trucker strike lasted maybe 1 week and was resolved March 26th).
No needless to say I am STILL WITHOUT my couch and VERY UNHAPPY.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

This is Jason from La Vie. I am not sure if this is really coming from a real customer or a competitor. I didn't find any sales record in February and sales amount is 2300 $ in Mississauga store. First of all, we never took 50% deposit, only 30% which is our strict policy. if you did order from us, you should pay 30% not 50%. There are lots of furniture stores charging 50% down pay up front, we don't do that. ( Did you actually order from us? ) Secondly, we will put a time frame on the sales invoice at the date you ordered to tell you when the couch will be scheduled to come in and we will make you to sign to acknowledge that. We never quoted customer for 6 weeks. Our standard ordering time frame is 8 - 10 weeks. ( This is written on sales invoice. ) Delay doesn't happen very often but if it does happen more than a unreasonable time, we will offer compensation to our customers.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about La Vie Furniture

We are a modern furniture retail store base in Toronto, in both traditional and contemporary styles at rock-bottom prices that are often below wholesale. La Vie Furniture is a brand and a retail branch of GH Furniture, Inc which is an International Furniture Importer, Producer and Wholesaler. As one of Furniture Stores in Toronto, La Vie offers Lowest Price Guarantee. It currently has locations in Mississauga, Oakville and North York, Toronto, Vanghan, Markham and Ottawa. for details. please see www.superdealfurniture.com

La Vie Furniture has a great combination of traditional style and contemporary design. The key sell point for La Vie Furniture is its COMFORT concept. Our contemporary sectional sofa can magically convert to full size bed and our bedroom set has hiding drawers and storage in bed. So if you are looking for the modern furniture which can bring you extra value, then La Vie is your best choice. We guarantee our products will be Functional, Comfortable, Inexpensive and Multi-use.

Call us for a quote today at 905-565-9191!

CATEGORIES
Furniture
PRODUCTS
Bedroom Furniture, living room furniture, sofas, sectionals, dining room furniture, modern coffee tables, tv stands, and other modern contemporary home furniture.
BRANDS
La Vie Furniture
SPECIALITIES
We specialize in Modern Furniture, Sofa Customization and other custom furniture basing on customer's requirement and need. We also carry very big line of modern contemporary bedroom furniture and platform beds.
WEBSITE
http://www.laviemodernfurniture.com
YEAR ESTABLISHED
2008
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
25
PAYMENT METHOD
Credit Card, Debit Card, check and more
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
All Furniture Comes with 1 year manufacture warranty. 5 years extended warranty is available too.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.