Safari Plumbing Ltd.

Plumbing
69 Evergreen Drive Ottawa ON K2H 6C5
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Plumbing
Safari Plumbing Ltd.
Star Score
Learn more about how StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company's review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency.

87%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Indicates how well a pro reacts to reviews and review-related interactions with Homeowners.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Safari Plumbing Ltd.

Average customer rating:
9.3 10 (72 reviews)

Sort by

Susan
Susan
2 reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Toilette and outside tap replacement

After having Safari repair taps and drains at our home over the last several years, we called for service to have two toilettes and an outside tap replaced. Daniel took the time to review the work and offer options on a first visit. Two days later, he and John returned and completed the work, with attention to detail, and explanation. Polite, professional and efficient service, from the office taking our call for an estimate, the calls to confirm when the plumber would arrive and follow up.
We feel like valued clients.

Approximate cost of services:
$3,700.00
Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ottawa, ON
2/10

Fix bathroom faucet/expensive!!!

Sweet plumber, rude front office staff, charged $180 for first site visit to diagnose the problem. I picked up replacement parts and they quoted $350 to install a new handle and a new cartridge. Went somewhere else and got it done for half the price.

Approximate cost of services:
$650.00
Was this review helpful?
Heather in Ottawa
Heather in Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
3/10

Leaking kitchen sink which turned out to be leaky faucet

Safari plumbing was able to come immediately - other plumbers I had to wait for 2 days. There drop in fee was also more reasonable - $45 approximately. I thought my sink was leaking - it turned out to be the faucet. They said they had a high end faucet - it would be $800 plus taxes to install. I had a friend coming for dinner and needed my sink fixed that day. I later asked what model it was - a dealta 470 dst. I searched on line. Rona had that model for $263. Other stores had it for $300+. I realized at the time I would pay a premium but $300-$400 premium seems excessive. It took less than an hour to install. The plumbers themselves were very nice. If I did not feel ripped off, I would recommend them. I asked for an explanation but did not receive any feedback.

Approximate cost of services:
$905.00
Was this review helpful?
Rob from Ottawa
Rob from Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
8/10

Toilet leak

We had a small leak in the basement that came from the toilet in the powder room above. Thought was that the wax ring wasn't installed properly initially or wasn't tall enough to accommodate the new tile floor and subfloor. Safari came the day after my first call - and I was called in advance of their arrival. Excellent service overall - excellent communication and the work looks to be done well. The next week will determine if the leak issue is resolved. As I said, service was excellent - the only issue (albeit minor) was the pricing. A $50 service fee on top of another $380+ to remove a toilet, replace wax rings and reinstall the toilet is pricey compared to what I've experienced. Still, based on the excellent service received, I would use them again.

Approximate cost of services:
$490.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Rob for the review. We are so happy to hear that your service visit went well and we appreciate your loyalty to the company! David Sparling

Alice  in Nepean
Alice in Nepean
1 review Ottawa, ON
0/10

Safari charged me about $1200 for clearing a blocked toilet drain in a condo terrace home

I noted some customers described Safari charges higher price / their bad experiences with Safari. I add my bad dealings with Safari that occurred a while ago, what I learnt from it so far and my recently-acquired knowledge of handling it. Safari got my credit card number beforehand and charged me about $1200 for clearing a blocked toilet drain in a condo terrace home. I had no plumbing knowledge and Safari was the 1st plumber I used. Safari plumber persuaded me to agree his work under his recommended Safari 1st option-snake through that he said would fix the blockage problem 99% of the time and would cost me about $300 including its $49 service fee and it's a good deal. But 20 minutes later, he asked me to go up to Safari 2nd option-toilet removal that cost me $1017 plus $49 service fee. I questioned Safari plumber that I relied/trusted his recommendation of the 1st option and had he told me in advance the 2nd option would cost me that much or recommended/quoted the 2nd option prior to the work, I definitely wouldn’t have agreed to his doing any work regardless it’s 1st or 2nd option and would have another plumber check the problem for a quote. As he didn't fix the problem, I asked if I disagreed with upgrading to Safari 2nd option, whether he’d only charge me $49 service fee. He firmly said if I disagreed, he’d leave and still charge me $300 1st option price even if he didn’t fix the problem, which I felt he held me to ransom. Under such pressure and in desperation, I had to agree to and pay $1200 for Safari 2nd option to clear the toilet drain.

3 months later, the same toilet backed up again. Water went down to lower unit house. I informed neighbour and condo property manager that I just paid Safari $1200 to fix backup problems. Shocked by such a high price, the property manager recommended Canada Plumbing Inc for a 2nd opinion. I described to Canada Plumbing and sent them Safari’s invoice that also described what Safar did. I understood then Safari would recommend its 1st option even if knowing it wouldn’t fix the problem and then ask customers to and customers usually have to go up to its 2nd option as Safari still charges its 1st option work if customers don’t accept its 2nd option. I knew then based on the problem description/onsite inspection, a slightly-experienced plumber would go straight with the work under Safari 2nd option and quote accordingly. I asked how much Canada Plumbing would charge for the same work done by Safari and they’d charge me $595 stated in writing.

Canada Plumbing was professional and advised me to contact Safari first as had I hired them, they’d have owed me a duty to check what caused toilet backups just 3 months after they’d fixed it. So I called Safari again. Mr. Sparling came for 5 minutes, said no toilet backups and would charge $49 service fee. I asked him what caused the toilet backups. He said he didn't know but insisted on charging $49 and would send it to collection agency for collection if I refused to pay. I reasoned with him I already paid him almost $1200 and for $49, I’d pay but I felt it’s unfair he charged the fee but couldn't tell me what might cause the backups. I asked him for an invoice and I’d pay. I mentioned I never dealt with plumbers and Safari was the 1st plumber I hired and based on what I got from another company, Safari excessively overcharged me. Mr. Sparling was very angry saying he wouldn’t charge the $49 and told me to never call them again and hung up on me.

I had no knowledge on how to handle such situation that Safari excessively overcharged me and feeling being held to ransom, I agreed its 2nd option work under pressure. Recently, I found out that information/process on the Ministry of Government and Consumer Services website also govern plumbing services; I can and did write to Mr. Sparling 3 emails with Safari invoice and Canada Plumbing written quote for the same work done by Safari attached to resolve the overcharge. He ignored me and never responded

Approximate cost of services:
$1,200.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your comment. It did take us a while to locate your invoice and file as the work you are referring to took place in 2017. I am sorry that you feel this way. The plumber, while he was there, communicated with you by telephone. He gave you a quote prior to starting the work, you agreed to the quote, he communicated with you throughout the work, and you paid upon completion of the work. I can assure you that you were not overcharged. I wish you very well in the future. David Sparling

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Clearing totally plugged drains.

Drains in house totally plugged four girls...Not even ultra strength draino worked.

Safari was cost effective, polite and fast. Totally resolved the issue.

Highly recommend them To anyone with this kind of issue.

Approximate cost of services:
$250.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

No drains are too tough for the Safari team. We are pleased your service visit went well. Your loyal commitment is important to us. We are happy to help and thank you for sharing! David Sparling.
Safari Plumbing Ltd.

safari in Nepean
safari in Nepean
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Tub Faucets Replaced

I was impressed by Dan Touchette's work and also his pleasant personality. I will use Safari from now on, even though cost was a bit higher than I expected, the professionalism was worth it.

Approximate cost of services:
$1,200.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the kind review. Dan will be pleased to hear your praise. Safari plumbing looks forward to a loyal and long term relationship with you and your home. David Sparling
Safari Plumbing Ltd.

Excellent Service in Nepean
Excellent Service in Nepean
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Basement drain inspection

We are very pleased with Safari Plumbing. We experienced a flood in our basement following a bad storm and Bill Davison from Safari Plumbing came to our home the same day we called. He was extremely knowledgeable, thorough and explained everything in great detail. As Platinum club members we are given exceptional service and we really appreciate it. Today I had a question which I emailed to the office, and I received an immediate response. We highly recommend Safari Plumbing.

Approximate cost of services:
$39.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the kind words. We are pleased the service you received was exceptional. This is what the Safari team strives for. Your high recommendations are greatly appreciated. David Sparling
Safari Plumbing Ltd.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Bathroom vanity removal and install of a new one

Matt and Jennifer were great! Organized, friendly and very neat and professional. They never do or recommend work that isnt required, they arrive when they say they will and they do great work with a great warranty!

Approximate cost of services:
$800.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We take great pride, knowing that you were completely satisfied.
Safari Plumbing Ltd.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Safari Plumbing Ltd.

It’s a jungle out there! Finding a good plumber isn’t easy. All you want is a qualified, competent professional. Yet finding one can be so difficult! Add to that the pressure of making a decision in a hurry—after all, you probably call a plumber only in an emergency, right?—and the ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Plumbing pros in Britannia?