Urbandale Construction Limited

Builders
2193 Arch Street ON K1G
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Builders
Urbandale Construction Limited
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

50%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Urbandale Construction Limited

Average customer rating:
4.1 10 (50 reviews)

Sort by

Saad in Toronto
Saad in Toronto
0 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

New Dream Home

We are truly thankful to Urbandale for building our dream home in the middle of the pandemic. It has been built beautifully with expert craftsmanship. I am sure Urbandale always get great feedback but truly Urbandale has out-done themselves in the building of this home. Even with all the little intricacies and attention to detail, the construction team has fulfilled all of our requests and desires in completing this home to better than what we could have imagined. Our journey with Urbandale has been remarkable and we have been extremely pleased with the professionalism, courteous nature and ever pleasant attitude of all individuals that we have had the privilege to interact with during this process. From Alex to Jody to Robyn to Boomer and many others, we thank you all for the wonderful effort. We could not have asked for more from Urbandale and for our dream home. Thank you once again and we would gladly always be at the forefront of recommending Urbandale to family, friends and strangers alike.

Was this review helpful?
omar in Toronto
omar in Toronto
0 reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Amazing dream home - the Portland!

We were so lucky to be referred to Cheryl, who became our sales rep and we couldn’t have been happier with her. She always went above and beyond and answered our questions almost immediately (sometimes emails were answered in minutes). We were given many options to choose from (although some options we were shut down on which was disappointing such as making the windows bigger and taller or adding a pot filler - however they did have their good reasons to reject these). The design department was knowledgeable and Dean helped us pick everything, offering suggestions and showing us pictures of how they look in other client homes.
We were delayed a couple months due to COVID but this was expected with most or all builders so can’t blame Urbandale for that.
Overall extremely happy with the service.
Currently we are dealing with our PDI and 30-Day items so we will post follow ups and hope the service will continue to impress us. We will post updates on the warranty process since it seems to be a concern for others.
Thanks Urbandale!

Was this review helpful?
Raj B
Raj B
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Very Positive Experience

We are very pleased with our house delivered by Urbandale. Superior quality home, excellent service, professional staff, perfect layout of the home - no space is wasted. Warranty staff is amazing - polite, professional, hassle free. We only had positive experience with Urbandale from the day one to all the way!!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Raj,
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with Urbandale Construction, your feedback is greatly appreciated!
Kind regards,
The Urbandale Team

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Kemptville, ON
3/10

Unspecified Closing?

Urbandale has great sales and design center service. However that is where it all ends.

I understand that with the COVID 19 Pandemic it has been tough trying to keep up however I find it completely unacceptable that as a company they can provide multiple home owners with a generic letter stating that they will not be able to provide a closing date until 14 days prior to the PDI? That is crazy to me.

Stringing homeowners along and giving them "we cannot speculate" as an answer is unacceptable. Let the homeowner know what is causing delay. A generic "Everything" is not OK. Is the HVAC Company waiting for fittings? Is the shipment of Drywall delayed? Or do you not have anyone to install it? The lack of communication has unacceptable. Even the "milestone" updates have been a week or so past when the work was done. (IE, Windows installed)

Overall extremely disappointed in how Urbandale has handled it all. I have collogues that bought from other less reputable builders that even though they could not meet deadlines at least gave new ones.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
DS
DS
1 review Ottawa, ON
2/10

Warranty Dept is a nightmare

Warranty department is a nightmare to deal with. Significant delays even for stuff that could be a safety hazard , need repeat appointment to complete work as the technicians come unprepared and try to avoid repairs.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to provide honest feedback. We are sorry to hear about your frustrations, and encourage you to email our Warranty team at warranty@urbandale.com to discuss your outstanding concerns.

Thank you,
The Urbandale Team

Marius in Toronto
Marius in Toronto
0 reviews Ottawa, ON
6/10

Warranty department not good

We've had basic repairs for the past year they've been unable to do. Each time they scheduled a repair we've had to take a day off from work only for them to do five minutes of work or not show up at all, sometimes missing the pieces needed.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Marius, thank you for taking the time to provide honest feedback. We are sorry to hear about your frustrations and know that delays in the completion of your home are disappointing. Please do not hesitate to email our Warranty team at warranty@urbandale.com to discuss your outstanding concerns. Thank you, The Urbandale Team

Omega in Moncton
Omega in Moncton
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Amazing quality and modern home it’s a big townhome!

I had no knowledge in buying my first home but urbandale help me through out my first time and I enjoyed everything they offered from design and construction, only great things! I would recommend urbandale over all other builders from my experience from everyone who bought home at the same time enjoyed ours over there own thanks again urbandale!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello, thank you for trusting Urbandale to build your first home, and sharing your positive experience! Kind regards, The Urbandale Team

Corey in Smiths Falls
Corey in Smiths Falls
2 reviews Smiths Falls, ON
10/10

The Creek - well built home, very friendly helpful staff

Very happy with our experience in The Creek in Kemptville. Our home is built to R2000 standard and we can feel the difference from our last house. Sales staff were professional, knowledgeable, patient and quick to respond the whole time. Construction team on site did a good job building the home to high standard and have been friendly and helpful and got us in ahead of schedule. Some of the trades didn’t do as good a job as we would expect on close, but the follow up from the Urbandale team has been excellent and we have no doubt anything we flag will be taken care of quickly, so we couldn’t ask for much more. We have recommended Urbandale to friends & family.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Corey,
Thank you for sharing your positive experience with Urbandale! We truly value your feedback regarding the difference you feel in your Urbandale home built to the R-2000 Standard!
Kind regards,
The Urbandale Team

Jazzowner
Jazzowner
1 review Ottawa, ON
8/10

A rough start... but it did get better

Buying a home before a pandemic can never be an ideal situation, of course no one knows what kind of delays can happen with supplies and trades.

At the start, the experience was a bit rough and got more difficult as the pandemic dragged on, we felt communication was poor, and sometimes too short with a lack of clarity.

Eventually things did get better, much thanks to Cheryl and Kathleen (sales consultants), Dwayne (General Manager) and Mellissa (Sales and Marketing manager). When we got to a point of frustration they reached out and did their best to help make things better. That was certainly appreciated.

The home is beautifully designed overall with a lot of space and nice large windows, there are certain aspects that could be improved such a bigger kitchen and a more thought about approach on the placement of light switches, plugs and vents. The design and custom process could have been a little better, there was some miscommunication. I certainly know more now about the process having gone through it.

The important thing to remember is ask as many questions as you need to and always get clarity. Don't let the a design consultant rush you through decisions or miss some very important aspects.

Despite the rough parts, you won't be disappointed with the final product. It is a beautiful home. and despite the stress, It's reassuring that they have good staff that do their best to reach out and help when they can.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to share your honest feedback and experience with Urbandale. We pride ourselves on working diligently to overcome challenges, and are committed to having happy homeowners. Our team is pleased to hear you are happy in your beautiful Urbandale home!
Kind regards,
The Urbandale Team

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Hamilton, ON
0/10

Urbandale: AVOID

Do you like missed deadlines? Poor quality? Endless excuses? Terrible warranty service? If so, Urbandale will meet all of your expectations. For those of you who do not appreciate these traits, avoid Urbandale! After endless delays, I moved to the Jazz Condos into a dirty, semi-finished unit. Nearly a year later, I’m still begging for basic repairs, like painting, etc. In many instances when they actually show up to repair a deficiency, they leave it unfinished (often just as bad as it was before they touched it) and never return. The sales team is great and truly don’t belong with this company. They give the impression that this is a normal company and that’s misleading. Every other builder is worth trying before this one.

Some of the recent five star reviews are hard to believe as there are very few people who live here and we’ve all shared our horror stories. No one is that pleased.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your feedback. It is with regret that we are not able to delve deeper into the specifics of your comments/file, as it was done anonymously. We know there have been a few struggles with some homes, however, to the best of our knowledge, homeowners are quite happy with us. We also know that when an issue arises, our warranty department works hard to attend to issues as quickly as possible. We are proud to acknowledge our successes, as witnessed by those customers who have provided their positive feedback.

We encourage you to contact our warranty department with any questions you have - this is the same process that has delivered many delighted customers as a result. If something has been missed, we implore you to contact the warranty team, as we are truly committed to having happy homeowners.

Kind regards,
The Urbandale Team

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Urbandale Construction Limited

Urbandale Construction is a family-run business with over 40 years experience building high quality homes in Ottawa. Our experience, expertise and integrity shines in every aspect of the home building process. We utilize state-of-the-art building practices that are the result of thorough research. The industry awards and recognition we’ve received ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Builders pros in Ottawa?