Handyman Connection Calgary

Handyman Services
206A 2915 21 St NE Calgary AB T2E 7T1
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Handyman Services
Handyman Connection Calgary
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

86%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2019 winner 4 timesBest of 2019winner 4 times

Reviews for Handyman Connection Calgary

Average customer rating:
8.8 10 (91 reviews)

Sort by

Noor in Toronto
Noor in Toronto
0 reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Small wall dents around the house

Andrew came over the first time to inspect what needs to be done, the job wasn't huge, a few wall dents and small bathroom fixes, he was very friendly and helped fix all the dents in addition showed us how to do it for any future small dents.

I would recommend Andrew for any small or large jobs, very professional and friendly and would request him specifically for any future major or minor jobs in my home.

Many thanks for your support Andrew!

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
2/10

Various projects and quotes

We had an appointment with handyman connection set up for June 28th to give us quotes about various projects around our house. Two tradesman, Ross (general contractor) and Robert (plumber) showed up and took photos and measurements for the various quotes. While Ross was a pleasant individual, Robert felt the need to take time to show me awards and accolades he claimed to have received and it seemed like he was talking at me, not to me. A few days later we received quotes from projects Ross would be responsible for, but never received a quote from Robert. We booked an appointment for some of the work Ross had quoted, and Ross showed up, rehung racks in a closet, changed a dryer vent, adjusted the swing on a gate and changed the weather stripping on our backdoor. He was here for about 2 hours and we were charged about $800 (tax in) and we gave him a $40 tip. He indicated that Robert should have sent us quotes and he would inform the company that we didn't get quotes for Robert's projects. Within an hour of him leaving, part of the weather stripping he installed totally came off our back door. I called the company and they assured us that the work was guaranteed and we booked an appointment on July 17th for Ross to come at 9am on July 29th at 9 am, to fix the weatherstripping and do a few more projects. We took a day off of work, which is now wasted since Ross never showed up. We finally emailed the company and at 10:50, almost 2 hours into our wait for Ross, we were called by the company to say that he had DOUBLE BOOKED himself. The company apologized and offered to send him out the next day however we have limited days off. We feel abused by this situation, this has cost us a day off for no reason - a day we cannot get back. Had we not contacted the company for Ross's ETA, we would have been waiting all day. It is totally frustrating since we were pro-active all the way along, we even emailed the company once again on July 24th to confirm the appointment with Ross and the work he was supposed to do. The company confirmed the appointment. I don't think that the company is necessarily to blame, but they have to take responsibility when using independent contractors. We are highly disappointed since we have paid what we consider to be a lot of money for not a lot of work (the materials were $60, rest of the cost was labour), and the work we did get done was done poorly (the weather stripping).

Was this review helpful?
DSolberg
DSolberg
2 reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Installation of a privacy screen

Darrell built and installed a privacy panel for us that took less than 2 hours! It is beautiful and solid. We couldn’t be happier. Nice man, courteous, and stellar service!

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Screen door installation

The process from start to finish was clear and easy. Work was done professionally and the contractor was a pleasure to deal with. I would use this service for other projects.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the awesome review! We work hard to meet expectations like yours, and we’re happy to hear we hit the mark for you. We hope to work with you again soon. Cheers!

Jennifer M.
Jennifer M.
3 reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

No hard sell

The framing and cladding around my front door was damaged when I moved large furniture into the house. I had Handyman Connection come out to fix my door frame ahead of having a Phantom screen installed (by a different company). Martin took one look at the frame and let me know I didn't need to fix anything and, furthermore, didn't need to be concerned about the integrity of the frame either (I have an older house).
Wow, it was nice to get genuinely helpful advice without the pressure to purchase (what would be unneeded) work!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

So glad to have been able to help you out Jennifer! Martyn is a stand up guy and we are fortunate to work with him. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience!

Helen in Calgary
Helen in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Locating a leak

We had a hard-to-fink leak going on from our bathroom onto our kitchen ceiling. After cutting a hole in the ceiling and still having no luck, we had Robert from Handyman Connections come by. He was professional, thorough and cleaned as he worked, which I really appreciate. He found the leak and advised us on next steps without any upselling etc. All around great experience.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Helen for sharing your experience!

annefost in Calgary
annefost in Calgary
2 reviews Calgary, AB
4/10

Simple Job - was Overcharged!!!

Three small jobs - 2 took less than 10 minutes to complete. The last one was cleaning out my gutters, which are all on one level. He didn't have his ladder with him (what?) anyway, he had to go home to get it. The entire job, including his travel time to go get his ladder, which I should not be charged for, took about an hour. I timed him so I know exactly when he got here, how long it took him to go get his ladder and when he left. I was charged (including WCB (why am I paying for that?), and GST of $248.06. Way too much for what he did although the job was done satisfactorily. I feel I was overcharged by about 35% and the total should not have been more than $150. Cleaning out gutters does not involve any special talent or skills so I fail to see where this job was worth what I paid.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We’re sorry that your experience with Handyman Connection did not meet your expectations. Our process is to provide our homeowners with a written labour evaluation for approval prior to any work commencing. If that process was not followed I do apologize. We would like to speak with you to better understand your experience and resolve any outstanding issues. Please call us at 403-735-3257 or email me directly at christina@handymanconnection.com to discuss.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Calgary, AB
0/10

Over Priced for a Simple Job

I am feeling robbed, taken advantage of, and I am having serious buyers remorse after my experience with HandyMan Connection.

I was significantly over charged for a plumbing job. I was charged $420 labour to install a new kitchen faucet. I pre-purchased all the materials myself. Yes, I take accountability in that I agreed to the initial quote and had the right to say no and shop around. But, I trusted Handyman Connection and I needed the job done immediately. The contractor was smooth and even stated he was giving me a $50 discount. He called his “office” and said he was charging me the standard amount. At the moment, I was led to believe that was a fair price.

He was in my home for less than an hour.

I did not feel good about the price after he left. I decided to call various plumbers with BBB A+ ratings and in business for more than 10 years for quotes. I did not get a quote above $200. Between seven companies I got quotes between $130 and $180. I am feeling robbed of $250!

It took 3 weeks for a manager to return my many calls. After speaking with HandyMan Connection, they claim the contractor is efficient and charges for the job not for the hour. Other contractors may not have been able to complete the job in less than an hour. I am not buying this excuse. I do not believe the contractor that came to my home is the only expert plumber in the city capable of an easy installation of a kitchen faucet in under an hour. Handyman Connection charged me for the equivalent of almost 3 hours work for a job that took 30 minutes.

This is the second time I encountered a problem with a contractor from Handyman Connection. The first time I had a contractor who hit on my mother during the job and made her uncomfortable in our home. I had to request a new handyman mid-job and then renegotiate a price as the original contractor’s price was not honoured. My mother and I also had to deal with weeks of repeated phone call to our home from the original contractor.

Sadly, I will not be using HandyMan Connection again nor would I recommend them. I do not trust the contractors they work with. I understand nothing can be done to resolve my concerns but I would like it noted how upsetting it was to deal with Handyman Connection.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Jesica, I am sorry that we were unable to meet your needs. I felt we had come to a resolution during our conversation on Aug 7 when you accepted our credit towards future work, however it appears that this is no longer the case. Should you wish you to discuss this further, you may reach me directly at 403-318-1462.

carol j in Calgary
carol j in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Build New Doorsteps

David did a terrific job building a new landing and step at our back door. He was efficient and meticulous, and we are very pleased with the result. Thank you, David, and Handyman Connection!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

So great to hear! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, we will be sure to share your kind words with David!

Grace in Calgary
Grace in Calgary
2 reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Interior House Painting

We had the interior of our house painted by Bryan and he did a wonderful job. He did a beautiful job and was very clean, efficient and very easy to work with. Our house looks totally refreshed, we are very happy with the service we received.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank for taking the time to share your experience Grace! We appreciate your repeat business with us!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Handyman Connection Calgary

For every Home Maintenance need that may arise, Handyman Connection of Calgary is committed to providing you with dependable and skilled Handymen, great customer service, and first class workmanship. Just one call or click brings our expertise right to your door. Handyman Connection of Calgary can help turn your "to-do" list into "done."

Home repairs, renovations and remodeling are what we get excited about. Handyman Connection Calgary is your single solution for that list of home maintenance and home improvement that seems to grow longer every day. Whether you need something installed, built, fixed or maintained, we are your reliable and trusted partner for all your home repair, renovating and remodeling needs. Your home needs expertise and we have the experts at Handyman Connection of Calgary.

CATEGORIES
Handyman Services and General Contractors
SPECIALITIES
Small to medium home repairs and renovations • Carpentry services • Tile & flooring* • Drywall install, patch or replace • Deck repair & building • Fence repair & building • General home maintenance • Painting and wall treatments • Home shelving & Storage • Plumbing services* • Electrical services* • Bathroom remodeling • Basement remodeling • Kitchen remodeling *subcontracted to licensed trades
WEBSITE
http://calgary.handymanconnection.com/
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1997
PAYMENT METHOD
Cheque, Visa, Mastercard, American Express
MEMBERSHIPS
Accredited company with Better Business Bureau
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.