Is this your business? Receive leads and respond to reviews. Claiming is easy and free. Claim this business

Sears Canada Inc

Appliance Retailers
Upper Canada Mall Newmarket ON
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

0%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Sears Canada Inc

Average customer rating:
0.6 10 (163 reviews)

Sort by

Kathy P in
Kathy P in
1 review Calgary, AB
0/10

Customer service on major purchase warranty repairs

We have been loyal Sears customers for many years until recently. In 2012 we purchased an apartment style air conditioning unit and in August 2016 we began having issues and called Sears to have a technician come out as the unit is under warranty until 2021. We were told that a local subcontractor would call within 3 business days to schedule a service call. We never heard from anyone until January when Sears followed up to say that it was too cold to do service work and we would have to wait until May 1st to schedule a service call. Yes I agree January in Alberta is cold - August is not. We asked to simply book the call and were told that was not possible. May 1st we called again to schedule an appointment and now we are told that we cannot even schedule an appointment until May 15th and we would have to call back yet again. It has now been 9 months since we have had an operating air conditioner and at the rate we are going we will miss the summer of 2017! We are extremely dissatisfied with the customer service and will not make any further major purchases from Sears Canada as we have lost confidence and cannot rely on their warranty claims.

Approximate cost of services:
$3,000.00
Was this review helpful?
talonmike in Laval
talonmike in Laval
1 review Laval, QC
0/10

No service at all

I bought a range on Apr 4. I set the delivery date by mistake on apr 21 instead of apr 10. I phone 2 minutes after the order to change the date. They told me no problems. On apr 9, I received an automated call. I never received my range. 3 weeks later, after many emails an call, nobody was able to change this delivery date! I did around 10 calls and 4 emails. I ask to talk to a manager, with no success. Still waiting for my range. I will never buy again at sears.ca. This is why Sears is about to close their doors.

Approximate cost of services:
$900.00
Was this review helpful?
Aces in Calgary
Aces in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
0/10

Bathroom Rug

I had ordered a rug online that was in stock. Sears told me it is backordered and they do not know when it will be in stock. No possible way to find out. Told a manager will contact me in 24-72 hours but a week later and no one has contacted me. I ask directly for the managers information, nope that is not possible. A whole lot of run around if you ask me for such a simple task. Says a lot about the company. They do not care about their customers.

Approximate cost of services:
$50.00
Was this review helpful?
William Clarke in Victoria
William Clarke in Victoria
1 review Victoria, NL
0/10

Double Kenmore oven

Oven 2 years old. Bought extended warranty. Oven doors steams up when broiling. Called Sears and they sent repairman. He called sears Technician in Montreal and was told wasn't covered because it was cosmetic. Heads up when buying this product.

Approximate cost of services:
$4,000.00
Was this review helpful?
rainie jin in Toronto
rainie jin in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

TERRIBLE Service

I purchased a stove and fridge on Feb 25, 2017 because the price on their flyer is very good. but the final price is different, i had to call in 7 time to modify the price, rough estimate that will be at lease 30 hours on the phone because on representative know how to fix the problem. STRESSFUL dealing with sears customer services no one is trained properly. And a delivery is TERRIBLE. I was told my stove and fridge will be delivery on Mar 10, 2017 but on Mar 9 2017 i received a call saying it will be delayed on Mar 15, 2017. I just do not get it why giving me notice 1 day before not few days before. if i know about the delay i would canceled the order and buy them in other place. I had no stove to use for 3 weeks. To avoid same issue happening you have no idea how many times i have called in to confirm the delivery date. i had multiple confirmation on the delivery. BUT, i just received a phone call on Mar 15, 2017 the order can not be delivered. CAN YOU BELIEVE IT, on delivery day i received a call saying it can not be delivered. IF YOU CONSIDER buy anything at SEARS, do not even bother. DO NOT WORTH THE TIME.

Approximate cost of services:
$2,700.00
What could this company do to improve their services?
Any advice to offer fellow homeowners facing a similar project?
Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Brossard, QC
0/10

will never again purchase via Sears.ca

I ordered 3 pairs of pants. The package I picked up at Sears store contained only 1 pair. .......The amount Sears charges on my credit card is different from my order/confirmation, neither for 3 pairs nor 1 pair..... My emails regarding the discrepancy got no reply

Approximate cost of services:
$50.00
Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews London, ON
0/10

Refund.....after paying cash....and length of time for custom order

OMG...dont pay cash for anything it takes for ever to get it back...
Had purchased an item is August, delivery damaged it.
Had to reselect and waited almost 5-6 months for the order so we cancelled it...
Once it was cancelled we had to wait for a check to be mailed as we paid cash, and could not get a straight answer when we would receive it....
Service from store manager changed completely once we requested a refund.....we will never shop there again.......

Approximate cost of services:
$4,400.00
Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Barrie, ON
0/10

If this had been a smaller company, I would have called the police

I ordered a laundry pair from the website on Dec. 23, and selected Jan.5th (the first available date) for pick-up. No confirmation was sent to me, so I emailed on the 3rd (webiste says 72 hour email response- it is now the 19th and still no response to that or another email I sent). I called on the 4th to ensure items would be ready (I had a truck booked), and I was told now it would be the 11th. Again, I called on the 10th and was told they really had no idea when the items would be available. When I asked about my two emails and their 72 hour response policy, the agent admitted there was a backlog of over 20,000 unanswered emails. Shocking for such a large, long-existing company the used to specialize in catalog and phone orders. I could never recommend such a company to others, this has been absolute shenanigans.

Approximate cost of services:
$2,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Saint Catharines, ON
0/10

Return of online item and refund

I bought 2 pairs of winter boots online weeks ago. I was delighted that they came right away. One pair didn't fit so I returned them to the store. It is now over 6 weeks and there is no refund on my card. In fact, charges for the items only appeared 3 weeks after I received the items. And notice of their being shipped came about the same time - 3 weeks after I had already got the boots. It is bewildering that there is no immediate decision about the return and refund made, as is the practice of other stores. It was the first and last time I will use the store.

Approximate cost of services:
$60.00
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Andrew in Toronto
Andrew in Toronto
3 reviews Mississauga, ON
0/10

Black Friday Online Order Never Fulfilled

November 25, 2016 - Sears had an elliptical on sale, the Freestrider FS9i on their website, discounted to 549.99. I ordered this item and received a confirmation number "E0162985", however I never received a confirmation email for my order. The next day, Nov 26, 2016 I called sears, and after dozens and dozens of attempts to get past the busy tone I spoke to an agent who informed me no order exists.

After speaking to the agent on the phone I posted on Sears Canada Facebook page to try and get someone else to help find my order, I was contacted by Sears and told to email their social team (social ). No response after doing so until November 28, 2016 when "Erin", a social team member, told me she was unable to find my order in all of their systems.

I responded on November 29, 2016 inquiring how it was possible I had a order number without a trace of an order and was offered no resolution other than "I do not know what to tell you, It is not in our system.

November 30, 2016 - Complaint opened with BBB. Sears initially responds telling me the item is on back-order and they are waiting for the supplier to ship them so they can fulfill orders for the item.

Jan 02, 2016 - No further information received from Sears at this point as to when I might expect this order. I have tried to call Sears customer service on multiple occasions and get contradictory information each time I call. The first time I was told the item is no longer in their warehouse and that my order would not be able to be fulfilled. The second time I called I was instructed that the item is in their warehouse but the delivery team just did not have it yet.

Customer service also told me they would email/call me back with an update before Christmas and as of writing this, I have still not received a call or email from Sears.

In the end, Sears closed the complaint saying that the elliptical is no longer available from the manufacturer. Extremely suspect business practices of selling items on their website in which they clearly never had stock for.

Approximate cost of services:
$621.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

Is this your business?

Receive leads and respond to reviews.
Claiming is easy and free.

Claim this business
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Appliance Retailers pros in Newmarket?