Provincial Moving & Storage Ltd

Moving & Storage
9908 65 Avenue NW Edmonton AB T6E 0K9
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Moving & Storage
Provincial Moving & Storage Ltd
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

87%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars

Reviews for Provincial Moving & Storage Ltd

Average customer rating:
9.5 10 (17 reviews)

Sort by

Zeinab in Edmonton
Zeinab in Edmonton
0 reviews Edmonton, AB
2/10

Moving from Edmonton to Ottawa

I do not recommend this moving company because of the following reasons:
1) Their first estimate is totally misleading:
After calling to several moving companies the Provincial Moving company gave me the lowest rate. They told me that for a one bedroom from Edmonton to Ottawa it is about $2100 and if we need packing, it would be flat $500. We called and gave them the details of our belongings, they increased the initial estimate and gave us electronically, it was about $3000 without packing! Gary was the guy we talked with. He told on the phone that the real cost would be the same as the estimate and the only line might change is the weight, which is 70 cents for each pound! After loading, they sent us immediately a bill more than $5000 and all of the lines were changed and they told us that this is what it is!! They deliberately give you a lower estimate but the final bill is much more than that. BE CAREFUL!

2) Not optimized packing!
We asked them just to pack our fragile dishes. They took 2 super big cartons and one of them got full! The other carton was about ¼ full and they asked for something else. They filled the rest of the carton with plastic and very light and non-fragile stuff. BUT they charged us for two big cartons! Instead of those big cartons, they could use one small and one big! These are extra charges for nothing ….

3) They lost one box:
The worst thing in moving is that you stuff is missing or damaged. Their inventory was wrong. They did not put any tag on one box when packing and they did not find another box on the day of delivery. They told that this box with no tag is the missing box! They told that you have all the boxes!! However, after unpacking the boxes, I figured out one box is missing. And after lots of follow ups, eventually, they found our box!
4) They do not reply your request emails and no sorry for their damaged or missing items:
It was very hard to follow up with them to find our missing box. When we called them, they told: “email us”. But no one was replying to the email. We had to call them again, please read our email! We had to call them several times, and they did not feel responsible or sorry for the missing box. They never apologized for that!
5) They do not care about damaged stuff:
Some of our items were damaged and I sent them their picture. They never replied us ….

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

This customer seems to have misunderstood many of the things communicated. When they first called or emailed, the rate of $2100 was given in regards to the average one bedroom apartment to Ottawa. This included no tax, no packing, etc, but this figure should not even be brought up because in his own words they state after giving us a list the price became $3000 + Packing + 13% HST.

So why bring up that figure, it is not relevant to your review at all, and the fact that the $2100 figure is brought up is actually misleading. The Customer also forgot to mention that they required a month of storage as well, which added additional costs.

The customer seemed to misunderstand that adding items increases the fuel surcharge as well not just the 0.60 - 0.70 you pay per pound more. Some charges stay the same such as scaling and pickup, but others such as the fuel also increase as you add items you wish to ship. And based on the customers writing you can conclude that they were already asking/preparing to add items. The customer also went to go see the truck being scaled both times but he is not going to bring that up because that makes us transparent which would make us look good. And with any customer I try to be as transparent as possible.

The Customer also says we didn’t respond to his emails. I responded to his emails the next day. I told the driver to get a hold of him. I am not the driver, but there are other shipments on the truck that need to be delivered. I can’t say for certain that the driver was as prompt as I was. I was told by the driver the next time he was close to the Ottawa area he would make arrangements to deliver the box and he did.

The customer says we damaged items, I don’t have a copy of the customer’s inventories, and our head office in Vancouver has them. They can contact them to file a claim. But I have seen the pictures of the damage. The damage described by the client is most likely not from moving but from everyday use. But they can still contact our head office and make a claim.

I will end my response by this; we never mislead this customer or any customer in our 30 years of business. This customer was given an initial quote and then another where they saw what charges stay the same and which fluctuate, before they went ahead with us. The claim that they were misled is completely fabricated. Had the customer been upfront with what they were actually moving, and what services they needed this whole ordeal could have been avoided.

One side was transparent, the other was not. One side has moved thousands of individuals over the years, and one has moved maybe a few times.

Mark in Edmonton
Mark in Edmonton
1 review Edmonton, AB
10/10

November Move in Edmonton

Wow - these guys were amazing. I had a very difficult move - I was out of the country, they had to store it for 2 weeks! Nothing was damaged, very good moving into the house - very careful around walls and doorways.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Glad to hear everything went well

Pamela
Pamela
1 review Edmonton, AB
10/10

Moving company

I was very happy with Andy’s professionalism. he was always quick at answering his emails and getting us the information that we needed. once we had a firm price we booked the move and his staff was very prompt ready to go helpful. they were organized and officiant and seem to really enjoy working for provincial . I would highly recommend this company to anyone who wants to move or needs to move I was very happy

Was this review helpful?
Shawn B in Edmonton
Shawn B in Edmonton
1 review Edmonton, AB
10/10

Prompt, friendly and professional moving service

We used AAA Provincial Moving & Storage to relocate locally within the Edmonton region more specifically from Sherwood Park to Spruce Grove and I have to say it was very much the right choice!

As this is the third time we've moved and having had to deal with some difficult moving company's in the past, this time we decided to do our homework and conducted a fair amount of research beforehand (i.e. Better Business Bureau, HomeStars, Google Reviews).

I have to say from the initial estimate over the phone to the final delivery in our new home the entire team delivered excellent service. Andy one of the sales consultants was very approachable when asked specific questions regarding certain items (i.e. treadmill, piano, etc). Not to mention they also delivered some extra moving boxes the day before the move as my car was in the repair shop.

On the day of the move our moving crew was prompt, friendly and worked steadily throughout the day all while taking minimal breaks from loading to unloading our precious belongings and were very professional.

I would highly recommend using AAA Provincial Moving & Storage and will surely not hesitate to using them in the future!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Good Service, Friendly & Punctual

I was very anxious about having to move, including which company I should chose. The Provincial Moving team arrived on time and were quite personable. It wasn't long before their skills and experience were evident and I was able to leave everything in their capable hands. I made the right choice.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review! We are glad to have met your expectations. Please recommend our services to your friends and family.

Basi in
Basi in
1 review Edmonton, AB
10/10

Service

We were most impressed by the punctuality of Provincial Moving i.e. our stuff was picked up from out Moose Jaw home and delivered to our Edmonton home right on time. No item was damaged.
Both, the driver and his helper, were noticeably courteous.
A satisfied customer. Santokh.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks! we are glad you had a positive experience with us, we appreciate your business and hope to cater to your future needs as well.
Manmeet

Nav in
Nav in
1 review Edmonton, AB
10/10

Professional and Friendly Moving Company

I hired Provincial Moving when we moved from Calgary to Vancouver. It was an excellent experience. The staff was extremely professional, courteous and helpful.

Many of our items are very precious to us so I was very pleased with the special care they took when moving our belongings to ensure there was no damage to our items or our home.

I found the pricing to be very competitive and well worth the cost considering the excellent service they provided.

I will definitely use them again for any future moves and can wholeheartedly recommend them to my friends as well.

In particular, a big thank you to Daniel who led the moving crew who was very professional, helpful and friendly.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks, for writing us such a great review, I'll be sure to pass on your comments to Daniel and crew.
Manmeet

Raman in
Raman in
1 review Edmonton, AB
10/10

Very skilled and great moving company!

Very skilled and great moving company!
We moved from our old house into a brand new house within the city of Edmonton. The crew arrived on time; they spread out clean mats throughout the property to ensure they didn't get anything dirty, were polite and pleasant, and didn't damage anything. The load up went smoothly. Although we had thought we would move a lot of smaller things ourselves, in the end we got the crew to take everything.
They worked extremely hard and did a wonderful job unloading into the house, again making sure not to damage floors or walls. They even gave us some tips to make sure we didn't do damage ourselves.
Highly recommend this company.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks, for taking the time out to write such a great review! Thank you again for choosing us, we certainly appreciate your business.
Manmeet

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Edmonton, AB
10/10

Great Canadian Van Lines

From our very first contact with the company, we were pleased with the courtesy and attention we received.
The move itself was great and our driver Steve was professional and careful of our belongings. He proved his driving skill when backing into our driveway and avoiding overbranching trees.
At this end, the men were quick and placed our boxes in the various rooms in record time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Janet, We will pass your comments to Steve and his crew and Ingram.Thank you for relocating with Provincial moving Agent for Great canadian Van lines. We hope you are enjoying your new home in Victoria.

Mia iin Belleville
Mia iin Belleville
4 reviews Belleville, ON
10/10

Highly recommend Provincial Moving and Storage!

An excellent experience! Provincial Moving and Storage delivered all of our household goods to Belleville, Ontario from B.C. It was a huge move; 14000 pounds of goods, and much of it precious to us ( antiques, Persian rugs, art work, glassware). We found the crew from Provincial Moving and Storage, who delivered our goods to our home in Belleville Ontario, professional, efficient, and friendly ( a big appreciative thank you to our driver Steve, Donny Bernard, and Nagraj). These guys worked quickly, but with care, and we're very respectful of our items. They brought every item to where we wanted it placed, and even took the time to reuse plastic to cover items like my husband's table saw that had to be left out on the deck. Gary, from the office in Edmonton, was quick to respond to questions and concerns, and very reassuring in every way. What could have been a very stressful experience, an experience that I had been dreading, was instead, just fine indeed. We strongly recommend Provincial Moving and Storage. You can rest easy with these guys.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Donna, Thank you very much for your kind words. Its great to hear that you had such a positive experience with our team. We thank you for relying on us!
Manmeet!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Provincial Moving & Storage Ltd

At Provincial Moving and Storage Ltd, we value our clientele by giving quality service and care to their most valued possessions at an affordable price.

CATEGORIES
Moving & Storage
PRODUCTS
We offer all kinds of packing supplies to help your move go smoothly and that too at a discounted price when you plan your move with us.
SERVICES
Need Storage? We're here to help! At Provincial Moving and Storage Ltd, we have great deals and space for you if you ever need to store your valuables. We also offer professional packing and unpacking for your stuff.
SPECIALITIES
At Provincial Moving and Storage Ltd. we specialize in local and long distance moving, professional packing and unpacking services and great storage facilities.
WEBSITE
http://www.provincialmoving.com
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1989
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
15
PAYMENT METHOD
Any
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.