Maria Tomas

Furniture
1015 11 Street SW Calgary AB T2R 1G2
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
Learn more about how StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company's review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency.

59%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Indicates how well a pro reacts to reviews and review-related interactions with Homeowners.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Maria Tomas

Average customer rating:
7.5 10 (4 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Calgary, AB
0/10

Lack of Integrity when confronted with poor service

For the record, I have purchased more than $7k worth of patio furniture from MT in 2017 and earlier in 2021 returned to purchase more patio furniture and accessories to the tune of another $7k ish. I say this so the review is seen in the light of a returning customer who has had a prior good experience.

In summary,
a) we ordered fairly large patio sectional and asked for cushions and fabric to be resistant to rain and the elements similar to patio cushions we have in the front of the home. We were provided with cushions that retain rain water for a week or more with the water pooling in the bottom of the cushions. A complaint to MT was met with feedback that we were specifically offered the option of quick dry foam but we turned it down due to 'added cost'. This was a patent untruth but given its a 'he said, she said', let me offer the reader some countervailing facts a) we are talking about patio furniture for a new $200k patio with $50k of appliances b) we separately ordered custom cushions for a built in custom banquette on the patio and obtained quick dry foam and c) MT agrees we referenced our interest in mimicking the weather resistance of our front patio cushions and their quick dry nature but thinks somehow we overrode that in the specification. They are ignoring facts and creating their own truth. We have not sought redress or compensation, we merely pointed out this was not what we asked for and their response was we were provided the option and declined.

b) we ordered protective covers for the sectional and the cover we were provided is about twice the size, hangs poorly, fits poorly and looks poorly, We were told that there was not a good fitting cover by the sectional manufacturer given the mix and match nature of the sectional but never told that what was available would be a poor fit. We have now learned that the sectional manufacturer does make custom covers, we were never told about that and upon recent enquiry were told that MT decided we were unlikely to want to wait on custom covers, so never told us ..so instead presuming we would settle for poorly fitting and looking covers.

c) the sectional was ordered in February 2021, delivered as promised but MT neglected to order the clamps which then arrived some 6-8 weeks later. (the clamps hold three sectional pieces together). A emailed question on status went unanswered and while I have the copy of the email, MT now says they know of no such email. Ignoring facts again.

Very disappointed with the quality of service but even more disappointed with their lack of professional integrity when confronted with the situation. A mark of a good organization is how it handles problems, dont expect MT to rise to a problem situation.

We have now hired a custom cushion maker in Calgary to re-make cushions and weather proof covers for us, so incurring additional costs.

The CEO was contacted but has chosen to stay silent.

Approximate cost of services:
$7,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Sir, in fact, you were dealing directly with an Equal Owner of the the company. She is more than adept at dealing with any issues that arise. You are correct in your assessment that this has become a "He Said/She Said" situation...Our perceptions differ on this situation. You and your spouse were provided with professional advice, the upgradeable options and possible alternatives, before you made and confirmed your purchase(s). We have always done our best to satisfactorily resolve any issues with in reason. With-in our 20 years of operations, our exemplary and positive reputation and reviews stand heads above any dissatisfactions. It is unfortunate we are unable to meet your expectations. Regards. J. Riley, Co-Owner of Maria Tomas Corp.

Cowtown homeowner
Cowtown homeowner
15 reviews Calgary, AB

First Review

10/10

Farrow and Ball paint

I wanted to buy Farrow and Ball paint for their specific colours and quality. The only store that carries this paint that I know of in Calgary is Maria Tomas. I received very good customer service from Barb and she helped me pick out the right colours for my project. They had to order the paint but it came quickly and I was notified immediately that it was in. The store has alot of other nice furniture and accessories and I will be going back when I need new furniture to have a better look. Overall great service and quality products

Approximate cost of services:
$200.00
Was this review helpful?
Mount Pleasant
Mount Pleasant
11 reviews CALGARY, AB
10/10

table

Hi, They sold me a table. They did not over sell me. They heard what I wanted a provided examples. Thank you for the great service.I like the location with good parking.

Approximate cost of services:
$200.00
Was this review helpful?
Gaitaine Watson in Calgary
Gaitaine Watson in Calgary
2 reviews CALGARY, AB

First Review

10/10

wallcovering

The selection of wallpaper was incredible. The price was more than at other stores but well worth the quality. The staff were so knowledgable and made recommendations based on solid design experience that made us feel the money was well spent. The contractor they recommended to hang the paper in our house was professional and completed the job on time. Watching him try to match the patterns on our walls made us glad we took the Maria Tomas' staff recommendation to hire the contractor.

Approximate cost of services:
$2,000.00
Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Maria Tomas

There is little you won’t find at Maria Tomas. Its Calgary’s destination for everything from Farrow and Ball paint, Sarah Richardson designed furniture, beautiful fabrics and custom design, lighting, wall paper, window coverings and lots and lots of accessories. They also have a designer on staff to help you pull ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Furniture pros in Calgary?