Maid For You Home Services

House & Apartment Cleaning
Toronto ON m4s 1z7
Write a Review
Write a Review

David from Toronto
David from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON

Home \cleaning

its a shame that the service deteriorated after about 12 months of good service. Revolving door of different people even though I requested the same cleaner. After a while I gave up and found an independent cleaner. I kindly notified Maid for You and got he most shocking and disappointing response in return...I'm not used to being threatened by companies who underperform. See below for my notice of termination and their response.......
Hi David,

Thank You for letting me know, just so your aware all staff that work for our company are prohibited from working privately with our current and former clients as per their contract with us and clients acknowledge with their signed authorization form that they understand a three thousand dollar fee applies if they hire one of our staff privately. These conditions are enforceable for up to a year after someone leaves our employ. Further when this happens we notify Revenue Canada, the Ontario Labour Board and WSIB so they may address the payment of HST, payroll taxes plus WSIB and ensure the employer is complying with Ontario Labour law and making all appropriate remittances on the employees behalf . I am not suggesting this is the case but clarifying the policy.
Thank You

Good morning Cynthia. Just to let you know that I’ve decided to end our working relationship. I have found an independent cleaner that will allow me to have the same person every time which you are aware is important to me.

Thanks very much for your teams service.

All the best.


Approximate cost of services:
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello David,
You were, I believe, a client for approximately six months before cancelling service for a period of time and when you called to restart service, several weeks later, you requested the same day and staff. That was not possible. You chose the same day with a different person even though you were offered the original staff member on a different day. You had only two staff in the time you were with us. One for one visit, the other for the duration.
Thank you for the opportunity to address a concern that costs legitimate companies, like Maid For You inc., several hundreds of thousands a dollars a year and more importantly jeopardizes the individuals these "clients" hire privately. Private arrangements mean the individual is not being paid statuary pay, vacation pay, employment insurance, canada pension plan, workers compensation and our contribution to the health tax plus other benefits accorded by a legitimate employer. Some clients will, in the efforts to save a few dollars hire staff privately. This practice, better know as the underground economy, not only deprives the individual the safeguards all working people should have as a given but by not paying the HST tax they refuse contribute to the institutions that the HST funds like health care, education etc. We seldom reply to comments on the site because our we don't see it as a legitimate venue but the opportunity to address this issue was too important to ignore. We value clients who share our values and in the seventeen years we have been in business we have been fortunate to have the opportunity to serve many of them.