Fence All

Fences & Gates
3160 Hawthorne Road Ottawa ON K1G 5H5
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
Learn more about how StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company's review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency.

70%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Indicates how well a pro reacts to reviews and review-related interactions with Homeowners.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Fence All

Average customer rating:
7.2 10 (14 reviews)

Sort by

PK
PK
0 reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Post Install Service

Called to advise about defect in install almost 3 years after initial install and to ask about getting a post cap lost in a storm. Within 2 weeks we had someone out to correct both issues. Post service is excellent which is not prevalent in this day and age. I would highly recommend this company for your fencing needs.

Approximate cost of services:
$0.00
Was this review helpful?
Uriel in Drummondville
Uriel in Drummondville
0 reviews Gatineau,
0/10

Stay away from this company!

Fence All never came down for measurements and estimate review. They sent the contractors straight to work. I missed 2 feet in my measurement so they charged me $800 extra. We agreed about putting in a gate but the contractors weren't aware about it. I had to pay the extra $800 for the gate. The lumber they use is very cheap quality. Mike was a terrible sales person. He was very rude on the phone and was unwilling to negotiate even though they made a mistake. I don't recommend this company. Stay away!!!!! I will never ever use their services again

Approximate cost of services:
$3,800.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Uriel,
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with Fence-All. You ordered your fence in April 2021, which is when the pandemic restrictions between Ottawa and Quebec were still in effect. Due to the provincial restrictions at that time: our sales rep was not able to cross the bridge to Gatineau to provide you with an estimate. You indicated that you were comfortable taking the measurements yourself, and he provided you with an estimate over email based on these measurements and your instructions on what you wanted installed. You indicated you were confident in these measurements, and did not request your sales rep to come measure the yard when the restrictions were lifted. You ordered 30' of fencing (as indicated on the contract you emailed your sales rep saying you'd like to proceed with in April). When we arrived for the installation it was realized that the actual footage was for 32', and you also wanted a double gate included in that 32'. There was no gate on your original order. The additional 2' of fence and the switch from fencing to a double gate had to be paid for, as it was not on the original contract that you went ahead with. When the problem came to light on the day of the installation you called our office and commented that you were surprised that not all fence orders came with gates. Many of our customers order fences without gates. Your sales rep had no recollection of you wanting to go ahead with a gate on the order, and your contract clearly indicated no gates.
You ordered Pressure Treated lumber, which is the most economic lumber grade we offer. We work very hard to warn our customers of the realities of #2 Grade Pressure Treated lumber, and why it is so much cheaper than the alternative Western Red Cedar that we offer. This is a direct quote from the "Wood Choice" page on our website describing pressure treated lumber: "Bark, eased edges, warping, cupping and cracking should all be expected. Further warping, cupping, twisting, and cracking after construction (possibly in as little as a day or two) is also to be expected with this type of wood. The main point to remember: #2 Grade is about economy over aesthetics." Our sales representatives warn our customers of the differences between Pressure Treated and Cedar, there are links to information on it in the series of 5 emails your sales rep sent you prior to the installation, there is lots of info on our site about it, we have several blogs on the topic , and we have videos about it on our Youtube channel. We are VERY honest about the realities for Pressure Treated lumber and do everything we can to educate our customers on what to expect of the product they purchased. It is our most economic lumber option, and is not as aesthetically pleasing as Cedar, but is a more affordable alternative. We are sorry you're unhappy with your experience with Fence-All, and if you would like to discuss this further please contact us at 613-736-1122 or service@fenceall.com. Thank you.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Stair Railings

Very professional sales people. My front door doesn't have hand rails..With aging parents - I needed them ASAP. I purchased two excellent quality hand rails as a walk-in customer, custom ordered the lenght and received within 3 days. Very Pleased

Approximate cost of services:
$200.00
Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Gatineau, QC
10/10

These guys are the best

I hired these guys last year to create a fenced in area in my yard for my dogs. First, I booked my consultation on-line and was very pleasantly surprised to see that they showed up at my house on-time and as planned. From that time on the service was great, any questions I had were answered within minutes of my e-mailing the company. The job ended up to be fairly difficult (I had lot of solid rock in my yard) but they ended up getting a piece of equipment to break through the rock (other companies just told me they could not do it) and did a phenomenal job. The guys even placed large rocks around the base of my fence where there were some gaps due to the un-level nature of my yard just to make sure my dogs would not be able to get out (this was over any above anything I asked). Not only would I strongly recommend them, I plan to expand my fence in the Spring and will be calling them to do the job.

Approximate cost of services:
$2,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Lisa in Ottawa
Lisa in Ottawa
3 reviews Ottawa, ON
8/10

New Fence Installation

I received 4 quotes for my new fence (2 sides) - new chainlink fence backing onto a park requiring a gate ; and wrought iron fence along my driveway with a gate also. Fence All was quick to respond and came fast to give me a quote and discuss the job. The quote was along the same lines as the other companies (way lower than one), and I liked Glenn's demeanor. I couldn't make up my mind for a while but Glenn met me at the Fence All office and showed me samples which was very helpful. I signed up and was told it would be about 6-8 weeks for installation. The fence was installed 2 weeks early which was great!
There was one issue where I needed some trees cut and a path made from the back fence into the park I back onto. Glenn said it would take them about 2 hours and charged me $300. When the men came to install they knew nothing about clearing trees or making a path. Luckily I had some branch cutters which they used for 15 minutes in order to get the new fence in. When I talked to Glenn about it, he apologized for the confusion and refunded me the $300 immediately.
The fence is lovely and I am very happy with their job. I would definitely recommend them.

Approximate cost of services:
$2,400.00
Was this review helpful?
Terry in Toronto
Terry in Toronto
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Fence Posts Repair

Very professional crew, answered all my questions, explained everything they were doing. Job done two weeks earlier than originally planned, with excellent communication along the way. I will definitely recommend to my neighbours, who are experiencing the same frost lift issues!

Approximate cost of services:
$650.00
Was this review helpful?
Tricia
Tricia
6 reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Gate and fence

Fence All came to replace our sagging wooden garden gate and the small fence that was attached to the house, which the gate was hung on. They replaced the old wood with wrought iron. Excellent product, excellent service. From quote to finished product, they were very quick, kept me updated on the project, answered all my questions promptly and when the installers showed up on the scheduled day, they were on time, very efficient and very courteous. My experience was 100% positive and I would use them again for any fencing or deck project in the future.

Approximate cost of services:
$1,000.00
What could this company do to improve their services?
Any advice to offer fellow homeowners facing a similar project?
Was this review helpful?
Redrock
Redrock
1 review Rockland, ON
2/10

Deck

Contracted with Fenceall for a 10x16 composite deck with vinyl railing and some stairs.
They used brads to secure the decking to the deck frame. I was told after I complained that there was extra cost if I wanted screws. Unfortunately I was not told this BEFORE the installation. I would have paid for screws, which should be standard anyway. Who fastens deck boards with brads?

The railing is only fastened to the deck boards. When I told the installer that I thought it should have blocking to provide support from the deck frame, he told me it wasn't necessary. I disagreed. When he came to my door after finishing the installation he told me that he had in fact blocked the railing. When I saw what he did, I was bemused. He used small blocks of wood like a washer to screw into. The blocks of wood are not attached to anything. They are less than useless. When I complained about the 'blocking', I was told that the railing was covered by the warranty and that if there is a problem they would take care of it. Of course, it the rail gives way and someone breaks their neck, the warranty won't help. Also, the warranty is only for a year.

The posts that support the deck are fastened to the beam with NAILS. This should have been carriage bolts.

The deck is screwed into the house rim joist OVER the existing sheathing. No measures have been taken to mitigate water damage to the house.

Fence-All got the contract and my money by offering a "no tax if paid in full in advance" offer. This was worth over $1000. I stupidly took the deal. They then proceeded to install the quickest and cheapest deck they could get away with.

I would not use them for any work!

Approximate cost of services:
$9,000.00
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

The internet is full of opinions regarding decks screws or nails and, after installing decks for almost all of our 40 years in business, we have never had a single occasion of failure from either.
SO rather than argue with homeowners, who may have a strong opinion either way, WE OFFER BOTH. Obviously it's very difficult to change after construction - especially when compared to a stroke of the pen beforehand.

WE HAVE MADE A CHANGE, particularly after we completed this project, and we've added an indication of _Nails or _Screws VERY CLEARLY on our order form, to avoid this type of possibility for disappointing customers either way.

As for the railing, at least one of the fasteners would be going in to the rim joist and BOTH a composite deck and a vinyl railing would be covered with a lifetime warranty (not just 1 year...unless there's something I'm missing or something's missing in the note above).
In our almost 30 years of installing vinyl fences, decks & railings; I can't remember a single incident of any railing giving away.

I truly am sorry we weren't able to capture all of your expectations before construction...and hope that you do recognize that this is exactly what we are trying to avoid with all of the photo's, sketches, product information, schematics, do-it-yourself instructions, etc. that we make available on our website.

dan. marunda from Nepean
dan. marunda from Nepean
2 reviews Nepean, ON
8/10

pvc fence

They Are very good in what they do. The sales people are excellent in explaining what they offer ; and the installers deliver exact service the sales people promised a home owner.

Approximate cost of services:
$4,800.00
Was this review helpful?
Sarah Biggs from Ottawa
Sarah Biggs from Ottawa
12 reviews , ON
7/10

Backyard Fence

Living in a townhouse there isn't much of a backyard and you are starring directly into your nieghbours kitchen. So we but up a fence to help us with some privacy. Fence all was not the cheapest quote but there were very professional and helpful as they knew the area that we were in.

Approximate cost of services:
$5,000.00
Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Fence All

Since 1976, Ottawa's answer for Fences, Decks, Railings and Gates. Buy direct from the Manufacturer. Installed or Materials Only.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Fences & Gates pros in Ottawa?