Woodchuck Flooring

Railings
Toronto ON M1S 3B1
Write a Review
Write a Review

HomeStars
Railings
Woodchuck Flooring
Star Score
Learn more about how StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company's review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency.

91%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Indicates how well a pro reacts to reviews and review-related interactions with Homeowners.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Woodchuck Flooring

Average customer rating:
9.5 10 (115 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Family room nightmare

I brought a sample of my current hardwood flooring to the showroom. The sales representative helped me match it. What I received wasn’t even similar! I was told I received exactly what I ordered. NOT! No REFUNDS or EXCHANGES. The sales representative said that once installed it would look fine. What happened to customer service? What a waste of $2000!

Approximate cost of services:
$2,000.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

It is unfortunate that you are unhappy with the floor you selected. We are very forthcoming with regard to our return policies, and aim to set realistic expectations for clients who are trying to achieve a colour match (often very challenging).
You brought a single board from your previous flooring purchase from years ago in order to make your selection. We recommended more than once that you take home samples to see them in your lighting, and right up next to the existing floors you wanted to match. You declined to do so.
When you made your selection and purchased Wheat Nuance, we explained our return policy. However, you later changed your mind and wanted the ProSeries Santa Fe instead. We are very accommodating where possible, and were able to change your initial order per your request to the ProSeries Santa Fe. Timing was on our side as the order had not yet been produced by the manufacturer. We also issued a credit for the difference in price despite our return/exchange policy.
To date we have not seen a sample of the floor you purchased. The boxes we shipped you identified the product as ProSeries Santa Fe, which is what you purchased. If you believe you have received something else in error, please reach out to us.

g in Toronto
g in Toronto
5 reviews Toronto, ON
2/10

Subcontractor Unprofessional Installation

Worked for our contractor Elite Construction during basement renovation. Went with Torlys as floor brand as we wanted a premium look. Woodchuck delivered an unlevel poorly finished vinyl plank installation. Gaps at the sides of walls. They took the approach that things were close enough. One should not have to try to conceal poor installation with quarter round on a new floor. DIY would have been more professional. After complaints they pulled it up and laid the planks a second time. Still not level. No underlay used to stop flexing. Still gaps around doors. Would not recommend

Approximate cost of services:
$5,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We are sorry to hear that you are unhappy with your basement floor.

We were contracted by Elite Construction to install a Torlys vinyl floor in your basement. Our written agreement with them expressly indicated that preparation of the subfloor and leveling of the concrete was not within the scope of our work.

After we finished the installation we were contacted about unlevel or hollow areas in the floor. At that time we explained to your contractor that this was due to the concrete subfloor not having been adequately prepared. We were instructed by Elite Construction to remove the floor so they could correct the uneven concrete and then we would reinstall the floor. This was a separate contract with Elite and was chargeable. To this they agreed.

Upon returning to reinstall the floor we found that very little work had been done to correct the subfloor deficiencies. We contacted Elite and were instructed by him to continue and that he would take responsibility.

The work we were hired to do was completed according to the arrangements made by your contractor. We have made numerous attempts to make contact with them and discuss further, but have not been able to reach them.

With regard to your comment that we installed quarter round in order to conceal unnecessary gaps, I have included the follow directly from the Torlys installation guidelines for your floor:

"A minimum of 1/8” (3.2mm) expansion wedges must be used at all walls and vertical obstructions, to allow for proper expansion/contraction space. The wedges should be removed after the flooring installation has been completed, and the expansion/contraction space should be covered by baseboard, quarter round, and/or drywall (if wall is undercut)."

As you can see, expansion/contraction space is required, and so quarter round or other trim is used to conceal that space around the perimeter of the room.

We take customer satisfaction very seriously and are disappointed that things have turned out this way. Should your contractor who hired us wish to re-visit this project, we would be happy to discuss that with them.

william m.
william m.
1 review Pickering, ON
10/10

Engineered hardwood bought and installed through Woodchuck.

The product was excellent and the price better than expected. The company had quality people evaluating the project, suggesting ways to improve the finished product and the installation, while a bit longer than anticipated, was carefully done with a commitment to exactness. We would use them again.

Approximate cost of services:
$15,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you are so pleased with the final result!

JD
JD
4 reviews Pickering, ON
10/10

New hardwood floors and stairs in 2 levels of the house.

From the first dealings with Woodchuck we were impressed with sales staff helping educate us about the products, so we could make decisions for our home. Mike did a great job explaining options when he visited to prepare our quote. We were extremely pleased with the flooring and baseboard installation that was completed in less than 2 days by Victor and the other 3 men. We were very impressed with the skills and the great level of customer service.

For the next phase of the project we were so impressed with Clinton and he took great care of the project details. He was always communicating with us about next steps. He prepared a perfect colour stain and did amazing baseboard installation in challenging areas. He also did a wonderful job managing all those involved in the project. We are very grateful for all his hard work!

A great experience and high quality job. We love our new floors and would certainly recommend Woodchuck Flooring. Judith & Dean

Approximate cost of services:
$30,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We really appreciate your feedback, thank you for taking the time to share your comments! It was a pleasure working with you and we look forward to helping on your next project!

Fort Y.
Fort Y.
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Replaced carpet with hardwood

Downtown Toronto Condo; Mike was awesome and asked all the right questions at the start (unlike other flooring folks that “left out” items to make their quote look cheaper). Very professional, installers were great / personable, quote matched actual bill, and we recommended to family looking for flooring too.

Approximate cost of services:
$5,500.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review! We enjoyed working with you, and hope to help out with your next flooring project!

CM
CM
3 reviews Richmond Hill, ON
10/10

Ground Floor Hard Wood Install

Great installation with lots of attention to detail. I didn't want to remove the baseboards but after speaking with Clinton we agreed it made sense to remove the ones that were along the wall where the last piece of wood would be installed. This still saved me a lot of time vs having to remove and then reinstall all of the baseboard. Thanks to Holli for working out a minor discrepancy on the final bill. All in all a great experience.
Thanks Woodchuck!

Approximate cost of services:
$4,800.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for sharing your comments!

Frank
Frank
18 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Wood floors replaced in whole house

The team did excellent work. Clinton brought in 49 boxes of flooring himself ... we were impressed. Walter and his team were quick and thorough. This was especially important as I am in a wheelchair and we were in the house through the renovation. Walter made sure at every step that my ability to get around smoothly was not compromised. Things are actually easier now after the renovation than before.

Approximate cost of services:
$20,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We appreciate your great comments, and are very pleased that the team made the project go smoothly with minimal disruption to your home. We enjoyed working with you!

hickling7212
hickling7212
1 review Ajax, ON
10/10

2nd floor replace carpet in hall way and 4 bedrooms

FANTASTIC company to hire to install hardwood floors attention to detail and work ethinic second to none
Great team effort from estimator to supervisor to installers to get the job done and exceed our expectations

Approximate cost of services:
$15,700.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We appreciate your time in providing such great feedback about our team!

Dean E.
Dean E.
1 review Whitby, ON
10/10

Floor refinishing

Sanding, staining and finishing of solid oak flooring on an entire main floor. Also made a custom stain to match 2nd floor prefinished hardwood

Approximate cost of services:
$2,300.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for providing a review, we look forward to working with you again in the future!

Yusuf  in Toronto
Yusuf in Toronto
6 reviews Pickering, ON
10/10

Laminate flooring

A great company. We had a job done a few years ago. Although I'm writing this now, we haven't had any problems with their workmanship. In fact its very good. They were on time, courteous and cleaned up afterwards. They took a lot of care when putting down our flooring in our kitchen and hallway. Mike was very helpful. I would definitely recommend this company. Thank you for an excellent job.

Approximate cost of services:
$2,500.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review of our service, and we are so pleased to hear that the results are still being enjoyed years later!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Woodchuck Flooring

We want you to love your new floor. We promise if we wouldn’t use it in our home, we won’t sell it to you. At Woodchuck Flooring we offer our clients 50+ years of expertise in the hardwood flooring industry. We offer a large showroom just off the 401 in ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Railings pros in Scarborough?