Northland Paving Ltd

Paving Contractors
70 Minuk Acres Ave Toronto ON M1E 4Y6
Write a Review
Write a Review

HomeStars
Paving Contractors
Northland Paving Ltd
Star Score
Learn more about how StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company's review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency.

86%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Indicates how well a pro reacts to reviews and review-related interactions with Homeowners.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Best of 2016 winner 2 timesBest of 2016winner 2 times

Reviews for Northland Paving Ltd

Average customer rating:
8.8 10 (118 reviews)

Sort by

RD
RD
1 review Toronto, ON
1/10

Driveway paving and backyard interlock

Look for another contractor. They likely don't do the work they are supposed to and don't honor their warranty. Here are all the issues I have with the work they did:
Interlock:
1) they were supposed to raise the grade by 5-6 inches to avoid the need for a half step that was there before. They didn't raise the grade even 1 inch and instead went ahead and installed an extra step and didn't even say anything to me about it. I saw it after they had left
2) in the quote I had specifically asked that they put down 1 foot of base gravel in line with unilock technical guide and they even charged me extra for it. When I dug a couple of post holes after they finished putting in the base, I noticed there was only about 6 inches if not less.
3) before putting down the base material, the same unilock tech guide says that a permeable weed barrier fabric should be put in which helps prevent spread of the base material. They did not do this
4) when they finished, they left quickly and didn't finish putting in the polymeric sand on all the sides and had no intention of coming back to do it until I called them.
5) I have 2 semicircular window wells where the interlock was being installed. When the owner, Giorgio, came to quote me, he forgot to note the window wells so after a follow up call, he drew them as rectangular. When the guys showed up on site, they were confused by this even though I explained to them multiple times that they were never supposed to be rectangular. After a lot of back and forth I agreed to do a modified rectangular design which they then completely ignored and did the same thing they mentioned at the start. It looks ugly.

Asphalt:
This was the one thing I was happy with because initially it looked great. I even kept the car off the new driveway for a month (way longer than they suggested was needed) to ensure it cured sufficiently to avoid any tire marks. After parking on it for about 1 month, there was already a small crack in the middle of the driveway. They guy they sent out to take a look decided within 2 seconds that it was caused by tree roots and therefore not covered by the warranty. A quick Google search shows that tree roots are not the cause of driveway cracking if the tree is more than 5 feet away. The closest tree with any significant roots is 20 feet away. It also didn't seem to matter to him that the neighbors driveway (done by them at the same time) also had a crack about 30 feet away from the one on mine. There were other things that made no sense for it to be caused by roots but he would not budge and his solution to fixing it was to put some polymeric sand in it. I am no expert but I have never seen any cracks on city roads or other people's driveways with polymeric sand in it...but it sure is a cheap way to get out of doing a proper fix.

In terms of customer service, the office staff and the excavation/asphalt crew were very courteous but the interlock crew barely spoke any English and was very difficult to interact with.

Based on my experience, they'll do a job for a competitive cost but they won't do it right.

Approximate cost of services:
$22,500.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello RD,

We were shocked by your review and we are sorry that you feel this way. The pictures of your project look beautiful! When we sent Bruce to inspect your original tree root concern, you did not make mention of any other concerns to him. You live in a neighbourhood made beautiful by an abundance of mature trees. It is simply not true that they can only cause cracking less than 5 feet away. In fact, tree roots extend 2-3 times the width of the dripline.

35 years ago, we developed our warranty using the Ontario Ministry of Consumer and Commercial Relations guidelines for residential paving. In their brochure "A Guide to Residential Driveway Paving", it states that a good contractor should offer a one year warranty and they state "Contractors cannot be held responsible for damage caused by such things as tree roots, oil or gas spillage, high heels, ladders, lawn chairs or bicycle kickstands."

Although your tree root issue is not covered by any industry warranty, as a gesture of goodwill we indeed offered to repair it for you. At the moment it is only a hairline crack and too small to treat but if it becomes larger we have already offered to repair it. It can be filled with a rubber crack filler if you prefer but we find it unsightly and the polysand is more discrete. We can use the crack filler if that is your choice.

You questioned our expertise on diagnosing tree-roots. We made you the offer of cutting out the area and excavating the base and subgrade to investigate and expose the root but clearly there would be a cost associated with it if tree roots are discovered. Tree roots are a very sensitive issue and if they are to be cut, an arborist report must be submitted to the City beforehand to ensure the health of the tree won't be affected.

With regards to your further concerns about the depth of base materials on your patio, you must have dug your fence posts prior to our team installing the stonework when the sub-base only was installed. The final bedding layers are installed along with the interlocking stone.

The stone on your contract for the window wells was chosen to match the step and it is a new linear stone design trend and not meant to curve.

We will call you and set up an appointment for you to address your further concerns with Bruce and you can discuss it with him.

Lennon in Toronto
Lennon in Toronto
0 reviews Toronto, ON
5/10

big company that doesnt care

lots of lines and footprints shows up when wet, very obvious. Owner said will disappear overtime, I am doubtful but we will see

Approximate cost of services:
$19,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We went to inspect his concerns and neither one of us were able to spot any marks on the driveway. Client says he can only see it when it is wet. As we explained to Lennon when the asphalt is new the oil content is at its maximum and repels water. These marks are very superficial, temporary and has no bearing structurally on the driveway. As the driveway oxidizes, the oils will begin to evaporate and some of the gravel will release and the driveway will begin to harden and superficial marks will be gone. This is the natural curing process of an asphalt driveway. The driveway looks great and we have attached photos.

Pavan
Pavan
1 review Milton, ON
10/10

Driveway & Curb

Had driveway done at my rental place. Team was flexible, friendly, open and reliable. They removed old wood, casted concrete side curbs. Clean and reliable work. Would def recommend them

Approximate cost of services:
$3,500.00
Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

100% WOW Factor Guaranteed!

This review is long overdue. We had contracted Northland Paving to totally transform our badly deteriorating driveway and walkway. Even though the project was pricey, it was certainly money well spent. The quality of the work and the the WOW factor of the result was worth every dollar. Giorgio and Sheila were amazing. They were very receptive to our questions and concerns. We highly recommend this company for your paving and restorative needs.

Approximate cost of services:
$33,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to share this review. We are very proud of the work our team puts forth! We also agree that Giorgio and Sheila are amazing, they consistently go the extra mile to make sure everything goes according to plan.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Driveway and Front Porch

A big thank you to Giorgio and the crew for a job extremely well done.
Would very highly recommend Northland Paving.
Lots of compliments from passerby as well.
Worked together on time and great finishing touches.
Looking forward to enjoying our beautiful front entrance again.

Approximate cost of services:
$12,500.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for taking the time to post a review! We are happy that you are pleased and we hope you enjoy your beautiful front entrance!

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Driveway paving

From the moment Giorgio from Northland Paving came to my house for a quote, til the final paving day, the process was quick, professional and well done. I would not hesitate to recommend Northland Paving for all your stonework, and paving needs. All crews were professional, courteous, came in, did their portion and left my property clean!
I am very happy with the end result!
Thank you again Northland Paving!

Approximate cost of services:
$10,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We are even happier that you are happy with the end result!

pat panagos from Pickering
pat panagos from Pickering
3 reviews Pickering, ON
10/10

Repaved driveway & repaid ajacent interlock

I waited a year to write a review because I wanted to see how the driveway held up. Its great. Also since then other neighbors have had their driveways done by other companies so I could compare. Georgio was the best. His crew was like a well tunned machine. They worked amazing together. They were all very polite, informative and helpful. Unlike the other companies they left all the driveways, walkways and street absolutely clean. My neighbor found Georgio so there was a few driveways done. We still talk about how great they were. Georgio is a real professional who wants it done right. Thank you for an amazing job.

Approximate cost of services:
$2,200.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a nice review! We are happy that you are pleased with the results!

jpw from Scarborough
jpw from Scarborough
11 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Replace Driveway & Garage Floor

My neighbourhood is deluged with fly by night(here today, gone tomorrow) paving companies that offer cheap rates. Hearing of other people's experiences has made me avoid these. You get what you pay for!

My driveway was somewhat run down(cracks, vegetation growing, etc.) and the garage floor, which was installed in 1968 was becoming pock-marked and cracked. I had had 2 favourable experiences with Northland Paving in the past so I contacted them again on this job.

I wasn't disappointed. The estimate was thorough and well explained, the workers came exactly as scheduled and notification was given well in advance. The work itself appears to have been first-rate. I dropped by their office with questions a couple of times while the work was in progress and those present were very polite and knowledgeable.

Northland Paving is a long established company with excellent reviews in the area and those looking for good results will not be frustrated or upset.

Approximate cost of services:
$11,010.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much for your review. We hear about these companies too. Not all paving companies are like that but sure enough there are enough of them to tarnish the reputation of the industry. As with any other contractor, it doesn't hurt to visit their yard, office or warehouse in order to assess the stability of the contractor and the likelihood they will be there should you need them!

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Richmond Hill, ON
10/10

Driveway and Walkway

I had to do concrete work along with the paving of a new driveway – which is about 50% larger than a normal driveway.

After seeing the positive reviews for Northland Paving, I reached out to Giorgio and he came to the house and looked over the work to be done. Instead of simply accepting all of the work that I wanted to have done, Giorgio gave me some excellent suggestions and actually changed the design for some of the areas where the work was being done. Giorgio is very passionate about his work and you can see he takes pride in the quality of workmanship that Northland Paving provides.

I ended up doing a “liquid stone” finish on the concrete and I cannot be happier as to how this is turned out. The work was outstanding but I want to warn you that it is not inexpensive. You do get what you pay for.

As a relates to the driveway, Northland Paving was so quick in removing and then repaving the driveway (about 2 months later), that I could not believe it. They truly know their trade.

A with any renovation, I ended up going way overboard on budget but the result has been so impressive that it is a conversation piece for everyone who visits our home now – i.e. everyone loves the liquid stone.

In summary, I highly recommend Northland Paving.

Approximate cost of services:
$25,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review. We are so happy that you are pleased with the results!

Greg McDowell in Toronto
Greg McDowell in Toronto
6 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Driveway and Garden Patio

We were first introduced to Northland Paving through our neighbours who had used them for their driveway and were very pleased with the service and workmanship. Based on their enthusiastic referral and seeing the workmanship, we called Northland. Everything about this company is top notch, from their sales rep Georgio to Sheila the coordinator to the professional craftsmen who turn out a great job. I found the crew professional and they cleaned up at the end of each day and delivered exactly what we paid for. Over the years I have referred friends and clients. Thanks Northland!

Approximate cost of services:
$10,000.00
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Greg for taking the time to post such a lovely review! It has been a pleasure working with you. The staff members who have been in contact with you for your projects have also given you as a client, a wonderful review! We very much appreciate your referrals and we are so happy that you were very pleased!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Northland Paving Ltd

Northland Paving’s commitment to excellence is the foundation by which the company has grown. Specializing in commercial and residential projects with uncompromising standards, Northland has grown to become one of the most respected paving and interlocking stone contractors in the Toronto area.

CATEGORIES
Paving Contractors, Concrete Contractors, and Interlocking Stone
PRODUCTS
Unilock Authorized Dealer
SERVICES
Interlocking Stone Installations, Asphalt Paving Contractors, Concrete Installation, Concrete Resurfacing
BRANDS
Unilock
STYLES
Residential, Commercial and Industrial Projects
SPECIALITIES
Unilock Authorized Contractor, Unilock Authorized Dealer
WEBSITE
http://www.northlandpaving.com
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1986
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
30
PAYMENT METHOD
Cash, Cheque, Direct Debit, Visa, MasterCard
LICENSES
Toronto, Markham
MEMBERSHIPS
Landscape Ontario, Toronto Construction Association, Better Business Bureau
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.