Hometurf Lawn Care Service

Weed Control
7123 Fir Tree Dr Mississauga ON L5S 1G4
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Weed Control
Hometurf Lawn Care Service
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

85%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2019 winner 4 timesBest of 2019winner 4 times

Reviews for Hometurf Lawn Care Service

Average customer rating:
9 10 (2235 reviews)

Sort by

Vanna Tran from Markham
Vanna Tran from Markham
1 review Markham, ON
10/10

Lawncare

Our lawn was filled with weed and empty patches four years ago. We tried to fix the poor condition lawn ourselves and it was a waste of time and money so we hired Hometurf. The staff has been doing a tremendous job reviving our lawn and keeping it looking wonderful. Today, I’m more than satisfy with the results. The reports we received at the end of each application from the technician help us to better understand what we can do to make our lawn better. Customer care was able to respond to our queries quickly. I would recommend Hometurf to my friends and family.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Ms. Tran, Thank you for taking the time to review our service. We are glad to hear that you have been satisfied with the service over the years and that over time the lawn has improved greatly. If you have any questions or concerns in the future please do not hesitate to contact us. Thank you.

Lyle Marra from Mississauga
Lyle Marra from Mississauga
1 review Mississauga, ON
10/10

Lawn Service

I was extremely happy with the service provided when I had called thinking that the problem was over use of the fall fertilizer when the real problem was small bugs had eaten part of my front lawn. The service guy came over raked up the dead grass put down some top soil and grass seeds. Looked at it today Sept 12 and the problem has been resolved. I had used Home turf for 5 years so far and will continue using their service . Great customer service to the service tech
Keep up the great work
Keep up the great work

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Mr. Marra, Thank you for reviewing our service. Thank you for your patronage over the years and we are glad to hear that your problem was quickly resolved. If you have any questions in the future just let us know. Thank you.

J. de Silva from Toronto
J. de Silva from Toronto
1 review Scarborough, ON
10/10

lawn maintenance

Always on time. Very prompt customer service, i.e., returned on 2 occasions to respray for weed control. Overall weed control has been successful to approx. 80%. Definitely considering using your services for 2015.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi J, thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you have been pleased with our service this year. If you have any questions in the future please just let us know. Thank you for your patronage.

Elsinore Jardin from Toronto
Elsinore Jardin from Toronto
1 review Scarborough, ON
9/10

Lawn service

We would like to thank your staff for listening to our concerns and for their prompt attention in resolving our problem regarding the stubborn weeds on our lawn. Our lawn looks healthier and we think that a few more treatment would eradicate these weeds for good. We don't want them back.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Elsinore, Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that the weed control is working and that your lawn is looking much healthier. If you have any issues in the future just let us know. Thank you.

Rosalie Wenner from Toronto
Rosalie Wenner from Toronto
1 review North York, ON
9/10

Lawn Care Service

We have relied on Hometurf Lawn Services for many years and appreciate the report card they leave with each visit. They are very quick to come back and respray whenever we are not 100% satisfied with the results of the weed spraying.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Mrs. Wenner, Thank you for taking the time to review our service. We are glad to hear that you have been happy with the service over the years. If you have any questions or concerns in the future please do not hesitate to contact us. Thank you for your patronage.

sonja in Brampton
sonja in Brampton
7 reviews Brampton, ON
0/10

lawncare

Do not use this service. The people here will continue to come to your home even if you do not want or order the service and send you notices daily regarding money owed. Tried to call to resolve the issue and Manager tells me I must pay the outstanding balance for services I did not ask for. She says I signed up verbally since when I ordered the service for one season however I was not told this at the time. I'm sick of companies who operate using shady business tactics. Lawncare businesses are the worst and these guys are no exception. 500 for lawncare on our small little lawn and our grass is still overrun with crabgrass!
Update 10/31/14: Another example of the poor customer service offered by the company (BRAMPTON location) is that they told Homestars I was not a customer even after I had produced proof (names, invoice# etc.). They still denied it so I had to scan and email my invoices. I cannot speak for other locations for this franchise, but avoid the Brampton one!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Sonja, we are sorry to hear that you are not happy. Our programs are continuous which means that we do return on an annual basis unless you cancel the program. We do however, make each and every customer very aware of this by letting them know when they sign up for the program. This is also stated on all of our paperwork that is left at the home after each visit throughout the season in bold font as well as on both renewal letters that we send out in the fall and the winter before the new season begins. We are extremely transparent with our customers to ensure that they are satisfied with the service. Unfortunately since the pesticide by law in 2009 we do not control crabgrass nor have we ever advertised that we do since 2009. We would be happy to discuss matters further with you but we do need your address in order to do so as we can not locate you in our system based on your first name. Thank you.
Hi Sonja, In regards to your update, we did not deny that you were a customer but attempted to get more information so that we could assist you further, like we said previously we cannot locate you in our database from just your first name and the city that you live in. Furthermore we are not a franchise business, we are a family owned and operated business with our head office located in Brampton. As we said before please contact our office as we would like to rectify this issue with you. Thank you.

Axel B.
Axel B.
2 reviews Mississauga, ON
10/10

Lawn fertilizer, weed control

Very professional; agreed to call us prior to treatment, so, we could keep our dogs clear. Lived up to their commitment.

Applications successful. Lawn looked green and clear of weeds.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Mr. Breuer, Thank you for taking the time to review our service. We are happy to hear that you have been satisfied with the service this year. If you have any questions or concerns in the future do not hesitate to contact us. Thank you.

Marius from Toronto
Marius from Toronto
5 reviews Toronto, ON

First Review

1/10

Lawn maintenance

Hire this guy 2 months ago and everything went wrong ever since.I inform them about new installed sod in the front.Told them to focus for the backyard until front sod will get roots established.What they did at firs visit was to aerate and move sod pieces with machinery.I complain,I got excuses and they come and over-seed.Three weeks ago was applied pesticide for weeds.A week after still lots of weeds.Call again and was told to offer me a second application.Few days after my lawn get dark brown spots and grass die there.Now I'm having the ugliest lawn from whole street.Thanks for such a "GREAT" service !

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Marius, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you are not happy with the service. There does appear to be some dry areas on the lawn but a burn would be bright yellow. We would like to resolve any issues you may be having. Please call our office with your address so that we can rectify things right away. Unfortunately we cannot identify you based on a first name. Thank you.

Medicpro, Markham
Medicpro, Markham
2 reviews Markham, ON
9/10

Lawn care service

This is our 3rd. year using Hometurf. We feel that they have done a better job than our previous lawn care company.
We had to call them a few times to re-spray the lawn and driveway areas. Because of this, we did not rate them a 10.
We are quite satisfied with their service and found their staff to be courteous and helpful whenever we call. Our lawn is looking much better this year and we will continue to use them.
Thank you Home Turf and their staff.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Medicpro, Thank you for reviewing our service. We are glad to hear that you have been happy with the service over the last few years and that our staff have been able to help when necessary. We thank you for your patronage. If you have any questions or concerns in the future do not hesitate to contact us. Thank you

Rob from Toronto
Rob from Toronto
4 reviews Etobicoke, ON
10/10

Lawn Care

I had to write and thank Hometurf for resolving our front lawn issue. Our lawn appeared to us to be dieing/burnt after an application. We called them and first thing the next morning their field supervisor was here and concluded that part of the problem was a fungus we didnt know about.
After an application and seed to resolve this issue, we noticed our lawn turning green again just after a couple days, and we thought it was lost and finished for the season. Now just a couple weeks later, our front lawn is back to the full thick green lawn we've always had, and neighbours comment on.
Being with Hometurf the last few years, has always been hassle free and easy to deal with, but after this and being quick to call and complain, we had to be quick and say Thank You to Hometurf and everyone involved. Amazing job and with no questions asked or hesitations in coming out to take care of us as part of our package, any issues or problems just call, and they took care of it with No hidden or extra charges,
Great Job Hometurf

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Rob, thank you very much for taking the time to review our service. We are happy to hear that our staff responded positively and were able to help you with the fungus issues you were having. Moreover we are glad to hear that you have been happy with the service overall and that the neighbours are commenting on how great your lawn looks. Keep up the great work, thank you for your patronage.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Hometurf Lawn Care Service

At Hometurf Lawn Care, we have been treating the lawns of our loyal customers for over 30 years. As a family-owned and -operated business, we have grown by delivering lush, healthy, green lawns while using only the highest quality products applied by professional lawn care technicians. Let us help you make your lawn look its best this season!

Our season-long lawn care programs take the guess work out of which products to use and when. Applications are scheduled to be applied four to six weeks apart throughout the season for optimal turf care. We strive to ensure everything your lawn needs is included in our programs. No telemarketing or sales calls pushing unnecessary extras.

Our services include: lawn care programs, lawn maintenance programs, fertilizer, weed control, insect control, aeration, grass seeding, dethatching, top dressing, chinch bug control and grub control.

CATEGORIES
Weed Control and Lawn Maintenance
PRODUCTS
Lawn Care Programs, Fertilizer, Weed Control, Insect Control, Aeration, Grass Seeding, Dethatching, Top Dressing
SERVICES
Lawn Care Programs, Fertilizer, Weed Control, Insect Control, Aeration, Grass Seeding, Dethatching, Top Dressing
WEBSITE
http://www.hometurf.ca
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1988
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
50
PAYMENT METHOD
Cheque, Visa, MasterCard, Online Banking
LICENSES
Ministry of Ontario Landscape Exterminator, Ministry of Ontario Pesticide Operator License
MEMBERSHIPS
Landscape Ontario, Professional Lawn Care Association of Ontario, CNLA, OIPMA, PLANET, PLCAA
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
PROJECT MINIMUM
No project too small
BONDED
Yes
PROJECT RATE
Varies based on property size.
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.