Reviews

10/10

Called Mega Doors to have my beat up garage door replaced with a new electric door. Steve arrived and did a quick repair so I could at least get into the garage for the couple of days before he was able to replace it. New door arrived just in time for winter. Now it works beautifully and I drive in and out. No need to get out and trudge through the snow to open it. Professionally installed at a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

thank you very much!

10/10

I called Best Fence because 7 years ago they had done some work for me that I had been very happy with. Mike arrived the following day and I described to him what I wanted him to do. He made some great suggestions I hadn't thought of on how I could realize my goals and make the fence as attractive as possible. The work was done a few days later in only a day and a half and the price was very reasonable. I've had other contractors do work on my house, and I've often regretted what I had done because later I realized that what I wanted was not necessarily the best way to go about the job. They were the experts but they didn't suggest anything better! Mike is very good at pointing out what might not work in your conception and suggesting better ideas. You'll be happy with the planning and happy with the results!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Andrew for your kind and honest review;

I am glad the first fence we built for you still doing its job very well; and now with a second project you have asked , it certainly expands a better usage of your backyard and surly it adds a good appearance and value to your front lot.
Thank you for choosing Best Fence and it is always a pleasure to serve an outstanding client like you!

Mike Ahmady

2/10

We had a sewage backup in our basement. Serviceman arrived promptly. After determining the problem for almost $300 (5 minutes), he waived that fee when given the go ahead to replace the root-filled pipe. He comforted me by confirming that insurance always covered these jobs as long as the pipes had just collapsed from age. He wrote out the bills with prices that seemed to come off the top of his head (no price list), spoke down to me with great authority, and had me sign the two hefty bills. On Monday morning my insurance company informed me that NO insurance company covered replacement of the pipe and that I should have called their 24 hour emergency number and they would have sent their own service people. Mr Rooter knew that these replacements were not covered. They also knew that had they informed me of this I would have gotten a few price quotations from different companies and they might not have gotten the work. As it was, they misled me about the coverage and squeezed $8000 from me on the spot. My own fault for acting rashly, but their business is to take advantage of that and to get your business by concealing the truth. By the way, the serviceman was also quick to hand out the business card of a company that does clean up and restoration...I wonder if he is well rewarded for scoring contracts for them. I could go on. I have no complaints about the work that was done, only the way the company got the work.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear customer, I have looked into this matter; all three invoices; and I do not believe that all of the facts have been mentioned. I would like to break it down into two criteria, procedure and insurance issues. Procedure first. Upon arrival, our serviceman noticed fecal matter and toilet paper on the broadloom; covering a large portion of the basement. He tried to remove the obstruction through the floor drain, to no avail. The floor drain was in broken and the equipment was unable to pass. With there being children in the house and the basement not fit for human occupancy; an excavation was required there first. A price was agreed upon and we were given authorization to go ahead with the work. Upon removing the broken floor drain, a camera was inserted the following morning. Inspection showed us that the building trap in front of the house was broken as well. With a camera unable to go beyond a trap; it also had to be removed. A price was agreed upon and we were given authorization to go ahead with the work.(the building trap, no longer part of the building code, requires removal, once it is not functioning properly) Once the exterior excavation had been performed, a camera was once again inserted to see if there were any other future potential problems. Upon the secondary inspection from the outside excavation, we observed more cracked clay tile pipe being infiltrated by roots. A price was agreed upon and we were given authorization to go ahead with the work. With your house being situated in the Bloor West Village, an older region in the city, this is not an isolated problem but rather a neighbourhood problem. The houses are old and clay tile drains, being their lifelines, are sick. When they are sick, the house vomits raw sewage all over the basement. This is not only a residential problem; it is a municipal one as well with their underground infrastructure also crumbling. The simple reason for inspections is to inform and educate the customer on what future potential problems could arise. This gives the customer the knowledge and then the ability to make a decision. It is also our policy to provide the customer with a flood and restoration company to remove and start sanitization procedures as soon as possible; especially with children being present. I can also assure you that there are no rewards from the restoration company.
Regarding insurance, there are insurance companies that do cover most of the expense for this work. It is your insurance company that has misinformed you. They cover all of the costs; except the cost of the material. We have done thousands of these replacements with insurance companies covering the brunt of the bill.
I am glad that you have no complaints with our workmanship as we pride ourselves on being the best full service plumbing and drain company in the G.T.A. We were called to your house with raw sewage all over the basement. We kept you informed along the way and upon authorization, proceeded with the work required. We informed you to check your insurance policy and inquire to see if your policy covered the brunt of the costs, unfortunately in your case not. I empathize with how you feel, but please, do not shoot the messenger.