Eden

Landscape Contractors & Designers
Toronto ON M5V 2H8
Write a Review
Write a Review

Star Score
Learn more about how StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company's review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency.

78%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Indicates how well a pro reacts to reviews and review-related interactions with Homeowners.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Eden

Average customer rating:
7.8 10 (24 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
9/10

Fallen Branches removal and yard spring cleanup

Due to winter ice storm, I had some fallen tree branches in the yard that I couldn't remove myself. Eden App sent a crew and they cleaned up the back yard very well and efficiently.

Approximate cost of services:
$150.00
Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Reliable and reasonable

Worry free snow removal....where you pay only for what you use, unlike other seasonal subscription services.

Approximate cost of services:
$100.00
Was this review helpful?
GaryG
GaryG
4 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Snow removal from our property

We are so impressed & happy with Eden Snow removal service. Reliable, great job & billing includes a pic of the finished job. Great peace of mind knowing they arrive automatically when it snows.

Approximate cost of services:
$100.00
Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Snow Removal means removal

Company repeatedly charges your credit card before the job is done. See photo for what they consider removed. Had to hire someone else to remove it.

Approximate cost of services:
$135.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello! We're sorry that the assigned contractor didn't complete the job as requested. We removed a few contractors from our network over the last snow storm due to the quality of work. Please send an email to info@edenapp.com so we can assist further with a refund.

John Colombo from Toronto
John Colombo from Toronto
6 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Snow removal

My wife and I live in a bungalow near the Bathurst and Lawrence intersection in North Toronto and we have lived here since 1969. We are both in our eighties, and this year, for the first time I am not able to shovel the snow on the driveway, walkway, porch, etc. After checking the Web for dozens of snow-removal services, I chose Eden for a number of reasons. I have found it to be pleasant to deal with, real people answer the phone, the company charges a reasonable rate by the visit rather than by the month, and once in a while I am able ask a favour (i.e., be sure to remove the snow before a given time the next day so I can drive my wife for a registered hospital visit). Eden is for me. John & Ruth Colombo

Approximate cost of services:
$70.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
George
George
1 review Oshawa, ON
0/10

worst company I've ever dealt with.

I signed up through the General Sales Manager for the GTA on email. I negotiated a $65. rate for walkway and driveway. We completed this on email.
on Jan 26 was the first major snow. On there App System they had a contractor coming out to do my place. At around 7 o'clock in the evening I called and texted the contractor to see if they were coming that day. He responded that he actually lived in Ottawa and it was a system error that he was assigned to my address. I emailed the General Sales Manager. He responded the next day he'd send a crew out.
Jan 27th, the next day, a lady did come out late afternoon, did the driveway, took pictures before and after, then left. I saw the pictures on the app and disputed the job she did. She left a foot and half along the left side of the driveway undone and 7ft x 3 ft undone by the car. Her pictures didn't show this and I stated that. I took a picture of the whole driveway as she did it and sent it with my email back to Ben. There was also a difference in the price charged to what was quoted. I was charged $177. I should have been Charged $73.45 which would be the agreed upon rate including tax. This was all included in the email to the General Sales Manager I sent on Jan. 27th. I also made repeated calls to Eden support, the GTA General Sales Manager and have never heard back from anyone to this date. On the Eden app it gives you an option to approve or dispute the work done. I went with the dispute option based on the above. I've never heard back from anyone at Eden. I've gone through Visa to have charges credited back.
On the January 29th there was another snowfall and a contractor for Eden was indicated that they were coming. It was the same lady as the 27th. Later that morning the contractor coming was switched to a man. No one came by 5 pm so I called and texted the contractor. He texted me to say he didn't pick my job, it was assigned to him. He said he was tired and not coming. There was a freeze coming that night so it put me in a real spot. I asked a neighbour to do my driveway which he did. I emailed the General Sales Manager on the 29th, informing him of all this. I stated I've never heard back on the email from the 27th. I asked them to credit back the overcharge from the 27th to my visa and as of that email I informed that as of this email I am discounting the Eden service. I did this on Email and the company voicemail.
That same night, after I sent that email, I checked my visa and found that Eden had charged me $73.45 for Jan 29th, though no one had been to my place or done any work. I emailed Ben again telling him this. I asked for this charge to be credited back. I stated that Eden going forward has no authorization from me to charge my Visa, just to credit back the money owed.
That money for the 29th was credited back on Visa but I never heard from Eden regarding any emails or repeated messages left.
I contacted Visa with the disputed charges and I changed my Visa number so it couldn't be used by Eden as I had discontinued there service and put that in email to Eden as well as in phone messages to the company.
On Feb 24th, I received 2 texts from an Eden Contractor, the same lady that way here on the 27th. The first text stating at 3:52pm Feb 24, your job has been started, then another text stating at 3:53 Feb 24th your job has been completed. I went to the app and their was a picture of my driveway which had been cleared by my neighbour the night before. I was home and went right out to the contractor's vehicle as she was still parked on the street. She told me she was assigned the job and sent Eden the picture that the job was already completed. I told her I had discontinued Eden's service and there was no reason for anyone from Eden to be coming or assigned to my place. She said it was a mistake and she'd let them know. I went back in side my house. I went to my Visa on line to check the status and Eden had charged me $177.98 plus 73.45 and it was on my Visa. I went back outside as she was still there. She was talking to someone from Eden and I heard him say you don't have to talk to him, meaning me. She hung up and totally oped her window. I told her that I had been charged and it was on visa. I asked for a contact number for Someone at Eden and she couldn't give me one. I asked her for the number of the person she was just talking to and she said she couldn't, it would do no good as he was just for the contractors, not customers. She told me she has let Eden know of the error and it should come off in a couple of days. I said there is no reason it can't come off right away and there is no reason for the account, my account to be active or assigned to anyone as I distinctly discontinued there service by phone and email with them on Jan. 29th.
I contacted Visa and informed them of this incident yesterday and once the charge is posted I will dispute with Visa.
Todate, I have not received a call, an email or any communication from Eden on any of this, though I have requested it many times
I've read up on more of the reviews about Eden and my experience is not unique to them at all. Eden has a low, low customer rating which I feel is still to high. They are not accredited through the better business bureau which would have been a big red flag if I had checked that before doing business with them.
On Feb 27th, Eden charged $73.45 and $177.98. No work has been done. I've sent email's and phone calls discounting my account. I've told them not to use or charge my Visa. I changed my Visa number with the bank yet the company can still obtain the new visa number due to an agreement to access apparently some companies have with Visa direct, not the banks. I spoke to the one contractor about the Feb 24th charge of $177.98 where no work or visit was done and informed her that I have discontinued service with Eden and all the difficulties I've had with them. She did share that with someone from Eden who administrates with the dispatch of Contractors to residences. She couldn't or wouldn't share a phone number with me.
I have received on my visa for Feb 27th a charge from Eden for $73.45 and $177.98. There has been no visit, work done or authorization from me to do so. The Contractor they assigned I just called and told him don't come. I don't do business with Eden. I asked him for a phone number of someone from Eden. He tells me he received emails from the states. He said he'd text me the email but I doubt that will happen.
To date I have emailed the company and left messages repeatedly to Stop - discontinue service, stop coming and charging me. I've spoken to two of their contractors and told them. I know one of them spoke to Someone at Eden.
I am following up with Visa and contacting a consumer protection phone number that visa gave me to see what can be done.

Approximate cost of services:
$177.98
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Mississauga, ON
1/10

Service not as agreed

We are seniors who travel 2 weeks at a time a few times through the winter months.

We had contracted with Eden for snow clearing of sidewalk, driveway and path to front door, however, they didn't shovel the sidewalk and shoveled the path to the back door.

Multiple emails went unanswered. We sent pictures and detailed instructions repeating our request over and over, and yet the did the same thing the next time.

We dragged our suitcases to the front door over the front door walk from the driveway through snow and ice.

The day after we got home late the night before, we were served with a notice from the City telling us that we were not in compliance with the requirement to clear sidewalks. Kids walk to and from school on our street and other than legal and liability issues, we didn't want them to be unable to walk on the sidewalk.

We had contracted to use them again in March of this year, but obviously there is no point in paying them for a service they don't honour or at minimum respond to multiple email requests imploring them to clear the snow as agreed.
Thankfully on our return the extreme cold was over but we spent 4 hours breaking up the ice that had formed on the sidewalk and clearing it.

Approximate cost of services:
$65.00
Was this review helpful?
MB in Toronto
MB in Toronto
5 reviews Toronto, ON
4/10

An alternative to an annual contract - I thought

Eden provides a good alternative to an annual contract giving you plowing services at a fixed rate per plow. No more of the zero sum game of fixed price per season where either the homeowner or contractor loses if the snow is too much/little.

I had used them for 2 years where I was asked in the 2nd year if I wanted to renew, which I did. In the 3rd year I moved to a new home without a driveway and because I was asked to renew before, I didn't think I had to cancel and then got a bill on the first snowfall for plowing my old home! I asked for a refund and they refused.

Eden presents themselves as an online service with an offline product. They should follow online service standards (as well as offline plowing services with annual contracts) and ask customers if they wish to renew. To then refuse to refund the charge for plowing someone else's driveway is terrible customer service.

Approximate cost of services:
$85.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi MB,

Please contact our customer service team by phone at 1-866-932-4884 or by email at kross@edenapp.com and we can clear this up for you immediately. Sorry for any inconvenience this has caused.

Best Regards,

Jackie
Jackie
0 reviews Aurora, ON
0/10

Beware of charging for zero work done

I SIGNED UP FOR AUTOMATIC SNOW REMOVAL 2022 season
VERY FIRST SNOW FALL , the CONTRACTOR TOOK A PHOTO AT 9:30 pm of the property being serviced.
WRONG HOUSE !!!! Then when i messaged him directly to advise him he deleted the photo and still i was charged that night !!!! Twice !
No one answered calls ?? No one answered emails. .
This was last thursday and i was PROMISED 3-5 days for refund , still not a dime
They were in and out of my bank account 4 times that day and billed even before the WRONG HOUSE was plowed ???? No reason why i should not have been refunded a week ago !
Numerous messages , chasing for a week . Finally paid back over a week later . Without email .
Id never recommend or use them .
Luckily a reliable company got to the property the next morning to plow .
USE ANYONE ELSE !!! Not these guys

Approximate cost of services:
$100.00
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Jackie,

Sorry for this inconvenience of the wrong driveway being serviced. Please note, we never charge the card until a service is rendered. We process a "hold" on the card while we schedule our work to be completed and these can often times be confused with actual charges but rest assured they were not processed transactions. Our refunds do typically take 5-7 business days to review and process before reflecting in your account and we are glad to have resolved this issue. If you have any outstanding issues please reach out to our team and we can resolve any questions or concerns you have. -Eden Team
Best Regards,

sjclaxton
sjclaxton
3 reviews Toronto, ON
8/10

Garden work

A garden overhaul was needed. It was completed in 2 days. Excellent work. Garden looks beautiful!!

Approximate cost of services:
$5,000.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Eden

Eden is the trusted lawn care, landscaping, and snow removal service provider that offers top-rated pros in the US and Canada region. We offer an array of services that are categorized into – yard work, lawn care, landscaping, and snow removal services. Along with the static services, Eden offers on-demand ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Landscape Contractors & Designers pros in Markham?