Empire Tile & Bath

Formerly Empire Tile & Flooring
Tile & Stone Contractors
Toronto ON M1J 3N3
Write a Review
Write a Review

HomeStars  >  Plumbing in Hampton  >  Empire Tile & Bath  >  Never Again
2 reviews Vaughan, ON

Never Again

Hired this individual for complete shower remake turn key project. He delayed project by 2 months and total financial damage with all the work that went into it is $12,000 and counting since recently we discovered that he poured his mortar mix along with plastic tools into toilet and sinks to save a trip downstairs so those pipes are full of cement now, plus we found marble and cement chunks down the shower drain that he built and the toilet opening in the same room where he was working, and it doesn't look like coincidence.

He overused 20% of tile that we got extra, and would inform us of the issues after he has finished the installation so we would have no option but to go ahead with it or go and buy more materials so he can re-do when he has time.

Speaking of time, David's punctuality is very bad, He can show up for 30 mins and disappear for weeks with excuses like - my truck broke down, wheel fell off, punctured tires, skiing trips, not in the mood, helper bailed and many many more.

Every wall on the shower is crooked, tiles are not connecting and not straight, different size seams all over the place. Our primary glass bearing wall has 1/2 inch play between top and bottom corner. He blames the walls, but he was the one to dismantle the old shower and prepare the base and walls for the new one as per the agreement, see the copy in the pictures attached.

He overcut faucet holes by double the recommended size even though it says on the faucet no more than 3/16, he did half inch, so the chrome trim cannot hide the cut outs. As a solution, he offered to cover it with silicone, right in the middle of the tile. So we had to hire another contractor to fix it.

All cut lines are not aligned straight, corners are broken off and tile seams look like they were cut with chisel.

Improper trim around the window and its sticking out by quarter inch, even though he been told numerous times to make it seamless, so now we have to re-do the window at extra cost.

He pushed up the drywall ceiling in one side by half inch, so now it has to be patched and repaired at extra cost.

He was informed numerous times to improve and speed up to fit into our timelines, instead, he went on skiing trips to another province and sometime take weeks to put 6 tiles on a wall, especially when he got half of the money.

Do not trust plumbing job on your shower if you hire him, he uses really low skilled labor, the plumber who came over from him had no clue how to connect pipes to a faucet valve. We had to find own plumber and pay extra, even though the whole project was a turn key project. He managed to get into an argument with the plumber and suggested that we fire the plumber.

When you point at issues, he says he doesn't care how things look as long as it meets the "code" its ok with him and if we want it fixed, we would need to pay again for him to fix it. Though the code stated the bare minimum acceptable quality.

There are always excuses of any sort, but it is never his fault, he never took responsibility for any damages or poor quality work that he made.

All my other contractors refused to work with him in the same house because he keeps damaging their work, there are massive holes on the newly finished walls that he left by kicking the doors, throwing his tools around when he is angry and even managed to damage newly finished 9ft ceiling, as well as left deep dents on hardwood floor which was covered with ram board at all times.

Approximate cost of services:
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your reply.
This is inaccurate and already has been reported.
We do not condone buisness ANYWAY you've mentioned.
If we poured cement down your drains you would have a bigger issue than you are claiming. You've had drywallers pour down your drains since day one .

We released ourselves from your project because of your verbal abuse, and your unwillingness to trust a professional.

We did not frame your bath we only installed tile. You knew of everything and we have proof of it all.

You're at the point of harassment and will be reported.