Great Canadian Roofing And Siding Ltd

Roofing
Edmonton AB T6E 0C9
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Roofing
Great Canadian Roofing And Siding Ltd
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

89%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2019 winner 2 timesBest of 2019winner 2 times

Reviews for Great Canadian Roofing And Siding Ltd

Average customer rating:
8.8 10 (173 reviews)

Sort by

Terri in Edmonton
Terri in Edmonton
2 reviews Edmonton, AB
1/10

clearing ice dam off roof

We were recommended this company by our insurance people; we had a major ice dam on our roof and had leaks coming in through the ceiling. The company came and told us it would be a five hour job, costing around $1000. The one guy who came did in to do the job, said he'd do it for $800 when we queried the cost and then did it in under three hours (and took lots of breaks). He then tried to charge us $800 for three hours work (if that). We've called the company a number of times to dispute the fee since we only want to pay for the work done (they never called us back. In the end we compromised and paid $675. We found out after that other companies charge far less, between $300 and $400. I wouldn't recommend this company to anybody.

Was this review helpful?
Michele in Edmonton
Michele in Edmonton
1 review Edmonton, AB
5/10

Insulation, Siding, Eavestrough

So I called this company to get some renovations done, including replacing the siding, insulation and eavestrough. They did a good job with the windows and doors. The insulation has added warmth to our house! Unfortunately, the installations left many nails, siding and debris in our yard. We asked them to come and fix the problem, but they didn't show up, after repeated calls. I gave up and decided to pay bill and clean up the mess they left behind. We wanted to use our yard. Our gate was also broken by the installers. I like the company and the salesmen, but the installers were not very professional.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I appologize for the negative experience you had with our contractors. We appreciate the feedback so we can address these issues. Without such reviews, we have no way of becoming better. Thank you again.

Norm in N. Edmonton
Norm in N. Edmonton
1 review EDMONTON, AB
10/10

shingle replacement on roof

We had a great experience with this company. The rep who came over to do the estimate was knowledgeable and professional in all respects. When the work was done it was done on time and on budget. The roofers were careful to leave the work site clean after the job was done. Overall I would recommend this company to everyone out there.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback.

Gal in Edmonton
Gal in Edmonton
1 review Edmonton, AB
6/10

Exterior Reno

We booked new roof, siding, insulation, windows, doors @ June 2009. New roof was completed in July 2009 - no problem. All other work was to be completed except there was a fire which hit Great Canadian in July - understandable that completion would be bumped. Work was rescheduled for November 2009 - no problem. The problem came with the SUB-CONTRACT company working for Great Canadian. We were met with excuse after excuse after excuse. Loads of broken promises, "repeated no shows" and lots of wasted time. Keep in mind that Christmas was fast approaching as well. I was quoted "2 weeks MAX" by one of the sub-contractors for the entire job to be completed. It lasted into the New Year. Seven weeks total! It is now the end of March and I am STILL waiting for the crew to return and pick up their garbage, scraps of used/unused material, old doors, you name it. My plants are in ruins, yet I was told that they would take great care with my pre-existing surroundings. There was ONE great fella whom I will refer to as "G" who deserves MUCH of the praise for much of the work. The others... I can do without their customer service AGAIN in this life time. Chip, you were OUTSTANDING! Too bad that your subs don't value the same reputation.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your feedback. We strive to become the best we can be in this industry. Unfortunately, some jobs run into problems such as yours. We appreciate knowing of these situations so we can deal with the reasons for them and hopefully minimize problems in the future. I am glad you are happy with Chip as your salesmen.

suki1
suki1
1 review Edmonton, AB

First Review

1/10

Roofing Replacement

Company came to re-roof. Due to poor istallation, evestroughs started leaking.(water comes out from behind) Have had them out 3 times to fix,STILL NOT RESOLVED! Also now have a problem with ice damming, and water running down the walls!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Great Canadian Roofing And Siding Ltd

Great Canadian is a fully integrated residential and commercial renovation company dedicated to providing sustainable energy solutions for your home or commercial property.

Experienced, professional and trusted, Great Canadian will provide you with the right advice, quality workmanship, excellent service and the best brands of products no matter what your need. All services are competitively priced for your project and include roofing, attic insulation, siding, windows and doors, soffits and fascia, eavestroughs and any related insurance needs. Great Canadian combines skill and technology to provide you the best service possible.

CATEGORIES
Roofing, Gutters & Eavestroughs, Insulation, and Siding
PRODUCTS
Asphalt Shingles, Cedar Shakes, Metal roofing, Vinyl Siding, Fiber cement board, Windows, Exterior Doors
SERVICES
Sloped Roofing - shingles, cedar, metal, vinyl & James Hardie installations, attic insulation, windows & doors, skylights, soffit, fascia, eavestroughs
BRANDS
IKO, Malarkey, BP, Royal Building Products, James Hardie, Kaycan, Mitten, Velux
WEBSITE
http://www.greatcanadian.ca
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1997
PAYMENT METHOD
Visa & Mastercard, Cheques, Cash, Financing Options
MEMBERSHIPS
CHBA, SCAA, AARA, Master Elite Contractors
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
Yes, ask for details.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.