Hotwire Electric

Electricians
60 basaltic road Vaughan ON L4K
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Electricians
Hotwire Electric
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

96%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2020 winner 11 timesBest of 2020winner 11 times
Giving Back Award winner 2 timesGiving Back Awardwinner 2 times

Reviews for Hotwire Electric

Average customer rating:
9.8 10 (687 reviews)

Sort by

Joey in Ajax
Joey in Ajax
5 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Hotwire

Working with the team at Hotwire over the past 5 years has offered our company a very expert level electrical service that is able to give us the kind of top shelf service that our clients deserve and expect. SalDan is a high end builder in the City of Toronto and working with the best of electricians such as Hotwire has proven very rewarding for our firm in terms of their high level of expertise, their scheduling timelines and keeping their word on all things promised.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you saldan build for the wonderful feedback.
we are certainly proud and privileged to work alongside an amazing builder like you
thank you for choosing us among the million other white savanna trucks on the highways :)
Hotwire

Anna
Anna
0 reviews Vaughan, ON
10/10

Custom home

We contacted hotwire to help with our lighting and electrical services for our custom home
They were on point from start to end in helping us design our lighting plans as well as being a one stop shop for extras like automation, central vac and alarm
Every step was organized and planned from meetings to meeting deadlines and finished project

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Ann and we are so happy to be at your service. we know there are many electricians out there and we are very glad to be your chosen one

Chen in Toronto
Chen in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Outdoor potlights

Hotwire did an amazing work with my exterior potlights. they design it with me the way I wanted. The electricians were very polite, the office was very fast and accommodated all my needs.
I'll defiantly use them again!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

thank you sir so much for these amazing review we really do appreciate hearing feedback and are employees strive to exceed expectations and we are so humbled to be receiving such great comments back on our workmanship

taccettura14 in Toronto
taccettura14 in Toronto
1 review Georgina, ON
10/10

Basement Reno

I called Hotwire to come in and wire an unfinished basement. From the start they were nothing but professional and curious. The guys came in on the date I scheduled and were able to finish it all up in the time they told me it would take! Plus they cleaned up after them and it was like they were never there! Well except for the awesome wiring job they did!

Would highly recommend them!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

thank you for this amazing review I am sure the team members at Hotwire I really going to appreciate hearing this amazing feedback

Alex in
Alex in
0 reviews Mississauga, ON
10/10

Bathroom renovations and sub panel

Hotwire was amazing to work with. Their guys showed up on time and were very pleasant to work with. Alex and Eric were very professional as well as the office team. They answered all my questions with out hesitation. I would recommend Hotwire to anyone looking for an electrician for any type of job big or small.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

thank you so much for this review I'm sure that our star employees will be more than pleased to receive this amazing feedback on the workmanship

Ildiko,
Ildiko,
3 reviews Toronto, ON
1/10

Disappointing

I contracted Hot Wire to do some simple electrical things (e.g. move dining lights from one floor to another & fix the doorbell (which ended up just being a broken chime)), as well as some more complicated things such as upgrading the 2nd floor kitchen by adding an electrical sub-panel, adding more outlets, and then overall bringing more amps into the house.

They did excel in terms of general response rate (i.e. quick to respond to questions). Also, the on-site team was pleasant & polite.

WHERE HOT WIRE FELL APART:

a) initial estimates were based off of info that I sent, rather than doing a proper on-site discussion/consultation (I'm not an expert on electrical; how the hell would I know the best way of upgrading kitchen electricals and where/what sub-panels/panels/outlets to run???) . ON-SITE CONSULTATION WITH NEW CLIENTS SHOULD BE KEY

b) Hanna (the owner?) seemed to never really understand my questions. I was asking for clarity when her description differed from her on-site team; instead, she thought I didn't understand her and then started talking in a rather condescending way. She needs to calm down and listen to the consumer. CALM DOWN HANNA

c) payment terms were immediate upon conclusion of the project (despite deposits being paid upfront). I found this a bit odd in that all other suppliers/contractors/industries I've ever dealt with have 30 day terms. What's more, I know that 95% of the electrical costs are soft costs (i.e. labour), not hard costs (supplies), so 'the need' for full immediate payment still surprises me. However, I suppose it's not a big issue, but it is still worth mentioning. COMPARE PAYMENT TERMS WITH OTHER SUPPLIERS

d) when it came to payment, I felt harassed. I indicated that I was paying by e-transfer, but the team would stay on-site till the transfer was done with Hanna often calling or emailing repeatedly to check on progress. Whatever. However, on one particular occasion, Hanna must have called 2 or 3 times and sent a few emails all in the span of 1/2 hour, just because e-transfer was slower than usual. I called the bank to confirm they could see the e-transfer was taking place, and they verified they could & that the internet was just slow. They were shocked that my supplier was harassing me like that. I even had to finally tell Hanna to back off, in that e-transfer payment was more immediate and complete vs a check would take 5 business days to clear or that could bounce. AGAIN, CALM DOWN HANNA.

e) I didn't find out till after the work was done, that I couldn't put any metal things near where the outlets were that happened to be under the sup-panel - which made the whole project useless. The whole point, as I had explained, was to be able to put a shelf of smaller appliances near the multiple outlets. Shelves have some metal (screws, hinges, other), let alone small appliances (e.g. toaster, toaster oven, etc.). Why was this not shared at the start of the project as I would have put the multiple outlets on another wall? To this day, I'm upset about this - and it all goes back to the beginning of the project where initial estimate should have been done in-person. AGAIN, UPFRONT PROPER CONSULTATION IS KEY.

f) after the work was complete, I also had a couple of outlets spark & burn out. Hot Wire wasn't willing to take responsibility and claimed it had nothing to do with the new main panel being put in. They charged me an additional $325+tax to fix 1 plug (within a month of doing the work), even though I had already paid over $9,000. You'd think they'd guarantee their workmanship better (especially in light of what I discovered about the equipment they used - see #g below)? I had another issue yet another couple of months later, and did reach out to Hot Wire. I could tell they were aiming for another service charge, so I didn't bother. THERE SHOULD BE GUARANTEE ON THE WORK, NOT ADDITIONAL CHARGES

g) Later on, I did have another electrician come to the house, and they indicated that the main panel was not the best quality (ie not siemens (nor even schneider brand)), and that is why I was having problems. Question is: if I'm already paying so much money, shouldn't Hot Wire have explained options and let me choose the brand?!??! YET AGAIN, PROPER CONSULTATION WITH CUSTOMER IS NEEDED

Overall, I was very dissatisfied with my experience with Hot Wire and am baffled that they have such high ratings on HomeStars. I absolutely regret having gone with them vs another electrician.

IN RESPONSE TO HOT WIRE'S COMMENTS:
At no time did I bully; if anything, I felt that I was the one being harassed - which is why I ended up resorting to email, to avoid confrontation over the phone.

I was not 'non-paying'; I paid the full amount BY E-TRANSFER on all 4 occasions. If you read my comments, you will have seen that even the bank (when I called them), confirmed that slowness was due to internet service.

Proper consultation was not given. I think we can agree to disagree on that.

Lastly, the poorly written response is evidence of overall poor communications by the firm. Let the note speak for itself.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

dear client while we appreciate all of this feedback I think the failure to admit a few main points that Hotwire did provide a scythe consultations we went over the estimates over and over again however the client was indecisive and not able to pee in a timely fashion which resulted in many phone calls back and forth asking the client for payment as of course you're not a company and we do not have 30-day terms with a homeowner that is supposed to pay at the end of the day and then ran out of funds and not able to pay us so while we understand that we are not perfect by any means we do have to take this review with the fact that the client was indecisive and non-paying so unfortunately the transaction was not very smooth with a non-paying client next time please read the contract that was signed where it stipulates that a deposit needs to be made and full payment needs to be available at the end of the day of the job since you are not on any terms with our company you refused to pay our company which again made the project goes sour

on a final note ... the plug she called about was on her a different floor and has nothing to do with scope of work as can be seen on our esa permit.

Hotwire has been award winning electrical firm for over a decade and when a client ever calls us years after the work we completed... we ensure to correct any deficiencies
what we will not do is ne bullied and threatened to do free work for a client that demands free service calls or threatens with defamation and negative reviews

in relation to the panel change and the workmanship both have passed with two separate permit by the electrical Safety Authority authorizing all the paperwork approving and certifying every single workmanship that was done on this site other than defaming us because the client was not able to pay her bills I'm really not sure where this anger is stemming from and the panel that was installed on this site is an Eaton Cutler-Hammer top-of-the-line panel of which the client called after 3 months asking us why we couldn't install a Schneider or a Siemens panel instead when our quotation and our Communications have always advised that we are an Eaton brand supplier we hope that the client appreciates the amount of work and effort that went into her project and seize the perhaps her one star review is not appropriate given how she transacted herself along the project and how many days and weeks we had to wait for her to find the funds and pay our company

we are sure our stellar reputation will speak for itself and the reviews where there is 1 bad apple will clearly show focus on the truth that transpired with this client

wishing you all an amazing day

Hotwire

Kieran
Kieran
0 reviews Toronto, ON
8/10

Electrical outlet work

I’m really conflicted on this one—in most ways, they did a very nice job and the service was great. But, it was also a frustrating experience, and I’m dissatisfied with one of the four things they installed... plus wasn’t cheap.

The crew had an amazing attitude; the office was polite but overbearing.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

thank you kindly for the feedback we really do appreciate it and we will try our best to ensure that our office has this feedback and they're able to take that back and evaluate where we can be even better than we are today

Rob in Toronto
Rob in Toronto
3 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Dead Outlet

Had a 'dead' outlet that I needed to get fixed and Hotwire Electric was very quick to help me out with the issue. Response time was fantastic and were able to send an electrician over the next day. Job was done in a snap and he was a true professional. Definitely recommended!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Rob thank you so much for your feedback it means a lot to our team to have met your expectations and we are very glad the weather the job is big or small we take care of all of the Hotwire clients
Hanna
sincerely
Hotwire

Jonathan
Jonathan
7 reviews Vaughan, ON
10/10

Potlight Installation

I needed a wired doorbell installed, potlights in my living room and my the area around my circuit breaker cleaned up.
The company is fast to respond to emails, the electricians showed up on time, acted professionally, cleaned up when work was done.
Very happy with the end result

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review for our electricians your feedback is very important to our company and ensuring that we continue to exceed expectations for all our clients

Eddy
Eddy
5 reviews Toronto, ON
9/10

Electric Panel Upgrade

Team arrived on time and they completed the job to a very high spec.
There were some issues with the way work got carried out that were promptly addressed and rectified. Hanna, Chen, Eric and the rest of the team were very cooperative and took the time to get the job done right.
Overall, I was already happy with the work, but was especially pleased with the response and feedback of management. and because of this, I would recommend them to others.

Review has 1 previous version
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

thank you kindly for the review and for the feedback as it only helps to make our company better and we truly strive to exceed expectations and we're glad to always be learning and developing and hopefully teaching all their employees to Accel at customer service

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Hotwire Electric

HOTWIRE ELECTRIC 416-553-5533
PLEASE EMAIL info@hotwire-electric.com
http://www.casaguru.com/web/hotwire-electric-all-inc
Twitter: @hotwire2001
HGTV FIND A PRO: http://www.hgtv.ca/findapro/details/?business_id=32279088&project_name=home%20renovation&service_name=electrical&location=Vaughan,Ontario&search_id=17033160664
Website: www.hotwire-electric.com

For over 10 years, we have successfully designed and provided quality electrical services and solutions to our clients. From custom homes to potlight installations and everything in between such as panels and service upgrades, Hotwire Electric-All can meet your electrical needs. We have build our reputation on quality workmanship and impeccable customer service. Coupled with personalized electrical design and advise to suit each individual client.

At Hotwire Electric, our certified electricians are 110% committed to serving our clients with great service, honesty, and most important integrity.

We offer a full spectrum of services for residential homes and commerical sites, from small projects to large. We strive to be efficient, neat and organized.
We ensure our customers’ satisfaction from beginning to end. From basic electrical wiring to high-end lighting design, home automation and million dollar custom homes we insist on paying attention to detail and providing superior workmanship every step of the way. For us, no job is too big or too small

Contact us for a quote today and see the Hotwire difference in your project!

We offer our residential and commercial services 7 days a week.
Contact us for your free estimate on your electrical projects.
Hotwire Electric-All in is a fully insured and an authorized electrical contractor with the Electrical Safety Authority. Check out esasafe.com to view our listing.

Services:
• Hotwire Electric offers Electrical Panel Upgrades
• Hotwire Electric offers Wiring and Rewiring
• Hotwire Electric offers Knob and Tube Replacement
• Hotwire Electric offers Troubleshooting and Repair
• Hotwire Electric offers Home Lighting Design
• Hotwire Electric offers Kitchen Lighting
• Hotwire Electric offers Basement Lighting
• Hotwire Electric offers Bathroom Lighting
• Hotwire Electric offers Outdoor and Landscape Lighting
• Hotwire Electric offers Pot light & LED Lighting (potlights)
• Hotwire Electric offers Ceiling Fan Installation
• Hotwire Electric offers Lighting Controls
• Hotwire Electric offers Custom Lighting Design (shops/offices)
• Hotwire Electric offers Recessed Lighting
• Hotwire Electric offers Landscape & Security Lighting
• Hotwire Electric offers Electrical System Upgrades
• Hotwire Electric offers Transformers, Circuit Breakers and Fuses
• Hotwire Electric offers Network Cabling
• Hotwire Electric offers Fault Detection, Repair & Maintenance
• Hotwire Electric offers Medium and Low voltage installations
• Hotwire Electric offers Switchboard and Metering installations
• Hotwire Electric offers Equipment grounding
• Hotwire Electric offers Energy Saving Options
• Hotwire Electric offers Regularly Scheduled Maintenance
• Hotwire Electric offers Electrical Inspections
• Hotwire Electric offers Custom homes
• Hotwire Electric offers Basement renovation
• Hotwire Electric offers Generators and backup power solutions
• Hotwire Electric offers Additions and renovations
• Hotwire Electric offers Solar projects and Micro-fit program installations
• Hotwire Electric offers Panel upgrades from fuses to breakers
• Hotwire Electric offers Electrical wiring and rewiring (new and old)
• Hotwire Electric offers Outdoor outlets and motion/security lights
• Hotwire Electric offers Service installations and upgrades 60 amp to 100/200 amp/ 400amp
• Hotwire Electric offers Security and Landscape Lighting
• Hotwire Electric offers Installation of pot lights,flourescent lighting,ballasts,
• Hotwire Electric offers new services,panel upgrades,transfer switches for generators,fan
motors,exhaust fans,installation of receptacles
• Hot tub electrical wiring installed
• Hotwire Electric offers Fluorescent lights
• Hotwire Electric offers Under cabinet lights
• Hotwire Electric offers Ceiling fans
• Hotwire Electric offers Dimmers, switches, outlets
• Hotwire Electric offers Commericial Electrical
• Hotwire Electric offers Industrial electrical
• Hotwire Electric offers Pools and hot tubs, pool bonding and pool equipment installs, PS4 and Ps2 automation panels
• Hotwire Electric offers Basements and renovations
• Hotwire Electric offers Additions and contracting
• Hotwire Electric offers Generators and backup power

call 416-553-5533
email info@hotwire-electric.com
web www.hotwire-electric.com

Keywords: Hotwire Electric + Licensed electrician, Residential electrical, potlights, troubleshooting, electrical renovations,Outdoor Lighting ,Systems Design, Surge Protection, Stoves,Dryers, generator, residential backup power generator installations, Water Heaters, Amp Service Upgrades, Electrical Maintenance Service, basement renovations. Specializes in complete lighting design and rewiring / new wiring of basements all residential electrical services, Additions, and new construction wiring.
Quality workmanship at a great price!
emergency calls, SOLAR, ATS, AUTOMATIC TRANSFER SWITCH, GENERATOR, COMMERCIAL, INDUSTRIAL, RESIDENTIAL.
Electrician Vaughan, Electrician Forest Hill, Electrician Richmond Hill, electrician Toronto, electrician Woodbridge, ESA licensed contractor

CATEGORIES
Electricians, Home Automation, Lighting, Basement Renovation, Bathroom Renovation, and Landscape Lighting
PRODUCTS
Potlights , Recessed Lights, Solar Power, Motion Detectors, Ceiling Fans, Heaters, All Electrical Supplies, Home Automation Systems, RADIORA, Generators, Panels, Cutler Hammer, Siemens, Central Vacs, Hayward, Pools, LED, Tape Light, Knob And Tube Removal, Breaker Panel, Breakers, Baseboard Heaters and More
BRANDS
liteline, contrast, decora, Lutron, Juno, Cutler hammer, square d. siemens, europhase, in-lite, cooper
STYLES
Hotwire Electric works with your designer, your clients, direct builders / renovators and homeowners directly to ensure 110% satisfaction.
SPECIALITIES
new construction wiring, service upgrades and panels, custom homes, renovations and additions. potlights, residential electrical, generators and backup power service, pools and hot tubs. pool installations. pool hook-ups.
WEBSITE
http://www.hotwire-electric.com
YEAR ESTABLISHED
2001
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
15
PAYMENT METHOD
credit cards,cash, cheque, terms for contractors
LICENSES
Master Licensed Electricians, 309a, ESA
MEMBERSHIPS
OEL, ESA, EATON, ACP, BILD
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
DIPLOMAS
5M LIABILITY INSURANCE
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
PROJECT MINIMUM
WSIB COVERED
BONDED
Yes
PROJECT RATE
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
Covered by Fully Warranty on parts and labour
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.