Canadian Choice Windows & Doors

Windows & Doors Installation & Service
Calgary AB T2H 2J7
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

90%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2019 winner 7 timesBest of 2019winner 7 times

Reviews for Canadian Choice Windows & Doors

Average customer rating:
9.4 10 (2455 reviews)

Sort by

K - Toronto
K - Toronto
9 reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Unprofessional, terrible customer service - Do not recommend

I replaced 18 windows in the past with Canadian Choice, so they seemed like the obvious choice for my latest need to replace/update 8 windows. After getting multiple quotes from different providers, I decided on Canadian Choice because of the history. The sales guy (Jemal) came out on a weekend and I placed the order. Gave a deposit of $935. Installer came out a week later and advised my daughter that replacing the 2 “fake” attic windows might be a problem because the attic is inaccessible from the inside, and that he would call me to discuss. He never called. A few weeks passed and I heard nothing, so I reached out to Canadian Choice and spoke with a gentleman who told me he would get back to me ASAP. That never happened. Another week passed, and I called today and spoke with Richelle who didn’t know what was going on and couldn’t find my file. She promised to get back to me – but didn’t. Later that day, I got a call from Jemal (sales guy) who tells me they can't do the basement windows because they're “inaccessible”. Because we recently merged two houses, and the basement was jammed with stuff back when Jemal was originally here, I thought he meant that, so I advised him it had been cleared out and the windows are now fully accessible. He was confused and had to call the installer back. Shortly after, he called me back and said they can’t install the basement windows because they're "inset" from the bricks…that it’s as if my “house was built around the windows”, which of course is not possible. I don’t know of any window that isn’t inset from the bricks and my basement windows are no different from any other window on my house in how they're set in the frame. He tells me they can't do the job and will issue me a cheque for the $935 down payment that cleared weeks ago.

I ended up immediately reaching out to a friend of mine who is a contractor and he indicated something isn’t right because there’s absolutely no reason why the windows cannot be installed. I have now requested a full explanation be emailed to me ASAP because none of it makes sense

UPDATE - May 14:

I received an email from Richelle from Canadian Choice, who indicated the reason they can't install the windows is because the basement windows are inaccessible from the outside and that there's no room to cap the new window once installed. Both of these statements are false. All basement windows are fully accessible from both the outside and inside, and they can be capped. Richelle also communicated they can't replace the 2 “fake” attic windows because the attic is inaccessible from the inside. There is no access to the attic from the house - this is true - but other installers have told me this can be done without issue.

Richelle also communicated they "don't want to turn away business", which is odd since they haven’t mentioned anything about the 3 large windows on this order that make up the majority of the project cost (walk in bay window in the living room). Seems an unusual approach for a business to be all or nothing. It’s like ordering off a menu only to learn the dish isn’t available and the restaurant asking you to leave.

After some back and forth that included photos, Richelle from Canadian Choice offered to send a Senior Technician out to the house to have a second look at the basement windows, which I obliged. I assume she then saw this review because I received an email from her stating "Thank you for your review on HomeStars. I will make sure a cheque in the amount of $935.00 is in the mail today." and nothing else. I guess sharing my experience with Canadian Choice Windows here means no one is coming out to the house to give a second look.

I'm a VP in Customer Experience. I work in the business of experience design all day, every day. Take it from me - avoid this business. They are very unprofessional and have terrible customer service. I have waited weeks to be told nothing is going to happen, which has delayed a slew of other things now - and their reasoning is based in false information.

The other important facet to this is they’ve breached the contract we both entered into. The pink contract we both signed binds us into this agreement. #17 states any amendments to the contract must be agreed to by both parties in writing.

For reference, I've included a photo of what the basement windows look like.

UPDATE: May 22
On May 14, I received an email from Richelle @ Canadian Choice indicating my downpayment of $935 would be sent out that day. Today is May 22 and still no cheque arrived in the mail so I reached out via email to Richelle to find out when she sent it, keeping in mind I gave it to them 6 weeks ago for a job they refused to do and breached a contract over. She communicated to me that she never sent it because she thought they were sending another installer out to review the job. For context, I didn't agree to send another installer out until the May 16 (after she asked me if she could) to which she NEVER EVEN RESPONDED. Ergo, no second installer. Talk about getting the run-around. The manner in which Canadian Choice is handling this is absolutely ridiculous, with some questionable business practices. I can't believe it's this difficult to get my money back for a job they refused to do.

UPDATE: JUNE 25

Since I'm now seeing CC's response to this, I believed it was important to provide an update to my review as their response is inaccurate and quite misleading. At no point did I refuse to allow a senior technician to come out to my house. In fact, it was the complete opposite - I agreed to have another installer out because I had 2 other window companies advising me that the information provided by CC's installer was wrong. On May 14, 2019 @ 12:12 pm, I sent an email to Richelle @ CC stating the following: "Yes - I would like a senior technician to visit the house and tell me the basement windows cannot be installed." and then at 1:14 pm, I received an email from Richelle stating: "Thank you for your review on HomeStars, I will make sure a cheque in the amount of $935.00 is in the mail today." to which I responded with, "Does this mean you’re not sending the “senior technician” out? Because I posted a review of my experience with you to Homestars? Sounds pretty unprofessional. I’ll be sure to share this as well." to which Richelle responded with, "No this does not mean that at all, you said HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE - DO NOT RECOMMEND I thought it was safe to think you wouldn't want us out there again. Please let me know if I'm wrong." I let her know she was wrong, but the Senior technician never showed, was never arranged, and that was wholly on CC, not me. I have an entire email chain detailing the exchange, so I'm not sure why Canadian Choice is being untruthful in their response.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello K,
We would like to apologize if you feel your customer experience has been less than favourable. As you mentioned we did a previous job of 18 windows for you that you were very happy with, and for that we are very thankful and appreciative. As discussed with you several times after the signing of your contract, there was some concerns regarding the installation of your current project and was decided Canadian Choice would not do the job for reasons discussed. We will not take a job that we are not confident we can install and warranty. Your deposit cheque was returned to you as promised. Canadian Choice feels the consumer/business relationship became unrepairable when you refused to let our senior technician come back out for another opinion. You said you have a contractor friend that said the job could be done without issue, perhaps this person can get the job done for you.

Regards,
Canadian Choice Windows & Doors

Tim in The Grange
Tim in The Grange
8 reviews Toronto, ON
9/10

New windows on front of townhouse

Generally quite satisfied. They offered reasonable pricing and the installation work was well done. This is a professional operation and they they know what they are doing.

My only quibble is with the design of the windows themselves. The glass is fine, but there is a LOT of plastic. The frame/casing is very thick (see photo) and the actual surface area of glass is less than my old windows, so a bit less light gets in. (That matters in an older home.)

That's understandable on casement, but more glass and far less plastic would be better on fixed windows. Nothing wrong with the company or the installers, but the design of their windows could be improved.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for choosing Canadian Choice Windows & Doors.

We are glad to hear that our very own sales and installation teams have done a wonderful job for you.

Enjoy your new windows and we wish you a positive spring/summer season.

Sincerely, Canadian Choice family

Murtuza Diwan from Milton
Murtuza Diwan from Milton
39 reviews Milton, ON
10/10

Change my bedroom and ensuite windows

Mike was great. He did not go round and round but was straight. I was planning to replace all my wondows but after inspection, Mike said that only my master bedroom's windows along with the ensuite window needs to be changed immediately and rest could last for a year or even more. He gave me free installation which also included installing back my blinds. The new windows looks awesome. Extremely happy with the customer service too.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for choosing Canadian Choice Windows & Doors.

We are glad to hear that our very own Mike has done a wonderful job for you.

Enjoy your new windows and we wish you a positive spring/summer season.

Sincerely, Canadian Choice family

lgat
lgat
0 reviews Portage La Prairie, MB
10/10

Patio door replacement

From the consultation to the scheduling and to the actual replacement of the patio door, it was well organized and they were all very easy to deal with. All questions asked were answered appropriately. Thanks to Ivan, Faruck, and Chris! Really well done! Thanks so much!

Was this review helpful?
ChrisK Yip in North York
ChrisK Yip in North York
0 reviews Toronto, ON
8/10

Whole house Windows Replacement

Work was done in a Professional Manner, all work was finished in 1 day and they did a decent clean up job after, even wiping the windows and sills down to get rid of most of the dust and stuff on the windows while they were being installed. After the job was finished, the supervisor walked through the job and inspected each window with me before leaving. They cleaned up all the trash and had everything cleaned off my lawn

Was this review helpful?
Dpd
Dpd
0 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Windows

Good quality product, e.g. hardware. The trim matches the window. Very quick response from Stan for initial quote.

Was this review helpful?
Richard in Lethbridge
Richard in Lethbridge
0 reviews Lethbridge, AB
10/10

Windows replacement

My wife and I really love the new windows. The installation only took about 2 1/2 hrs. and the installers were very efficient and cleaned up when they were done. Alex was very informative and pleasant to deal with. I would definitely refer Canadian Choice Windows to anyone.

Was this review helpful?
Gady in Calgary
Gady in Calgary
0 reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

New windows and door

Excellent job! Olga was our sales rep, she was amazing and knowledgeable. All the staff was competent and friendly. They cleaned up all the mess. My new windows and door look really good. Thanks!

Was this review helpful?
Vince in New Westminster
Vince in New Westminster
0 reviews New Westminster, BC
10/10

Window replacement

Windows were installed quickly, installers were polite and courteous. No pressure from Alex. Excellent quality triple pain windows replace steel sliders and 40 year old double pane windows. Great construction.

Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Canadian Choice Windows & Doors

Save thousands by dealing directly with a manufacturer! Canadian Choice Windows and Doors Inc. is a leading manufacturer of windows in Canada, serving Ontario. Canadian Choice Windows and Doors offers a huge selection of replacement windows including energy efficient windows, vinyl windows, casement windows, awning windows and bow and bay windows.

Canadian Choice Windows and Doors has been serving Toronto, Richmond Hill, North York, Markham, Mississauga, Oakville, Burlington, Hamilton, Kitchener, Cambridge, Niagra Falls and the surrounding areas as well as in Calgary, Edmonton, Winnipeg and Northern Ontario.

Why is Canadian Choice Windows and Doors your best solution for window replacement?

1. No Pressure Estimate: take your time & make informed decision

2. Save Money: Energy Star windows will reduce your energy bill by 30 %

3. Professional Installation: flawless installation and thorough clean up by courteous installers

4. High Quality: The highest quality windows in the industry, featuring foam injected honey comb structure.

5. Easy Financing: Financing solutions to fit anyone’s lifestyle

6. Maximum Comfort: low-E coating to reflect summer sun and retain winter heat with our Cardinal Smart Glass system.

7. Zero Maintenance: our windows are easy to clean from within the home and will never fade or discolor

Canadian Choice Windows and Doors is your smartest solution for window and door replacement.

CATEGORIES
Windows & Doors Installation & Service
PRODUCTS
replacement windows, vinyl windows, basement windows, casement windows, double hung windows, awning windows, custom windows, energy efficient windows, energy start windows
SERVICES
replacement windows, windows manufacturer, windows installation, custom windows
BRANDS
Canadian Choice Windows and Doors
STYLES
casement windows, vinyl windows, basement windows, garden windows, architectural windows, awning windows, double slider windows, double hung and bow and bay windows, classic, contemporary and modern styles are available.
SPECIALITIES
Factory-direct windows - save thousands by avoiding the middleman. Professional installation - our crews will install your windows on time and will do a thorough clean up of work area.
WEBSITE
http://www.windowscanada.com
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1976
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
70
PAYMENT METHOD
cash, cheque, Visa, MasterCard, financing
LICENSES
Better Business Bureau, CSA, Energy Star
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
Lifetime warranty on all windows installed
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.