Biltmore Domicile

Furniture
44 Sherbourne St Toronto ON M5A 2P7
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Furniture
Biltmore Domicile
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

35%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Biltmore Domicile

Average customer rating:
6.8 10 (16 reviews)

Sort by

ellen  in Toronto
ellen in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

custom slipcover and redesign of existing sofa

I had bought a sectional from another company and when they delivered it didn't fit! they refused to take it back and i was stuck with this huge piece of furniture in my garage. A friend of mine told me about Biltmore and I called them right away. they came to my house and looked at the piece and assessed what needed to be done in order for this piece to fit up the stairs. They basically took the arms off and made a washable slipcover for the sectional. I was very pleased that they were so accommodating and made the best deal possible for me. I definitely recommend them and I will be always be grateful for their help.

Was this review helpful?
roger in East York
roger in East York
1 review East York, ON
10/10

all of my upholstered furniture

I have been using Biltmore Furniture since they opened in toronto and their quality and service have been consistant over the years. I love my biltmore sofas, I have bought furniture from them for 3 houses now and I definitely recommend them to my friends and family. I definitely recommend them for custom upholstery, great service and great quality.

Was this review helpful?
Uxbridge gal
Uxbridge gal
2 reviews Uxbridge, ON
0/10

Custom sectional sofa

Biltmore Domicile- Toronto location are dishonest. We ordered a large suede sectional and leather loveseat from Biltmore Domicile- Toronto location. The arms on the sectional were incorrect as we wanted straight arms and they delivered curved. Gary Grossman of Biltmore Domicile whom I believe is the owner came to our home to remove the curved arms and propped our sectional on magazines for support. A week later, the straight arms were delivered. When we unwrapped the arms we discovered there were holes in the fabric and the wood feet were severely scuffed and damaged. We took pictures and called Biltmore who advised us to email the evidence to info@biltmoredomicile.com . We did so promptly and were told that the fabric had to be ordered and that the courier company had to be called. For the next 3 months, we called Gary and Biltmore Domicile Toronto every week- sometimes twice a week. No one ever returned our calls or would advise us as to what was happening. Today we left 2 calls for Gary of Biltmore advising him that we would be seeking legal counsel. We received a call from Biltmore Toronto an hour later asking if we had paperwork from the courier company??! After spending $10,000 with this company, receiving damaged merchandise, not returning our calls for 3 months- this is what they say? We are horrified to discover that this is the way they deal with customer issues.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

customer orginally ordered curved arms and at the time of delivery, customer was not sure if he wanted to keep the curved ones or have them changed to straight arms as his wife was not there. He clearly said that he would take care of the transport by bringing the arms back to the showroom in Toronto if they decided after his wife saw the arms that she wanted them straightened. So our delivery truck left without the arms. Customer then called after his wife saw the furniture and wanted the arms changed but changed his mind again by saying that he did not want to bring the arms into Toronto from out in the country where he lives. Our truck then had to go back out to the country to pick up the arms and transport them back to the factory in Montreal for alterations..luckily the alterations were very simply and require no extra fabric...customer wanted the arms returned right away and again refused to pick them up at the toronto showroom even though at the time of delivery he said that he goes to Toronto quite frequently. In order to accomodate our customer we agreed to courier the arms to his house. The arms were both in perfect condition when they left our workshop. He then calls and explains that one of the arms has a puncture on it which probably happened when he opened the packaging. In addtion there aresome marks on the wooden feet that might have happened in trasport. We agreed to order more fabric to adjust the one arm that somehow got damaged. The fabric arrived quite quickly and the next time our delivery truck is out in the country close by where the customer lives, we are willing to pick up the arms and bring them back to our workshop for repairs. It is too bad that he is so ungrateful for all that we have done for him from moving his old furniture downstairs to spending many hours adjusting his carpets that really has nothing to do with our furniture delivery. And of course, he did not give one dollar of a tip as he think he paid so much for the furniture when really he got an amazing deal as all of our customers receive.

Leasider
Leasider
3 reviews East York, ON
0/10

Custom Sectional Sofa

We ordered a custom sectional from Biltmore Domicile. After waiting more than the estimated timeline the sectional was delivered but didn't match the contract drawings. Another sectional was made and unfortunately it didn't match the contract drawings which the Biltmore representative created.

Although the "Consumer Protection Act" allowed us to cancel the contract and get a refund, Biltmore refused our request. Biltmore had our money, we had no product, therefore the only option was to go to court. Even though judgement was awarded to us, Biltmore refused to pay. We didn't give up and we finally got our money about a year and a half later. Not what I would call good customer service especially when the manufacturer was at fault!

Jaime, regarding your response, I find it odd that you commented on this as you were not even involved or employed at Biltmore when this transaction transpired. We were dealing with Gary directly.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

the sectional was made exactly as you ordered and you simply did not like what you ordered. We agreed to make you something else but you are the most difficult customer ever. Luckliy out of the thousand of great customers we haver..there is only one like you.

davit
davit
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

sofa for basement

I never thought i could find a couch for my basement but the guys at biltmore made me a completely custom sectional that came in pieces and was reassembled inside my basement, so now i can use that room. I did wait roughly about 2 months for it but at the end it was well worth it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

not sure who you are but thanks for this review.

Ludovica
Ludovica
1 review ,
10/10

custom sectional

I had a beautiful extra large sectional made by Biltmore and it was delivered in record time(4 weeks). We made sure that the fabric was available because fabrics get backordered often and that can delay delivery of the furniture. Overall I had a very pleasant experience. I would definitely recommend them. Their prices are very competitive for Canadian made furniture definitely not cheap but excellent value.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

not sure who you are but thanks for this review..

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Biltmore Domicile

Biltmore has ben producing high quality hand-crafted sofas for over 30 years. We specialize in custom made upholstered furniture. What sets our company apart, it is the way our sofas are constructed. Al our frames are made from kiln dried canadian maple, corner blocked, doweled and screwed. We use a ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Furniture pros in Markham?