Reviews

10/10

During our main floor renovation we decided to replace a large window that looked out onto our deck with double french doors. We suspected there might be an issue as the ceilings in our home and therefore the windows were not standard sizing. Our contractors suggested Torwin doors and we could not be happier with their product offerings or service. From the very first site visit with Jody the service was impeccable. He came prepared to discuss all possibilities and brought color swatches for the outside door color to ensue it would match our exsisting stucco. They even found a way to fit a standard door into my large opening to save the expense of having to custom make a door. To select the actual door Jody suggested we go see Cassi at their head office. She was extremely knowledgable and took the time to answer all my questions and helped me pick the appropriate door and hardware for my needs. Not only did they help me with the new doors but Cassi went out of her way to find a source for privacy glass for my existing front door. This door was not one of their doors nor did it fit their standard measurements but Cassi went above and beyond. Once the doors were installed there was an issue with keying and again Cassi's solution was so fair that I had to write this review to express my satisfaction with the customer service. It's a rare company that has a solid product combined with stellar customer service but Torwin Doors has both in spades. Thanks to Jody, Cassi and Nick for a great service experience.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to write the review. It was an absolute pleasure working with you and your selection in both the style of door (including the colour) and the hardware was impeccable! Thank you for the business and we look forward to working with you again in the future.

7/10

CAS offered the best deal on the washer / dryer combo we were considering for our home. They came in almost $1300 less than their competitors. Dave Thomas, our salesman, was helpful and knowledgeable about the units they had available. He was polite, patient with all my questions and not pushy. We paid extra for delivery, removal of old appliances and installation of new. I would skip the installation fee and do it yourself. The delivery company, while serviceable in terms of delivering the appliances, was lacking when it came to installation knowledge. I ended up redoing their install job. Overall I was satisfied with the service Dave provided but the delivery portion was lacking.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

Great service! My email requesting service was promptly returned despite my having sent it well after "office" hours. Tyler was polite and courteous and offered to send his son out at the earliest time available. Layton arrived ahead of schedule and was extremely knowledgeable. He explained what the issue was, took pictures before and after and completed the work efficiently and effectively. I will definitely keep their name on file for future cleaning, which, according to them, should not be for another three years!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the review Sharon. We strive to respond to customers as quickly as possible. I'm glad we could take care of your venting issues and provide you with insights as to the best way to maintain your vent. We appreciate your business.

9/10

Arthur and his team are exceptional at what they do. I had several companies quote me on the job but The Roof Whisperer was really the only one to thoroughly assess the situation and then provide a long term solution. The $75 assessment fee was well worth it in our case as it uncovered several issues that needed to be addressed prior to fixing the existing roof / leaks and installing 3 brand new skylights. He was honest with me about the cost and even suggested I could get some of the work done cheaper if I went with a handyman or insulator for some of the repairs prior to his completing the roof. In the end I had Arthur and his team (a special thanks to Tony!!!) do all the work and am very happy with the decision. Thanks Guys!!!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Sharon;
Thank you for taking the time to write here on this board. Our guys are exceptional and are honest with the customer. The roof assessment is done by taking our time to give an honest looking over to check for any issues that could possibly arise and advising the owner. We try to educate them about the roof.

The Roof Whisperer Team

9/10

Last night our garage door literally fell of the track. It was hanging precariously by the wires used to open it electronically. After struggling to unhook the door and balance it back in place we called Easy Flip Garage Doors Inc. They were actually one of three companies I called from HomeStars and were in fact the only company who could come on such short notice; all the others either wanted an "emergency rate" or could not come until next week. Not only did Easy Flip come the day of the call they did not charge me an "emergency rate". The price quoted was extremely reasonable and the technician, Mike, was knowledgeable. I was certain the track would have to be replaced as it was damaged when the door fell. Mike was able to repair the track, diagnose the cause of the problem, suggest and install alternate hardware to lessen the chance of it happening again. He also offered some maintenance advice to prolong the life of the door. I was nervous at first as the quote seemed to good to be true and I am a firm believer that you get what you pay for but in this case I'm glad I chose Easy Flip. All in all the service was stress free and Mike was a pleasure to work with. Thanks Easy Flip!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Sharon, thank you for sharing your experience with us here on homestars. When we heard about your situation, we knew this could be a safety issue and we always try our best to be there for our customers as soon as we possibly can. You called and booked your appointment during our regular service hours, hence, we didn't charge "emergency rate" although yours is a pretty urgent situation. Our "emergency rate" only applies during our emergency service hours of after 7pm. We're very happy we were able to help you out right away and that you are happy with the service. It was our pleasure to work with you and we are always here if you need our garage door services again in the future.

9/10

We have a very shady back yard with quite a bit of tree cover. A Japanese Maple that was planted there was slowly dying. Upon consultation with a horticulturist it was suggested we try and prune the surrounding trees to give the maple room to "breathe". Out of all the quotes I requested Craig, with CB Tree Service, was the only one to offer service beyond the pruning of the trees I originally requested. He not only pruned my trees but removed some offending branches from neighbouring yards (especially those among the power lines) to really open up the space and allow quite a bit more sunlight into the area. He then suggested that next spring I try a liquid fertilizer as well as spikes to try and bring the maple back to life. The work was done expediently and the area left clean and tidy. Overall a great experience. Thanks Craig!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Sharon thank you so much for the kind words and for posting this review. The yard looks great now and much brighter after the pruning, I'm pleased with the results. I hope the Japanese maple tree does much better now with all the extra sunshine.
Good luck with the garden and thank you very much for the work.
All the best, Craig.