Reviews

10/10

I had Butler Plumbing come out to fix a slow leak from my pressure relief valve on my Bradford White hot water tank. The plumber came within the allotted time frame, was very courteous and knowledgeable, and left the work area nice & tidy when he finished. I am very happy with the repair (new pressure relief valve), and the cost was reasonable.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Kelly,
I'm glad that we were able to help you out and get everything fixed and working properly. Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our services. We look forward to hearing from you in the future.

10/10

We were extremely satisfied with the work that Steve and his contractors performed for us this spring. We experienced a leak during a thaw this winter and Steve was very thorough in finding the cause of the leak (an ice dam that was caused by an improperly vented, old cast iron pipe). The existing cast iron pipe was switched to PVC, the point of penetration was moved higher up on the roof, and new flashing was installed. As our house is 1947 vintage with a roof nearing 20 years old, we also had our roof replaced, the old insulation removed from our cold attic space, and new spray foam and insulation installed into our attic. Steve was able to coordinate everything to get all the work done within a week and the price was reasonable. When we noticed a little bit of roofing tar on our stucco and some minor damage to a ceiling upstairs, workers arrived the next day in each case to clean up the tar / patch & paint the ceiling and now everything looks great! Steve answered all of our questions promptly and his team did a fantastic job of keeping the workplace clean. We highly recommend Tower Contracting and wouldn't hesitate to hire again!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Kelly, thanks for taking the time to leave us such a great review!

10/10

We hired Reid's Roofing to repair a few loose shingles (wind damage) and to install a chimney cap. Although the job itself was small, they were very prompt in sending someone out to provide an estimate, and we really appreciated the forthright discussions about the overall condition of our roof/recommended work. The gentleman sent out to complete the work was very polite, kept the work area clean, and took the time to walk us through the work when he was finished. We are very happy with the quality of work and wouldn't hesitate to hire Reid's Roofing again!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Kelly,
We greatly appreciate you taking the time on writing a review! Were glad Mark was able to solve the issue! We wish you all the best and thank you again for the opportunity!

Reid's Roofing Family

6/10

We had a new furnace installed last month and Reliance was off to a good start with an easy to use online booking system, a fast response on the estimate, and a price that was on par with other contractors. The rest of our experience, unfortunately, has not gone as smoothly. Two technicians arrived to install the new furnace. There was no discussion of what work would take place or where new venting would be run, rather the technicians just got to work and drilled a hole in my house where they thought the new venting should go. Previous communications with Reliance led me to believe that there would be a system check and a walk through before the technicians left. One of the techs kindly walked me through operation of the thermostat, but the other fellow (after borrowing my multimeter to attempt to troubleshoot the furnace, since he did not have one of his own on hand) simply stated that I would receive a call sometime later in the day for another technician to come by and fix the furnace since they could not get it up and running. I was thankful I arranged to have the whole day off of work as there was no call, rather the third technician stopped by unannounced. It turns out that the installation crew had cut through several wires when installing the new air filter ducting. The third fellow was very polite and was able to solve the problem within a few minutes and had our furnace up and running. The actual furnace itself is great - much quieter, more efficient, and more even heat throughout our house compared to our old unit. While the inside of my house was left clean (minus a few unscrewed lightbulbs from the original crew where the new venting had been run), a significant amount of resin was spilled along my stone walkway, patio and stairs. There was a patch where one of the original crew members had obviously tried to wipe it up, but had only succeeded in rubbing it into the pores and the making the stone look worse. The patio and stonework is only just over a year old (and I spent more on the stonework than the furnace!), and I was quite upset that the original technicians had made such a mess on the stone when we had plenty of grass and a gravel driveway that they could have used instead. It took several weeks and quite a few calls/e-mails/text messages to arrange for a sub-contractor to come out and look at the stones and though it has been over a month since the furnace was installed, I am still waiting on Reliance to "source the patio stones" based on the information I provided and/or come up with a plan to remediate the spills. Also, since we had the furnace installed during a relatively warm period, we did not notice for a few days that the new venting was leaking. Again, it took a couple of communications to arrange for a repair crew to come out to fix the leaking venting. We were told that the repair crew would be out before noon on a Saturday, and two gentlemen arrived at 11:58 on the Saturday morning, cut-out and replaced the leaking section within 5 minutes. If the repair had been successful, that would have been awesome, but flash forward 60 minutes and the leak was back (I suspect the support for the venting was tightened abruptly before the resin had set). We scheduled another repair, and were given a window of 2 pm - 5 pm on a Monday. Given that both my husband and I work, we had made arrangements to have someone home during that window, but to our dismay, no one showed up and no calls were placed to inform us about any change in the scheduled appointment. After an e-mail the next day to my contact, I received another call to schedule the repair and was told that there was a miscommunication the day prior. The next repair is supposed to be tomorrow evening, and I truly hope that it works out. It has been 5 weeks of us having to have a bucket in the middle of our basement floor to catch drips from our new furnace. At this point, it feels almost like a comedy of errors and I must admit that I have regretted my choice of installer after all the extra time the subsequent appointments/repairs have required, and I still have a leaking vent and marred stonework. I was charged in full for the work the day of the installation, despite the fact that no walk through was conducted and I did not sign off on anything for completion of the work. I tried waiting to fill out the e-mailed customer satisfaction survey (since the work has not yet been completed), but I found out too late that the link has expired. Reliance has some good things going for it (some good technicians, sometimes prompt responses, good furnaces), but my personal experiences have left me feeling somewhat sour. I truly hope that they will fix the leaking venting and the spills soon. November 7, 2017: Updating the review - a Reliance technician stopped by last week to fix our leak and we are happy now to be able to put away our bucket under the venting. The technician even came early in the evening so that we didn't have to miss any more time away from work, which was great. We received assurances from the Edmonton General Manager that a follow up for our patio repair will be done this coming spring (2018), so hopefully I'll be able to check back later with good news!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Kelly,

I believe that I had responded to another review that you had posted. Please email me directly and I would be happy to help. hkrizsan@reliancecomfort.com ~ Haley

9/10

This review is for installation of a patio, stone steps, and pathway that we had done in July 2016 - the delay in submission is because I wanted to see how everything held up over the winter. To start, Sean from RCL came out promptly to discuss the scope of work and to provide an estimate. He took his time, was very knowledgeable, and made some good suggestions. The start date was somewhat delayed relative to the initial estimate (scheduling issues on our part, then some rainy weather shortly thereafter); however when the project did get going, RCL employees showed up in full force and worked hard to get our project finished within a week. I was very happy that we hired a contractor with the right tools for the job, as they ended up taking away a dump truck's worth of concrete from our old walkway. RCL did a fantastic job on the stonework (patio, walkway and stairs) and regrading the area to correct drainage around our house. We had some issues with where they cemented in our new gate relative to our neighbour's fence - I can understand why they placed the gate where they did, but it was far enough off of the originally discussed position that a somewhat inconveniently placed planter was required to plug the gap. A large portion of our lawn needed levelling and reseeding to reverse the damage caused by the heavy equipment (likely more than was expected at the onset of the project), and RCL did a great job of restoring the area. A few messages back and forth were required at the end of the project to clean up a few items. RCL also put down some replacement crush on our driveway (again, to fix damage caused by the heavy equipment), however this area quickly became a mud pit in the fall. Spring was equally unkind to the new fill on the driveway, and one of the patio stones developed a thin crack during the thaw. Sean was fairly quick to respond to my message about the driveway crush and cracked stone (April 2017), and it took about a month for RCL to get to the repairs (May 2017). They did a fantastic job on the stone replacement and were much more thorough when fixing the driveway this spring.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

I contacted Active Tree Services after a wind storm cracked a large tree in our front yard that was threatening to fall on our house and possibly our neighbour's house or the front street. Jerry stopped by the next day and provided a comprehensive estimate and responded promptly to all of my questions. Out of several companies offering pruning/removal services, Active Tree Services was the fastest to respond and their rates were similar to their competitors. Despite a busy couple of weeks with wind damage around the City, Active Tree Services was able to come by within about a week to remove our cracked tree, and they followed up a week later with the stump grinding. We asked that they leave the wood for us to use, so we were very happy to come home and find everything cut into manageable sizes and stacked neatly. They also did a very nice job of pruning another tree in our front yard. I would definitely use Active Tree Services again!

Was this review helpful?
10/10

I am very happy with the service that Travis provided. He was prompt, courteous and took the time to explain the new hot water tank to us. Travis answered all of our questions and left the work area nice and tidy. Thank you!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Kelly, Thanks for the review. I really appreciate your time. Our business relies on referrals and great customers like yourself.