Speedy Appliance Repair

Appliance Repair
45 Bishop Tutu Blvd Toronto ON M5V 2Z8
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Appliance Repair in Markham  >  Speedy Appliance Repair  >  Cam to repair my dryer and left a shock and fire hazard
victor  in Mississauga
victor in Mississauga
1 review Toronto, ON

Cam to repair my dryer and left a shock and fire hazard

I called this company to take a look at why my dryer is no longer working. They sent a technician to investigate and it was discovered that the control module was defective and needed to be replaced. They quoted me a price for the repair, which was $600.00 and needed a 50% deposit. I gave them the deposit and the technician said he will be back the next day to finish the repair.

This is when everything fell apart. About 3 hours later, I decided against the repair and asked for my deposit back minus the service call fee of $65.00. It was at this point the manager said that I would be subject to a 25% percent restocking fee. At no point was I told by the technician there would be a restocking fee or on the invoice there is nothing claiming the same. So my question to the manager is why I am being charged a 25% restocking fee on a part that your technician hasn't even picked up from the supplier yet. In the 25 years of being a contractor I have never been charged a restocking fee on a part that they had in stock.

So after a very rude discussion with the manager I told him I have no choice but pay the 25% restocking fee but I needed a copy of the receipt that stated he was indeed being charged a fee, for which the he flatly refused.

I then asked the manager why his technician left the cover off the dryer and the 240 volt electrical wires exposed with the dryer itself plugged in? The Electrical Safety Authority considers this is a shock and fire hazard and they take this very seriously. When I told the manager that I will be calling them to file a safety complaint it then that was told that I will not be getting by $300 deposit back because he needed it to help pay the fines that The Electrical Safety Authority will levy against him and his company. It was at this point when he hung up on me, leaving my house in an unsafe condition. As of today, it is believed that this company is being investigated for leaving a workplace in an unsafe condition and presenting a shock and fire hazard.

Please be warned and do your researched when hiring this company!!!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We did in fact go to this customers house on his request and found a faulty main board for the dryer. A deposit was taken and we received a call from the customer around 6pm when the part ordered was already transferred from one location to the other for us to pick up and install the next day. We advised due to that we have a restocking fee of 25% in which he said that he wanted to continue with the repair rather paying the restocking fee. The following day our tech picked up the part and went to his place and they wouldn't open the door and requested us to leave. We did so and the dryer was left open the day before on his request because we would be back the following day to install the board. We were at his place the following day, he refused to let us in. We have 2 visits to his place and a board that the supplier is not taking back. At no point did we mention we will be holding his money to pay fines, and we have never been hit with any fines from any safety boards. We are a insured and licensed company and stand by our work. Please call us to rectify the situation