Matrix Remediation Complaint
If this post can save 1 PERSON the aggravation of dealing with Matrix Remediation it was worth it.
It started when we discovered that we had black mold in our attic. This is when we first went online and started researching mold remediation companies. Matrix Remediation had a great website and five star customer reviews priding themselves as being a “Boutique” company which specializes in remediation and takes all of the necessary steps to protect your family and home. Unfortunately we found out this was not the case, we are not happy and feel we were taken advantage of by Matrix Remediation.
We paid for a service and expected a certain amount of professionalism. Matrix’s quote came in higher than any of the competitors, but after reading all positive online reviews and with Guy assuring us that his team would “do it right the first time” we decided to spend the extra money to have it done right! Matrix original proposal came in more than double any of his competitors. After discussing our maximum budget, they quickly made a reduction of costs to meet our budget, but he assured us that everything laid out in the original proposal would be included except for the disposal of the bagged up insulation.
Our issue with Matrix Remediation arose when we discovered how the remediation team dealt with the mold affected insulation from our attic. The proposal specifically outlined that the insulation and mold spores which his team had media blasted off our attic sheeting were to be bagged up IN the attic and would be contained from the rest of our living space through the use of a negative air pressure device.
It was at the point where the Matrix team made the decision to not properly bag the mold affected insulation in the attic and instead just drag it through our home/living space, exposing it to our couch, bed, blinds, walls, floors, dishes, kitchen etc. To top it off we specifically asked if we needed to cover our bed, and couch when they were starting the remediation, the team assured us that this was not necessary. When they left our home there was a layer of dust/spores on every item/horizontal surface. We were unsure how this was possible but after reviewing our security footage we quickly realized that the Matrix team hadn’t removed the insulation in the proper manor outlined in their proposal and were blown away with the lack of care the team took while removing the contaminated insulation. Obviously I was concerned about having the contamination throughout our home and if Matrix cut corners in other areas of the remediation?
Matrix had asked for the opportunity to make things right, which I can respect. He had offered to send a third party cleaner to our home 20 days after the work was performed, which was pointless because we were already exposed to the dangerous spores and immediately did a through cleaning once we discovered what had happened. He then offered a small portion of our money back, providing we signed his agreement releasing his company from any guarantee/warrantee for the work they provide at our home. Orignally we decided to go with Matrix because of this guarantee even though they were more expensive than any competitor. I cannot do this out of principle. This entire situation has been extremely unprofessional and upsetting. We paid for a service, which was not provided, Again I would rather save someone the hardship/aggravation of dealing with Matrix Remediation.
- Company Response
I am terribly sorry that you did not have a good exoerience.
When you first called me I indicated that I would send a crew right away to address any situation.
At this point you refused this solution.
Then I continued and proposed a third party to come and address any issues which you refused as well.
You requested to do a cash settlement which I agreed to as well.
Given the complexity of the job and the distance to get to you ( over 3.5 hours including accommodation requirements) i feel that you are just trying to get a better "deal" OR ELSE you will post a negative review.
I do not think this is fair especially due to the fact that I have been very reasonable and extremely accommodating.
I keep the invitation open so please let me know how can I help?
Thank you for your time and again sorry for any inconvenience caused.
Guy Price, President