AMJ Campbell Movers, Moving and Storage

Moving & Storage
9924 River Road Delta BC V4G 1B5
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Moving & Storage
AMJ Campbell Movers, Moving and Storage
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

51%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Giving Back Award winnerGiving Back Awardwinner

Reviews for AMJ Campbell Movers, Moving and Storage

Average customer rating:
4.7 10 (178 reviews)

Sort by

Tracey Hamilton
Tracey Hamilton
20 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Furniture delivery & White Glove service

We purchased a bedroom set from Urban Barn & chose the option to have it delivered & setup. AMJ Campbell was the company that Urban Barn uses for their white glove delivery service. I received several updates on our order status before the delivery date & confirmation of the time window the day before delivery. The furniture arrived on time & Raymond & Prince did a fantastic job of setting it up & assembling the bed. They were very careful not to scratch my floors or ding my walls & they removed & took away all of the packaging. They even put felt protectors (supplied by me) on all of the legs so that if we needed to move the furniture in the future, we would not scratch the floors.
Thank You AMJ Campbell for the great service!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Tracey! Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are so pleased to hear about your experience with us and hope you are enjoying that bedroom set! We wish you all the best! - Charlotte

Tarek in Ottawa
Tarek in Ottawa
3 reviews Ottawa, ON
2/10

Disappointed with my recent move

Disappointed with my recent move. Foreman was rude and non-cooperative, cursed constantly and pretended not to hear requests. The crew seemed to take excessive breaks. Significant damage to areas of the home, pieces of furniture and household items. Items were left at incorrect locations. The crew left garbage behind. Definitely not worth the high cost. After tremendous effort, I was able to get a tiny partial refund.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Tarek, Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention. We apologize in advance if your experience has been less than what we intended, and can assure you that your concerns are taken seriously. We will begin a process to review and resolve your concern immediately and should you have any additional information that you would like to provide, please send directly to me at customercommunications@amjcampbell.com 

Nadine in Toronto
Nadine in Toronto
2 reviews Brampton, ON
2/10

Bad estimate on size of truck with no compensation... VERY POOR

A truck arrived and the crew started to load, however once it became evident everything wouldn't fit, the crew slowed down to try and work it out. Eventually we waited for a second truck and an 8 hour move turned into a 14 3/4 hour move at our expense. No compensation for their error.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Nadine, Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention. We apologize in advance if your experience has been less than what we intended, and can assure you that your concerns are taken seriously. We will begin a process to review and resolve your concern immediately and should you have any additional information that you would like to provide, please send directly to me at customercommunications@amjcampbell.com 

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Parksville, BC
0/10

Waiting for a bed to be delivered

AMJ Deliveries call Me last Friday to book bed delivery for today (Tues) before 12:15, call me at 11:30, tell me problems with truck, new delivery Sat. I ask where bed is now, they say Victoria (2 hours away). I ask why are the calling now and not earlier? Clearly they weren't going to meet delivery schedule. No answer, just told beyond their control. Ok, I get that trucks break down but maybe rent a truck? Call client once you realize there are problems? Completely unacceptable. I now have no bed to sleep in for 4 days. Earlier notice and this could have been avoided! Not impressed. I pray they show up on Sat.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention. We apologize in advance if your experience has been less than what we intended, and can assure you that your concerns are taken seriously. We will begin a process to review and resolve your concern immediately. Can you please email me with your name and contact information to customercommunications@amjcampbell.com 

Thank you, - Charlotte

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Mississauga, ON
10/10

Careful, Thoughtful, Timely

The team from AMJ Campbell Mississauga did an outstanding job. From estimate to confirmation and reminders, they were efficient, considerate and mindful. Much heavy Victorian furniture was moved with care and caution. In addition, through our CARP membership benefits, we were given boxes as well as a discount. This experience really could not have been better. They arrived on time, dealt promptly with a tricky loading situation due to nearby construction and managed a limiting elevator situation at the other end with speed and intelligence. I cannot recommend them highly enough.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you kindly for the wonderful review. We are pleased to hear about your experience with us. We wish you all the best!! - Charlotte

watergirl
watergirl
1 review Mississauga, ON
7/10

Great Crew but...

This was a partial move for home staging prior to listing condo for sale. I’ve used AMJ Campbell for moving several times. I would have given a rating of 10 but for one thing. My move was scheduled for a Monday. Friday afternoon my Move Management person, Sami called me and asked me if I was ready for my move TOMORROW. I almost fainted, my heart rate soared and I was speechless. Once I could speak again I told him that the move was Monday. Slowly he responded, “right Monday.” I was so upset, it took me over 1/2 an hour to calm down. The crew was delightful, personable and efficient.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi there, thank you for choosing AMJ again and taking the time to write us this honest review. Can you please email us at customercommunications@amjcampbell.com we would like to discuss this matter.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Markham, ON
1/10

Disappointed

We were disappointed with our last move from Ontario to Quebec. The movers were scheduled to arrive at 9am but had a mechanical issue with their truck. They finally arrived at 3pm to start loading. In all fairness, the driver was keeping us updated throughout the day. Upon arrival, the driver did not have the packing supplies for the TV, computer, and tall mirrors which we had requested and confirmed by email with the head office. The driver stated he was not aware of such a request and ended up improvising by using spared used boxes and blankets. The loading went well and the movers were careful with our belongings. However, to our surprise, they didn't have the 2 mattress covers for our queen size mattress and box spring despite the fact that it was written on our contract. They ended up wrapping the mattress inside the truck using one of their blankets. During transit, they had mechanical issues again and they had to transfer our belongings onto a rental truck. It is most likely during that transfer that the queen size mattress ended up with several blood stains. We also had a bookshelf damaged during transit. Clearly, there was a lack of communication between the driver and the head office since the driver was not aware of what was requested on our contract. The blood stains on the mattress could have been prevented with a proper mattress cover.

Was this review helpful?
Erin in Edmonton
Erin in Edmonton
1 review Edmonton, AB
0/10

Delivery of item

This company was used as a white glove delivery of an item from West Elm (not by choice). They set the dresser up and proceeded to push it along hardwood floor scratching it. Would not pay to fix the floor.

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Kitchener, ON
2/10

Local move

Very friendly and professional. Moving out of our previous home was ok. The issues were regarding the move in and afterward.
Movers were unorganized. There was no forethought planning in how the move would unpack. They dumped everything in the house (we could barely move around) and just kept bringing stuff in instead of placing it where we directed.
We have a king size 4 poster bed and I am the first to say, it's not an easy piece to pack/set up but only half the screws were placed and the wood was damaged in several places. The bed was not sturdy and made a lot of noise if we tried to use it (squeezing, clunking). The same
story goes for my husband's office furniture.
The pieces configure into a horseshoe shape with a cabinet on the back desk. There is an extender piece that joins the front desk to the back and it was not secured properly. It collapsed when my husband applied minimal pressure on it as he reached for a book on the back shelf. It completely tipped and caused him to fall from his chair onto the floor!
Please check out the photos.
Needless to say I called and discussed what we were finding and they sent one of the movers back to fix things. He secured the bed by putting in extra screws not at all where they should have been originally. So...this made the bed feel more secure but you couldn't move while you were on it without it making terrible noises AND it looked like hell! Same with the desk. Screws were stripped and wood was busted off around the screws, wood chips on the floor......on & on!
We called a couple more times to no avail so we decided to make a claim. The furniture wasn't 5 years old yet, and they DECLINED our claim!!!!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention. We apologize in advance if your experience has been less than what we intended, and can assure you that your concerns are taken seriously. We will begin a process to review and resolve your concern immediately and should you have any additional information that you would like to provide, please send directly to me at customercommunications@amjcampbell.com

Many thanks, Charlotte

mariapsyche in London
mariapsyche in London
0 reviews London, ON
0/10

International shipping, 2 month with no news on the goods (lost?)

Shipping from Canada to Europe. Upon initial contact they said shipping should be completed in 5 weeks or so. This was no promise but I thought 2 months should be sufficient. Now after 2 months, having paid the full price, we have no news whether our household stuff were even loaded to container, let alone shipped. The contact person can't seem to reach the International Group of their company, so we suspect that we would never receive our stuff, and they can probably drag this on indefinitely so insurance won't have to pay for our loss.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention. We apologize in advance if your experience has been less than what we intended, and can assure you that your concerns are taken seriously. We will begin a process to review and resolve your concern immediately and should you have any additional information that you would like to provide, please send directly to me at customercommunications@amjcampbell.com

Many thanks, Charlotte

CHARLOTTE TRUTER
General Manager, AMJ Campbell Inc.
Tel: 416 998 1319

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about AMJ Campbell Movers, Moving and Storage

AMJ Campbell Movers, Moving and Storage have been moving people into their new homes since 1934. With 80 years of experience, your next best move should be with Canada's largest mover. AMJ Campbell Movers, Moving and Storage. Visit http://www.amjbc.ca/

Services:Local and Long Distance Residential Moving, International Moving, Packing, Unpacking & Put Away Services, Short and Long Term Storage, Express Vault Moves, Office and Industrial Moving, Corporate Relocations, Supplier of Packing Materials

CATEGORIES
Moving & Storage
SERVICES
Local and Long Distance Residential Moving, International Moving, Packing, Unpacking & Put Away Services, Short and Long Term Storage, Express Vault Moves, Office and Industrial Moving, Corporate Relocations, Supplier of Packing Materials
SPECIALITIES
Canada's largest coast to coast moving company providing exceptional, personalized service. AMJ Campbell is the largest Canadian agent for Atlas Van Lines.
WEBSITE
http://www.amjbc.ca/
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1934
MEMBERSHIPS
Better Business Bureau Accredited Business since 1982
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.