North Shore Stone Works

1450 Charlotte Road North Vancouver BC V7J 1H2
Write a Review
Write a Review
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews North Vancouver, BC

Cabinet countertop

Really poor measuring meant for a poor fit. Owner came and argued and interrupted but agreed to fix it eventually because it was obviously a poor job and even the installer (his employee) agreed it was a poor fit. Took half of the stone away to cut a new piece. Eventually the replacement piece was installed. Now the other piece has a very obvious chip in it. They come back again to try to hide the chip by smoothing the edges. It doesn't work, it's still an obvious flaw. Installer and cutter find a solution that envolves removing the whole countertop again and refinishing one edge. Owner doesn't want to do it and says take it as it and pay full price, or we'll take the whole thing back. We agree to have them remove the brand new damaged countertop. We'll go somewhere else.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

There are a number of factual inaccuracies in this review. The conclusion of dealing with a really difficult customer was that their full price was refunded (the very same day) and we wished them good luck. The vindictiveness of the above review should be enough to discount. The job was initially installed with a 1/8" gap to a side wall (the Marble Institute of America - Dimension Stone Design Manual specifies that this is acceptable). The customer didn't like this, so we replaced the piece and in the process bought an additional slab to accomplish. The new piece had a slight dimensional thickness difference from the original piece. We ground the pieces on either side of the joint about 6" on either side. We agreed with the customer that this was still visually not acceptable. We came back and ground across 3 feet and it was visually perfect. Due to customer's schedule, we weren't able to do this for approx. 2 months. Again the Design standard for thickness is +/- 1/32" and we flattened to no difference. Despite this, the customer indicated they were not happy. At this point, they wanted the job ripped out and re-done. This was not reasonable from our point of view given the effort we made to satisfy them, and we gave them their money back. Finally, the reference to chips is puzzling as there were no chips in the stone and we have pictures of all steps to verify. This experience proves the old adage that you can't please all of the people all of the time esp. when someone is not willing to be satisfied with any effort you make.