Quality Potlight

Lighting
36 Madawaska Ave Toronto ON M2M 2P9
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Lighting
Quality Potlight
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

99%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2020 winner 10 timesBest of 2020winner 10 times

Reviews for Quality Potlight

Average customer rating:
10 10 (335 reviews)

Sort by

RnC from Brampton
RnC from Brampton
3 reviews Brampton, ON
5/10

Pot light installation and electrical work

We had our potlights installed by majid and Nima. They finished the installation of 10 indoor potlights, 4 light fixtures in one day, which was good. However, they had to drill extra holes in the ceiling to avoid pipes/plumbing due to a washroom on the second floor. The other extra hole they made was because of a design flaw. We asked them to install a light fixture in the living room and they drilled a hole above the sofa, close to the window, which was off. When we saw them make the hole, we immediately told them to move the light fixture so that it would be at the center and above the coffee table. At first they said that we agreed on the design (a rough drawing) already and that we should pay extra for moving the light fixture. But moe waived the extra charge, which is just right since their drawing was not exact and had no measurements. Also, they knew the placement of the furniture when they did the "design" which puzzles us why they thought of putting the pendant fixture above the sofa? The third extra hole they made was for the installation of a separate switch for the potlights. These 3 extra holes are really an eyesore. we regret as we look at our ceiling and see these poorly patched holes, which we think shouldnt have been there, had they been more careful. We brought these up to moe and he gave us $150 off our total price. Appreciate that but Sadly that is not enough to repair the ceiling.
For the outdoor potlights, we had timer switch installed. They charge $65 for the timer, which you can find at your local hardware store for $30. Brought this up again and they slashed $15 from the price. If you know how to install a switch, DIY and save $35. We didnt know that it was way cheaper at the hardware store until they installed it, then we looked it up online, and it was already too late to cancel.
Except for the extra holes on our ceiling, the potlights look fine and really brightened our home.

We also had them (nima and randy) do electrical work.one was to make a new electrical outlet which went well. Another job was to extend the tv outlet 9 inches forward since we were building a new stone wall to hold our fireplace and tv. What they did was just tap the original tv outlet and ran a wire to extend to where the new wall would be, which was really disappointing. That would mean that the original tv outlet or electrical junction would be hidden behind the new wall and that is against electrical code, dangerous and would cause too much hassle to repair in case of problems. Our new wall would have to be opened or destroyed to access the junction, and that defeated our purpose of hiring an ESA certified company/electrician to extend our tv outlet to be up to code. They did not even warn or say something about the hazards of hiding a junction behind the wall. Fortunately, we were able to check before building the wall, and found out that what the connection shouldnt be that way so we called moe about it. They said that in order to be up to code, it would take around 6 hrs to work on it and would cost a whole lot more. How come they did not tell us about this beforehand and why would they do something against code?We specified that we were going to build a wall, thus we wanted the tv outlet to be placed on the new wall. We ended up having them remove the extension and revert to the original setup. We did not test the outlet when they left so when we plugged our tv, the outlet was not working because of a loose neutral wire, which we had to wire ourselves for the outlet to work. We did not bother calling them anymore, but that was really disappointing. By the way there was no refund for the supposed extension of tv outlet.

Overall, Moe is really nice and pleasant to deal with. But we think his workers need more training and experience. Not only on the actual electrical job but also on communication skills, and politeness. Before drilling a hole, it would be better if they asked and confirmed with the customer first. When you want to clarify some things with them, especially nima, all he says is "talk to moe", even if you only want to know what they did exactly. And they tend to always hurry up and leave.
Also, i think they should remove their promise of "absolutely no damage" because when we asked them if they always had to make extra holes, they said yes. So customers should prepare to patch and repair their ceilings.

Would we recommend quality potlights? Most likely not, unless moe or a more experienced electrician does the job, or is present to supervise.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for your review. we mention on our website and our estimate (like you mentioned in your review) a cut or two might be needed for switch wiring! and you knew before you gave us the job. so not sure why after all the talk and agreements and even after the discount i gave you(which you asked for in order to be happy!) you still felt this way. in regards to your fixture, our team and myself personally advised you on the position you planned for it. we mentioned it will be in way of your TV(which was mounted too high by whoever installed it) you wanted to proceed anyway. and as a result, after it was installed you saw the point. now the story is changed here and you are blaming us for something you asked for. with all the respect customer is always right. so we moved it to where we suggested at first (FOR FREE) and patched the old hole for you (FOR FREE)

I am actually very proud of my guys and my team. my guys are still with me after three years. I trust them and we can see other peoples comments here as well. Im proud of the patch job we have done for you on popcorn ceiling. glad you posted pictures!!!

in regards to the fireplace, we never do or offer to do anything thats against the code. you asked for a plug, we did it for you. I agree it wasn't connected and i sent back guys immediately to connect it for you at no charge of course. however when you mentioned they will close the wall around the fireplace we advised that cant be done. you need a hard-wire connection if no access panel is installed. and it was only then when you asked us to remove it. and we did. three visits for a job that we charged $250 (including installing a breaker and individual line for this plug) my cost was $370 on the plug. we gave you a lower rate just to make sure you are happy with us since you weren't too happy with the holes from potlight installation. also gave you some money off the bill (like you mentioned in your email) and specifically asked you if you are fully happy and if there is anything else we can/could have done to make this experience better and you mentioned "now im happy"
all this being said, I still apologize if you had a bad or anything less than pleasant experience with Quality Potlight. I am still willing to make this experience better for you if you wish. give us a call!
Thanks for your business

-Moe

ariel from Mississauga
ariel from Mississauga
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Pot Light Installation

This is one review that I won't hesitate to write. Moe was very professional in discussing and explaining the work to be done. He was very flexible and accomodating with the schedule. His very polite team showed up and did the installation the way I wanted them to be done. For those of you who are looking for a professional electrical work to be done, I highly recommend Moe and his team. I for one will be keeping Moe and Quality Potlight's number for any electrical needs. Thanks Moe and team!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Ariel! hope you enjoy the new lights

Prem Kankesan from Ajax
Prem Kankesan from Ajax
1 review Ajax, ON
10/10

Interior & Exterior Potlights

Excellent Job by Quality Potlights. Initial meeting was quick and clear. Moe and team showed up on time on the scheduled day on time and work was complete by lunch time. Clean, professional and efficient work. The team was polite and cleaned up the place at the end of work. Their price was reasonable too. I would highly recommend Quality Potlights to anyone looking to have potlights installed in their home. We will definitely be calling them in the near future to install more potlights in the house. Good Job Guys!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Prem! glad to see happy customers! always

G & H in Newmarket
G & H in Newmarket
4 reviews Newmarket, ON
10/10

Outdoor potlights

The initial contact was quick, friendly and helpful. The appointment and job were scheduled right away. The team showed up as expected and were amazing. Extremely polite and efficient. The entire job was completed by lunch time. They cleaned up and left nothing behind. We would highly recommend Quality Potlight. Excellent job guys! Thank you Moe! You and your team rock!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks! beautiful house!

BG in Thornhill
BG in Thornhill
6 reviews Vaughan, ON
10/10

Kitchen LED Pot Lights

Fantastic job. Real pleasure to deal with. We needed 6 existing kitchen pots replaced (we had already converted them all to LED but the sockets/connectors were at end of life having already been replaced once from all that halogen heat). As well, we wanted 3 additional pots added. We emailed a few places and got quotes, but Moe was the only one to not only respond quickly, but to follow-up and ask many questions about the job. As the reviews were great and the price was competitive, we booked an appointment. He showed up on time, with his team of professionals. We reviewed the job. They took great care in preparing the whole area with drop cloths (floors, counters, tables), assessing, measuring, and triple checking everything. Nothing rushed - all well thought out. And they called me in BEFORE they started drilling as there were two issues to reconcile. One was deciding what side of the beam to place the new lights ; the beam hit exactly where I wanted the lights. We agreed to a slight offset, but its looks just fine to the eye. The second issue was a big one, and one of the nine spots had a plumbing obstacle from the bathroom above. This could have put the whole job at risk as a traditional retrofit pot would not fit. And we didn't want to end up with 8 instead of 9. We brainstormed a bit and quickly landed on a solution using low profile LED panel lights (typically used in condos). They even wired some up next to conventional LED pots so we could see the difference. We also talked about colour temperature beforehand to ensure we would be matched up with the eating area and under cabinet lighting. With all the concerns addressed, they went to work at it. The job is now done - its perfect - we finally have a kitchen with proper lighting - clean, bright and energy efficient. These guys are a pleasure to deal with and know what they are doing. No complaints or extra charges dealing with obstacles. They simply got the job done, as promised, and did it very well. They also quickly dealt with a separate issue I had in another room. They exceeded our expectations and we would not hesitate to recommend them.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

MERCI!

Oakville1000 from Oakville
Oakville1000 from Oakville
1 review Oakville, ON
10/10

Potlight Installation

It was a complete pleasure dealing with Moe, he has a great team, very professional and punctual. Moe is very friendly and polite yet very knowledgeable Iits hard to find people who care so much about there customers.
I wish more companies can work like Quality Potlight I highly recommend them.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

thank you! really appreciate your kind words.

Ritesh from Mississauga
Ritesh from Mississauga
1 review Mississauga, ON
10/10

Potlights and Pendant Light

Moe and his team did a great job at our house. He was very professional and passionate about his work. His team came on time, were very hard working, did a very clean job and completed the job on time as promissed. Any followup tasks were also completed as commited.
Thanks.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Ritesh

Michael from Caledon
Michael from Caledon
5 reviews Paramus, NJ
10/10

Living Room/Great Room/Kitchen

Moe and crew were terrific. They are thoughtful and friendly. The entire crew takes the time it needs to do the job right. We added 31 potlights, had 2 light fixtures installed, and an outlet for the TV in our great room. The kitchen project was a last-minute addition, but the crew stayed late to do the job. They cleaned up after all work and Moe called back to make sure we were satisfied. We will call them again for future work.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Mark! i enjoyed working in your house. you have a beautiful home and very interesting designs. im glad you are happy. thats all that matters to me :)

cheers!

Nelson from Richmond Hill
Nelson from Richmond Hill
2 reviews Vaughan, ON
10/10

Pot Lights

I was looking to add a number of pot lights in my kitchen and decided to call Quality Pot lights based on some of the reviews. Moe was able to come by and provide me with a quote. He is very customer focused and guarantees his work. When they arrived for the job they covered all the cabinets, counter tops and floors before starting their work. Moe was great and kitchen looks amazing. He even put in the new switch for free since the new LED lights required a different switch than the one i had. They definitely exceeded my expectations.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Nelson,

Im glad! this is what we want to hear from all the customers! :) enjoy your beautiful kitchen.

-MOe

Amin Nasir from Milton
Amin Nasir from Milton
1 review Milton, ON
10/10

Pot Light Installation

I called Moe on a Tuesday, and had a very tight schedule. Moe met me the very next day to assess what my requirements were.

We gave him quite the challenge, and was able to get approximately 40 Pot-lights installed at a very competitive price! We installed dimmers, and he also helped me put up a few heavy picture frames.

The pot-light installation was remarkable, we had all lights fully installed over the weekend. Not only did he help us install them, he also gave us some really good design ideas for where we can place the lights. This dramatically changed the look of our house!

I really liked Moe's attitude about things, he's a really impressive individual, and his work is equally impressive.

a BIG part of my satisfaction is also because I think Moe is very customer focused. He will work with you, around your schedule, and do what it takes to make sure YOU are satisfied with the work. This is seldom seen with a few companies I have worked with.

Countless times I hammered him with questions, phone calls, and changes. and not only was he patient with me, but he did it with a genuine smile.

I also asked him to install an outlet for me for a TV installation, to which he did at a very fair price on another visit.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

HI Amin,

you have been one of our best customers so far! we enjoyed working in your house! with your beautiful daughter and kind wife. im glad you are happy. that's our number one goal. hope to do more projects with you in future.

thanks for your kind words!

-Moe

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Quality Potlight

visit www.qualitypotlight.ca
ESA#: 7010623
Quality Potlights is a family owned and operated business that specializes in top quality CANADIAN APPROVED pot lights. Since our inception in 2009, Quality Pot lights has serviced well over 5,000 homes, offices and condos throughout Greater Toronto Area including: Downtown Toronto, Forest Hill, Rosedale, Yorkville, Royal York, Scarborough, East York, North York, Etobicoke, Mississauga, Oakville, Burlington, Vaughan, Brampton, Thornhill, Markham, Richmond Hill, Aurora, Stouville, Pickering, Ajax & Newmarket. Our consistent level of high-quality work and dedication to ensuring that the needs of every client are met have allowed us to quickly grow into a leader in quality potlight installation. We understand that your home is the largest investment you will ever make and are willing to go above and beyond perfection to ensure that you are satisfied.
ESA#: 7010623
In business for over 5 years, Quality Potlight has the expertise and skills to accomplish a wide range of projects in your home. Our trained staff are exceptionally pleasant to deal with and are diligent in ensuring that that there is absolutely no mess or damage from our installation. At Quality Potlights we believe that the best way to build relationships is through integrity, performance, value, and client satisfaction. We strive to be a prominent provider of superior electrical services by constantly keeping our inventory updated with the latest innovative products as well as constantly focusing on improving the speed and service of our staff. All electrical works are done by our ESA certified and insured contractors who specialize in Pot light installation.
Toronto GTA, Brampton, Mississauga, OAkville, Milton, Richmond Hill, North York, Ajax, Peel Region, Markham, New Market, King City, Vaghuan, Scarborough, Woodbridge, Pickering, Thornhill
call 647-680-QLTY (7589)
www.qualitypotlight.ca
ESA#: 7010623

CATEGORIES
Lighting and Electricians
PRODUCTS
LED Pot lights
SERVICES
Installing pot lights indoor/outdoor. residential, commercial Installing/replacing/relocating fixtures Installing/upgrading switches, dimmer and timers Installing security cameras Installing chandeliers Installing garden and backyard lights Electrical wiring Bulb replacement (eg. halogen to LED) New construction wiring-lighting All electrical works are done by our ESA certified and insured contractors.
BRANDS
JC, Liteline, luminiz, Contrast & ...
STYLES
3.5", 4" 6" pot lights
SPECIALITIES
Pot light Design and Installation lighting wiring panel upgrade any type of electrical work
WEBSITE
http://www.qualitypotlight.com
YEAR ESTABLISHED
2009
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
8
PAYMENT METHOD
Cash, check, Visa, MC, and debit via Paypal
LICENSES
ESA#: 7010623
MEMBERSHIPS
ESA
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
5 years full warranty
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.