North Stone Granite

Formerly Mughal Marble Inc.
Countertops
520 Coronation Dr. Toronto ON M1E 5C7
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Countertops
North Stone Granite
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

91%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for North Stone Granite

Average customer rating:
9.7 10 (126 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Burlington, ON
10/10

Best Counter-top Fabricators!

I have had the pleasure to work with Chris and Russ on multiple different projects over the past few years. There customer service between myself and clients is exceptional, quality of product is extremely high, and they always strive to keep turn around time at a minimum when needed! We have built a strong business relationship where I will continue to use NorthStone-Granite for all my counter-tops installations. There high quality, reliability, and attention to detail match mine that go into all of our jobs. Looking forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Outdoor counter

We would highly recommend this company for all your counter top needs. They had a quick turn around time, very professional and friendly. Able to create a design custom to our unique structure. The stone is absolutely gorgeous.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

It was great working with you. Thanks for giving us the opportunity to finish your outdoor project with a beautiful piece of stone.

HomeStars in Toronto
HomeStars in Toronto
0 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Kitchen counter upgrade

I came across North Stone Granite from a google search. I emailed them directly off their website and received a response the next day from Chris. I recently moved into a new build and was looking to upgrade my counters to quartz, not knowing much about counters I relied on the expertise of North Stone. After going back and forth over a few emails Chris and Russel came to my house to properly quote me. They also brought along a few samples to help me narrow it down. Once I narrowed down my decision Chris provided me with a quote and the slab was ordered. I checked with another local company only as a comparison in price and found that North Stone was very competitive in pricing. I also felt very confident that my install would be completed to my liking based on experience I had with Chris and Russell at the initial appointment. On the day of install as the old counters we’re being removed they ran into an issue with the height of my cabinets the builder had added an extra 2 inch panel in order to install the previous laminate counters. Chris and Russell quickly came up with a solution to fix the problem it required them to make some adjustments to my cabinets but they were back the next day to finish the install. I was able to order a new deep sink and facet through North Stone’s supplier as well which made things a lot easier. I am very happy with the final result and look forward to working with Chris and Russell again when I upgrade my bathroom counters!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the great feedback! It was an absolute pleasure working with you on your dream kitchen:)!

HomeStars in Toronto
HomeStars in Toronto
0 reviews Barrie, ON
10/10

Quartz counter top

As you can see from my photos the quartz countertops turned out fabulous.
Fast friendly and very efficient service.
I would highly recommend them for any countertop renovation.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks very much for your kind words. We're happy that you're happy. They look great!

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Mount Albert, ON
10/10

Quartz Countertop

Go with Russell. You will not be disappointed. The process from start to finish was smooth and easy. Thanks North Stone Granite for giving us top notch affordable service and exactly what we were hoping for.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks very much for the kind words. We very happy you're enjoying your new kitchen countertops. They look great.

Mu from Toronto
Mu from Toronto
9 reviews Vaughan, ON
0/10

Quartz Kitchen Counter tops and Island

I found NorthStone Granite online through their reviews and decided to work with Chris and Russell and confirmed the deal on Jan 22nd 2019 Below is the series of events and a detailed breakdown of my experience Please note that Chris and Russell will come back and dispute or clarify some or all of the below but regardless…this is exactly how things progressed Jan 28th : based on discussions around design/sink/pricing I decided to go ahead to work with this company and firm up a time for my Kitchen counter top install – initially I had them price out my kitchen and laundry room counter (one counter approx. 7 feet wide and 4 feet deep) but decided to go with the kitchen only and decide on the laundry later as I was not sure if I would be changing the cabinets in the laundry room Feb 4th : went to see his supplier and pick a stone Feb 13th : the material we decided was more than the budget we had in mind Between Feb 13th and March 26th exchanged multiple emails and went back to his supplier and finalized on a stone that they had in stock at their store March 28th : paid then a deposit on the finalized stone and sink , installation date set for April 4th at 11 am March 29th : sent them an email confirming i've made arrangements to not go to work so they can come install on the April 4th – no response April 2nd : send another email confirming the install date for April 4th April 3rd: recd email from NorthSTone Granite ( Chris ) that they can not make the April 4th date for the install as they came into finish the stone for my job and their " saw broke down on them " so now they had to reschedule for next week and I had to give them new dates April 3rd : reminded Chris that I had a house warming party planned at my place on Saturday April 6th and its too late to change plans with the attendees , and not having a counter top on my island and cabinets is somewhat embarrassing, not to mention dealing with an angry wife and rescheduling things at work and the plumber and electrician (electrician was to come and finish the outlets after the counter was installed ) – nothing was done and I understood that a mechanical breakdown was out of their control …. But only one saw o run a business ? I was frustrated but patient and Chris apologized for the inconvenience – life happens so lets move on April 3rd: we set a date for them to come and install on April 9th – I was still frustrated but did not complain or say anything that would show it …. Chris apologized again and said he would do the laundry counter top (7x4 feet) for me at no charge , this was his way of making up for the inconvenience even though I did not ask for it or mention anything when the installation was cancelled – i'm generally a very patient guy and try to see things from someone else's perspective but appreciated his gesture April 6th : house warming party with no counter top on my massive island, since I had already been made a clown of it was an entertaining party for everyone else April 8th : sent a confirmation email to Chris for April 9th …and they confirmed it’s a go for 10:30 – 11 am April 9th : THEY ARE HERE TO INSTALL MY COUNTERS !!! EXCITED – about an hour or so later Chris told me that there is a crack in the counter and he didn’t feel comfortable installing in , so he had to take the piece back and get a new piece – I am not complaining here, I appreciated his honesty and felt bad that he might take a loss on the racked piece and asked him to see if he can use it to do a back splash so it doesn't go to waste – so the counter was not done that day but he took measurements to see if he can use the for now useless broken piece as a back splash and said he was do the numbers and let me know the cost when he comes to do the counter April 14th : Chris was back and installed my counter top – finally my kitchen counters were done – and I paid him the remainder to make him whole on our agreed amount he also sent me pics of counters through email that he would do in the laundry room – He also quoted me for the back splash later that day through email April 23rd : I found the cost of the back splash a bit high so I decided not to go ahead with it and informed him accordingly – I also followed up with him on the laundry counter … I wasn’t being picky at this point and just considered the options he provided and when he could come and install it *please note that the laundry counter and back splash had nothing to do with each other * April 23rd through May 7th : I did not hear back from Chris or Russell – I know Russell checks emails too but never responded May 7th : I send another follow up email for the laundry counter top – no response from any one – I also called Chris several times in May but he never answered and dropped my calls and never returned my voice mails , I wonder why June 1st : I send another email saying it is safe to assume that they are not going to deliver on the laundry counter top and I wish I hadn't paid them in full till all the work was done and mentioned I would post an honest review if this was not taken care of as promised June 3rd : WOW – I get a response from Russell !!! says he apologizes for the delay and appreciates my patience as Chris is off dealing with a personal issue - also reminded me that the laundry was something Chris promised as a token of inconvenience for the delays and that they were under no obligation to do so He also mentioned that they took away the cracked counter top that other companies would have installed anyways and finally he said "I will see what we can do to have your piece fabricated and installed in the near future " August 3rd : I send a follow up email as to when they are coming by September 15, 2019 : I post my review What did I get out of all this ? 1. Nothing special really – their price was competitive , I was quoted similar with other contractors who were rated just as good – they were my bad luck of the draw 2. There were multiple delays with the job which caused me some embarrassment with my guests coming over for the first time to my new place and renovated cabinets with no or partial counters 3. Maybe their saw broke , maybe not – maybe they had someone who wanted the work done asap and they decided to give my pieces to someone else as they had a risk of loosing the deal …. I don’t know , I had already made my deposit so they knew I wasn’t going anywhere 4. It was nice of them to not install a cracked counter top in my kitchen that they say "other contractors would have " again , after the overall experience with Chris and Russell , I'm not sure what the intention was 5. I should not have paid them till the laundry counter was done as promised … breaking my trust didn’t really get them anything , my laundry counter would cost $2-300 tops and id have paid for it if they didn’t offer it to me 6. The fact that they disappeared when I said I didn’t want to go ahead with the back splash speaks volumes about their business ethics – its good business practice to keep a promise when you make one, even if it costs you a little – please keep in mind I did not ask for it… they offered 7. Their work seems good but I know that if I have nay issues there is no warranty on my product, as they don’t answer the phone or respond to my emails , as they think I'm calling about the laundry counter that they don’t want to deliver on as promised 8. They way I see it is I had more negatives than positives , if there were any positives they were overwritten by their irresponsible behavior to honor their promise after they got paid 9. I rated them a 0 because they didn’t live up to what they said they would do, this was a job half done… the laundry counter became a part of the deal as they committed to it to make up for the inconvenience , and the payment was their goodwill which they destroyed – a commitment is a commitment …. And they dishonored it 10. I wouldn’t deal with them again , you all have enough information to make your own decision Chris and Russell at North Stone Granite – you can dispute away all you want but you know you both are in the wrong

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We adamantly disagree with the depiction of events. It is true we disclosed that there was a defect in the original countertop that we could have installed and the client never would have known. We offered to replaced at our expense of time and labour. There was a 2 day delay in returning due to personal matters and as such we offered a complimentary laundry room piece at approx $1000.00 value. When this couldnt be completed to the clients urgent timeliness we were berated over the telephone. As the original work was completed to agreed upon contract, we decided it was not safe for us to return to that jobsite. After further harrassment from the client we decided to respectfully cut off communication with this client.

shawn_sauve
shawn_sauve
0 reviews Barrie, ON
10/10

Kitchen renovations

All new countertops in kitchen for an extremely reasonable price and phenomenal work. Very professional staff

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks! Loved how this project turned out:)

AlexCarly
AlexCarly
0 reviews Whitby, ON
10/10

New Kitchen and Bathroom Counter Tops

Everything about this experience was amazing! The entire team worked with us from the get go to ensure that we made the best decision with regards to the right counter tops that suited our needs. They were very accommodating with all the different selections that we threw at them and in the end made a recommendation based on exactly what we were looking for. The appointment to get everything measured, was quick, efficient and the team also made a few recommendations based on what they saw that really added that special touch. Installation was quick, clean and everything fit like a glove. The team was super courteous when coming into my new home and were very careful with every move they made. They were extremely clean and tidy and it really didn't even look like anyone had done any work in the house! I also really enjoyed the fact that they walked us through everything they did explaining what they were doing and why. It really added that special touch and enhanced the experience. In the end, the overall product is beautiful! We are so happy with everything and would definitely work with the team again and again and again!!!! Would recommend them to family, friends or anyone who is asking for a team that is fairly priced, good at their work and overall awesome to work with!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Guys! Sincerely a pleasure working with you:)

jon_dow
jon_dow
2 reviews Rama, ON
10/10

Bathroom vanity

Very happy with the finish product Northstone Granite provided me with! They were efficient and had no issues with the install despite having to climb 3 sets of stairs. Thanks Chris and Russ !

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We always enjoy a good leg workout! Thanks!

marymcgaulley
marymcgaulley
1 review Ajax, ON
10/10

Kitchen Renovation

I am so impressed by Home Stars they did an amazing job they were very professional and did the best job in my kitchen I would highly recommend them and will be hiring them again once I am ready to start my next renovation

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the kind words! It was great working with you:)

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about North Stone Granite

Why contact Chris and Russell at NorthStone Granite? 1) FREE in-home & no-obligation estimates. Or for a quick quote, please send rough dimensions or pictures of the countertop layout. 2) All our quotes include removal and disposal of existing countertops. 3) Access to materials (Quartz & Granite) from any supplier ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Countertops pros in Vaughan?