Milton Blinds And Shutters

Shutters & Blinds
Milton ON
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Shutters & Blinds
Milton Blinds And Shutters
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

96%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Milton Blinds And Shutters

Average customer rating:
9.7 10 (62 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Milton, ON
10/10

Window Coverings

We purchased 2" faux wood blinds for our office and bedroom and roller shades for our kitchen and breakfast area. We were very pleased with the opportunity to thoroughly review all product samples and the large selection of fabrics, colours and textures during the complimentary in home consultation. The window treatments were delivered and installed within 2 weeks. We would definitely use Milton Blinds again.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the kind words and review of Milton Blinds. We are always pleased to serve our community and happy people are shopping locally!

patsywoodburn@hotmail.com from Milton
P. N.
1 review Milton, ON
10/10

Shutters - Window Coverings

This is our second home we chose Milton Blinds for our window covering needs. We are always pleased with the complimentary in home consultation that allows us to explore and be educated on window treatment solutions that are suitable for our needs and within our budget. We purchased shutters for our kitchen, dining room, family room and master bedroom for the heat reduction properties, noise control and low maintenance. Their variety of framing options were able to accommodate our condo window sills and provide a seamless, clean look. We would recommend this company and in particular Vikki to anyone interested well priced window covering products with uncompromising quality.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you kindly for the review. You are always a pleasure to serve!

susan from Oakville
susan from Oakville
1 review Oakville, ON
0/10

Custom window coverings

We hope that there may be other consumers out there who might have had a more positive experience, however, this is a factual review about what we have been through. Realizing that this is a review site, not a site for complaints, we are stating only the actual facts in the hopes that nobody else will have to endure a similar expensive and unpleasant consumer/company experience.
After having sheers covering our living room 5-pane bow window for more than 35 years, we wanted a classy, formal-look that was updated. Although we had a preference for roller shades with enclosed cassettes after seeing some examples on the Internet, we had some concerns about being able to place the cassettes on the shallow window frames of our particular window.
We chose Milton Blinds after a Google search returned their web site, which advertised the owner as being an expert on bow and bay windows. Prior to having the owner of Milton Blinds to our home for a consultation, we called her and then emailed three pictures of our bow window, showing different views. Upon receiving the pictures, the owner, Vikki, set up an appointment with us, bringing a sample of a roller shade cassette and various fabrics.
During the home consult the owner assured us that roller shades with cassettes could definitely be installed on our window. My husband held two large sheets of paper to the window frames, asking the owner (several times) if the roller shades would hang the way he was demonstrating to her, with minimal gaps between the blinds and hanging close to the window frame. The owner confirmed each time, that the way he was demonstrating was the way the roller shades could be installed/hung. Based on her “expertise” and her assurances that this custom install would look exactly the way my husband had asked, in good faith we gave our $650 deposit.
The owner had confirmed to us that it was her policy to be there during the install to make sure things went smoothly, however she did not show up. During installation, it was discovered that one of the 5 shades was so incorrectly measured (or produced incorrectly), that it could not be installed. The remaining 4 shades had large and inconsistent gaps between them, ranging from ½ inch at the top, increasing to a ghastly 5 inches as the shades were unrolled all the way. Pictures of the unacceptable appearance of the installed 4 blinds can be seen below.
Four weeks on, and over 2 dozen emails from us to the owner in a futile attempt to resolve this problem, the owner is now stating that we have unrealistic expectations and that as long as the shades are not damaged and as long as her installer can get them up, albeit with inconsistent and unacceptable gaps, we should be satisfied. At one point in time, the owner did promise us verbally and again in an email, that if they could not find a way to install the blinds so that they looked the way she had contractually promised, and as had been demonstrated by my husband, she would refund our deposit. That offer has now been retracted and the blinds remain uninstalled.
We feel that if roller shades were not going to be a suitable option for our specific window, it was the owner’s responsibility to state at the initial consult, that she would not recommend roller shades for our window. Unfortunately, that was not stated until after the install was deemed to be impossible. The independent installer admitted in front of the owner and ourselves, that the shades could not be hung in a way that would look good.
The owner and her production manager were to come to our house and assess the problem. We were left waiting for 3 hours each on those two separate occasions because neither showed up. Not at any time, have we received a phone call from the owner to discuss our dilemma. A message that we left on her voice mail was never returned.
This sort of sub-standard customer service/policy is disappointing to say the very least.
Readers who are considering this one-person company should do their research first. Get everything in writing before having the order placed. Ask questions about the products and the production company. Make sure that you have all required documentation such as terms and conditions, product information, warranty information. We were given nothing more than a copy of our deposit receipt. ..and we have 5 useless roller shades sitting on our table.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

First, to the readers thank you for your interest in MILTON BLINDS.

When we initially followed up with this customer’s installation, our sales representative and production manager were refused access to the home to inspect the project. The day after the installation, we were notified that the customer would be initiating legal action against us!! It is our policy to thoroughly review product selections with the customer during a complimentary in home consultations and spend hours discussing product options, ie. fabrics, valances, cord operations, etc. We pride ourselves on educating the customer to ensure they know exactly what they are purchasing and are happy with their choice of product. Prior to her purchase, this customer was advised of the gaping that would result with roller shades and it was recommended that she consider more suitable window treatments for this style of window. She was shown an exact sample of the fabric and valance to which her and her husband both approved by signing the contract.

I feel this is a case of the customer changing her mind on what she ordered and is looking for a way to receive a full refund on her purchase of custom window coverings. If every attempt is made and we are unable to rectify a customer’s concerns or issues which our products we will be more than happy to refund them their full purchase price. To this point, this customer has refused us entry to her home to address her concerns and will only be satisfied with a full refund.

Yes, we are a small operation and this is what has allowed us to thrive in the window covering industry over the past 10 years.

There was a slight error with 1 of the blinds being too wide however this could have easily been remade if given the opportunity which we have not. Warranty details were discussed at the time of purchase and are also provided following the installation however we were unable to complete this project.

Without the opportunity to come back to the customer’s home to see the installation and discuss her concerns our hands are tied to resolve this matter.

kris from Milton
kris from Milton
2 reviews Milton, ON
10/10

Blinds

My wife and I used Milton Blinds and more to put blinds on a window at the top of our stairs. This was always an issue for us as the afternoon sun would beat in through that window and make our air conditioning very inefficient. Vikki came over to see us in very short order and gave us a no charge quote and very little sales pressure. She acts more as a consultant as opposed to a sales person! This was a hard spot to measure due to it being above our stairs, but Vikki managed to get accurate measurements. The price as well as the quality were in the area we were looking for and with Vikki's no pressure and friendly attitude we ordered right then and there. The blinds came in in timely fashion and then Jason came over to install them. Now, I have had a lot of installers/repair people in my home, and if they were all like Jason things would be very nice. He came over and did a fantastic job on the install, (again not easy working over the stairs) was professional and did a wonderful job cleaning up after himself. We will be looking for some bathroom shutters in the near future and the only call we will make will be to Milton Blinds and More!

Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Milton Blinds And Shutters

Milton Blinds is your custom window covering company that strives to compliment and extenuate the aesthetics of your home while meeting your lifestyle needs. With a convenient, no charge in home or in office consultation, we can bring samples of a wide variety of window covering products, for coordination with ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Shutters & Blinds pros in Milton?