Doktor Handyman

Bathroom Renovation
Toronto ON M2N 4B6
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

94%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Doktor Handyman

Average customer rating:
9.5 10 (178 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Railing on back deck replaced

Doktor Handyman did a fantastic job replacing the railing and stairs around our back deck. They were prompt, tidy and finished on time. We are extremely pleased with the quality of work completed and we thought it was reasonably priced (and they stayed on budget!). We would definitely recommend Doktor Handyman and we will use them again for future projects.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

on behalf of my crew and myself, we thank you so much for your business and great review. I look forward to working with you again on your next project.
doktor handyman
div of
Avanti Construction Group

Brian in Toronto
Brian in Toronto
4 reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Leak in shower floor

He was hired to fix the leak in my shower floor. After he quote "finished" this is what I encountered:

1) glue on the glass side panel which he had to re-install. Additionally the glass panel was not properly aligned with the glass shower door

2) black stains on my bedroom carpeting from the black grout used in the shower

3) footprints in black on wooden stairs

Not only was he responsible for this, BUT I had to point this out to him to correct. This is inexcusable and unacceptable work.

He did remove most of the stains on the broadloom, cleaned the stairs and removed some of the glue from the side panel. I had to on my own
to spend a good couple of hours removing the rest of the glue residue. It was difficult and time consuming. The point is none of this should have occurred with proper care and attention to detail. Both were lacking.

The leak had damaged the ceiling below and a hole had been cut out to let it dry before replacing drywall. About a week after he left I noticed that water was dripping and still leaking after he had supposedly finished the repairs to the shower.

Even though he was paid the full amount of $1525 for the job, he insisted that this was a "new" problem and asked for an additional $600. I was in a difficult spot because to bring in someone new at this point would have probably cost me more. He tried to repair again on two separate occassions using different grout, but it still leaked.

I was certainly getting fed up and frustrated and he told me he would try ONE MORE TIME, but that I had to pay him the balance in full whether he was able to fix it or not! Really? Well this is an offer I could and did refuse.

So I paid the DOKTOR $1864 for what? I still had the leak and I was out a substantial amount of money.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Brian,
It would have only been fair in your review and not added two jobs in one, shame on you for misleading the readers. I informed you that you have a major issue with your shower subfloor but you insisted on going the cheapest way possible. We went ahead and tried to repair the shower floor grout and after two weeks you called me and said you have the leak issue again.

Again, we came back and redid everything at no cost to you and once again you refused my advise of doing the job properly and requested a band aid job. Again you called and said you have a leak after a month. We came again and again I told you that this method is not responding and you claimed that its our fault. I obliged and for the third time redid it. everything knowing that this will fail too, but you were adamant that we redo our work!!!!
Forth time you called, and I came again and once again tried to reason with you that flaw is not our work rather, your subfloor is the culprit and as long as it squeaks and has movement, it will cause the grout to break apart, also, out of $600 that we had charged you for it,we had only been paid half. No matter the end result, we need to be paid the other half.
Did you expect me to continue to redo your shower floor forever!!! This job should have cost well over $1200 but I only charged you $600 because of the previous job which you now have included all in this one apparently.

Please answer this: HOW COULD WE DO ANY PROPER JOB WHEN WE WERE RESTRICTED TO WORKING BETWEEN Tuesdays and Thursdays, AND ONLY FROM 2-5PM??? Had I known these facts from the outset, I would never have accepted your project.

You are a VERY RUDE, SELFISH, UNACCOMODATING and DEMANDING PERSON to say the least, THAT I HAVE EVER COME ACROSS WITH. I REGRET FOREVER FOR ACCEPTING YOUR JOB.

My apologies to readers of our company's reply, but you have no idea what we went through with this person.

Beechwood  in North York
Beechwood in North York
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Bathroom vanity installation

I contacted KC about installing a new vanity in my parents bathroom. I was very cautious about selecting a contractor because I needed someone who had experience working on older homes. KC was very polite and professional and gave me the confidence that he had the experience to do the job and he proved that to be the case.
He and his assistant did a fantastic job and even when they ran into unexpected issues it was taken care of speedily for a good price. My parents are very pleased with the job.
I will definitely use KC again for future projects and would recommend his services to others seeking a good reliable contractor.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Joy for your great review and so glad that your parents were pleased as well. Look forward to our future business transaction. Thank you, KC,
doktorhandyman 416.722.9550

Adrian in Toronto
Adrian in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
2/10

Install 2 doors, drywall tape and mud, deficiencies.

Dr. Handyman is a company that deals with very small projects. They got ambitious with our project and did a horrible job and took a lot of time. They came in at 11am to start everyday and complained when we had to lock up the office by 5pm. We understand that our office might have been farther than they wished, but then why take on the project? When the quality of their work was questioned, they responded with "if we knew the quality you wanted, we would have charged more". The price was still significantly high, plus quality of a job should not change based off of initial quote.

Overall, we ended up hiring a seperate contractor to come and finish the project. One person compared to the 4 they had, who finished everything in 3 days.

See pictures attached.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I like how you wrote the one and only review that you ever posted on Homestars is about us.
You do remember that there were multiple other jobs we did for you and your approval of job well done is in our emails exchanged!!!

Now, lets talk about the door!!
You FAIL to inform the readers in your review, that not only you ordered the door in a wrong size but also decided to have it installed in a different opening that we had agreed on.
Your text, "asking me to cut the door by 1.5", is still in my phone, you know.!! As is my refusal to cut a fire rated door and how it cannot be cut by law, and on top of that, you asking for it to be installed in a "different opening", etc etc etc.

You are upset because your boss found out about the mistake you made, but I guess you felt better by using us as scape goats, by blaming us???
You post pictures at middle of the job instead of how they looked at the end, with all the difficulties we faced!!!
Being Honest and Sincere goes much further than being vengeful and deceiving others.
Thanks so much for your kindness and honest review!!!
KC Owraki
doktorhandy
4167229550

btw, if our price was significantly higher and the job we did for you was so bad, why did hire us to begin with and or why didn't you stop us at the middle of our work and fire us? This should seriously make one wonder🤔

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Hanging misc. items (mirrors, tv, medicine cabinet)

KC was very helpful and professional. He is an expert at his craft, and installed a large mirror, medicine cabinet, and 60” tv mount with ease. I would recommend him and would hire him again.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

It was our pleasure to be of service to you and see you pleased. Hope we do business again shortly. Thank You.
KC Owraki
doktorhandyman
416.722.9550

Terry W in North York
Terry W in North York
3 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Front porch & back deck

This is the 3rd project that KC and his crew has completed for me over the past couple of years. I needed major work on my front porch & back deck and KC exceeded my expectations. He recommended a different option for my front porch that is even better than I imagined. It’s transformed the whole look from the street. Thanks KC.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Friend, what can I say other than thank you for your continuous business and you trust and faith in me and my company.
thank you,
KC Owraki
doktorhandyman
416.722.9550

Jerry
Jerry
3 reviews Mississauga, ON
10/10

repairs to walls and insert of vanity in basement bathroom

Aly did an exceptional job replacing drywall, insulation and a new vanity in our basement bathroom. He was a very pleasant person, arrived on time and got the job done in a few days to our satisfaction. We would recommend Aly to anyone regarding his workmanship and reliability.
Thanks Aly.
Jerry

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Jerry
Thank you for taking the time to write this review,
it was an absolute pleasure to do your project, you
guys were amazing and made me feel great about
what I do, I thank you again for the work and
hospitality.
Aly
647 206 0223
doktorhandyman

Irit in Toronto
Irit in Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Cedar deck cleaning and refinishing

KC's team did a great job cleaning and refinishing our deck. They are meticulous and did a very thorough job of spray washing the decking, screens, stairs and columns, including doing minor wood repairs. There were some issues that came up in the refinishing, but it is to KC's credit that he was always available to discuss how to solve problems, and took full responsibility to deliver the job.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Irit so much for your wonderful review and kind words! Look forward to our next adventure.
Cheers,
Doktor Handyman
416-722-9550

CHRIS
CHRIS
7 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Fence replacement

Out with the old and in with the new as our fence had seen better days. Contacted a number of Deck/Fence companies for an estimate. I wanted one more estimate so I contacted Doktor Handyman and very glad I did. KC the owner arrived with a smile and I felt we clicked right off the bat. Very professional and down to earth. Doktor Handyman wasn’t the lowest but wasn’t the highest but at the end of the day it’s all about the *person* and *trust*.
Mother Nature didn’t cooperate but KC knew I wanted the fence done by the May 24 weekend and he didn’t want to disappoint me. He didn’t. KC showed up with his crew who were also very professional and started doing their thing. They ran into some obstacles along the way (me being one) and I didn’t hear them complain once. They also kept me in the loop through the whole process and even doing a few extras that I wasn’t expecting and they did it on their dime. Very Impressive!!
Job was completed to my satisfaction. The fence looked better then I envisioned. My wife loves the fence. The crew made sure all the debris was removed and everything cleaned up.
Our next project will be our deck and I won’t need to worry about contacting any Fence/Deck companies as I already have one in Doktor Handyman and KC. Thanks for Job well done! Looking forward to *our* next project* with KC.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Chris,
I'm sorry for my late reply but I guess late is better than never. Just a few words of our appreciation for your wonderful hospitality and kindness during our work stay there.
I'm so glad to see that you are pleased with end result. I truly look forward to your next project that we will hopefully do it together.
Thank you,
KC Owraki
Doktor Handyman
416-722-9550

Dee
Dee
6 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Leaky outside tap repair

Ever since I moved into this house 15 years ago, the outside tap has leaked everywhere and I could never get the hose reel to stay attached to the wall. All that frustration is a thing of the past thanks to KC. He agreed to take on this small job and showed up the next day. Plumbing jobs are always unpredictable in old houses and it took a few return visits to get it all fixed. KC did it without complaint and the job was done perfectly. Now my garden hose works perfectly and is no longer a soaking experience! Thanks, KC! I’m glad to know you are only a phone call away :)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you!
Doktor Handyman
416-722-9550

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Doktor Handyman

Residential or Commercial Handyman Services

Licensed Contractor with City of Toronto
Division of Avanti Construction Group
Lic# B23003

Do you have jobs around the house/office that need to be completed (on time and on budget),
Big or Small, a professional handyman is always available to complete it for you, with great hourly rates or estimates.

*Plz view sample pictures below.

CATEGORIES
Bathroom Renovation, Basement Renovation, and Handyman Services
SERVICES
Kitchen Remodeling, Bathroom Renovation or Remodeling, Basement Finishing, Insulation & Dry Walling/ New or Repairs, Plumbing, Carpentry, Framing, Decks & Fences (build or repair), Custom Shed Building or assembly, Windows & Doors Installation or Replacement, Flooring Installation (Hardwood, Laminate, Engineered Wood, Vynil, Tile etc.), Appliance Installation (dishwasher, fridge water line) Ikea furniture assembly etc. etc. etc.
SPECIALITIES
Kitchen Remodeling, Bathroom Renovation & Remodeling, Basement Finishing, Dry Walling/ New or Repairs, Plumbing, Carpentry and Framing, Decks & Fence (build or repair), Electrical, Assemble Furniture (Ikea, Idomo or,,,,), Window & Door, Installation, Replacement, Flooring Installation (hardwood flooring, laminate flooring, Vynil, Tile etc.)
WEBSITE
http://doktorhandyman.HomeStars.com
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1981
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
6
PAYMENT METHOD
cash, check, e-transfer
LICENSES
Licensed Contractor with City of TorontoDivision of Avanti Construction GroupLic# B23003
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
DIPLOMAS
civil engineer
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
PROJECT MINIMUM
$1.00
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
2 Yrs
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.