Paint It Like New

Furniture Refinish & Repair
Burlington ON L7N3G8
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

62%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Paint It Like New

Average customer rating:
7 10 (25 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Oakville, ON
1/10

Item painted

I too found the quality of work overpriced for end result.
The wood shows through the paint colour. It was like the piece was lightly dusted with minimal paint required. When this was communicated to the the owner she became very defensive and customer service fell off the radar immediately.
Avoid disappointment and confrontation.
Paint it like somewhere else.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We wish you had been pleased with the results of your project. The wood showing through is actually the graining. In all of our correspondence and conversations we stress the importance of understanding the graining in oak. We strive for consistent coverage in the graining but it is still going to be visible. I would encourage you to bring the piece back as I suggested for a third coat. We strive to do our best on all projects. Communication is key. I would be pleased to see you in 2017!! Janet

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Kitchen cabinet doors painted

Would not recommend or go back to this store. The owner Janet has no idea what customer service means. She made me feel like like my business, that I brought to her now and future customer relation, meant nothing for her and her business.
I recently had my basement kitchenette doors painted from her, but never ever again, would I like to deal with suck a rude, unprofessional and cold person. Unable to pick up my order on time, all I asked from her was not to charge the late fee and tried to explain my reason. But she didn't want to listen. Horrible experience.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We also would have liked to have this experience end differently, unfortunately at this high volume time of year, as we explained 2 weeks ago with our first phone call, it is necessary that our customers stick to the 4-5 days pickup policy stated on your invoice. We try to exercise as much flexibility with our customers when arranging for pickup, however when promises to pick up don't come through and phone calls aren't returned our hands are tied. Other customers kitchens are now delayed and we need to explain to them it is due to someone else not picking their kitchen up. Kitchens are very high volume for us, and while we have room approximately 300 doors, this fills up quickly and we rely on our customers picking up in a timely manner in order to not delay others.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
9/10

Painted Chairs

Just got my chairs back from them and they did a great job. They provided details on how to care for them after and even extra touch up paint. The customer service was great and I would highly recommend them.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you!! So happy you are pleased with your chairs! We hope to see you again in the future!

PILN Team

Elaine  from Burlington
Elaine from Burlington
1 review Burlington, ON
10/10

Bedroom Furniture

We found the staff very helpful. Lindsay let us know it would be 4-5 weeks before the painting was completed and the project was completed within that timeline. We are so pleased with how the bedroom furniture turned out that we are taking additional pieces in to be painted.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Elaine! We are thrilled that you are so pleased with your bedroom furniture and we can't wait to work with you on your next pieces!

Lisa  from Toronto
Lisa from Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Ice box painted

Janelle & Christie in South Etobicoke were fantastic helping pick a colour and explaining the process. Totally thrilled with end result! It looks fantastic and still perfect a year later.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Lisa! We are so happy you're still enjoying your piece!

Bm from Burlington
Bm from Burlington
1 review Burlington, ON
1/10

Bath Vanity Painting

I took a newly constructed vanity to be painted. I was told a 3-4 week turn around time and it ended up being 5 1/2 weeks. Likely other customers got bumped up in turn around time.

Truthfully, I don't see value for what I paid for. (Approx. $500).

The job/finish isn't the best and I don't feel like there is any pride in workmanship. People who specialize typically exceed at delivering an exceptional result. Did they get my item painted--yes, but not to excellent standards.

Im confident I could have ended up with the same result doing it myself as others have said.

I had some smaller components (trim/filler pieces) and what they didn't tell me is that they screw something into them to paint them--likely to hang as they spray. They must not predrill as I have a crack in my filler piece as a result and will have to have it remade.

I would not return, nor recommend.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I am very sorry that you are not pleased with the results of your product. I can assure you that we take great pride in all of the work that comes through our shop. We have been at a month turnaround for quite sometime now due to high volume and all of our order forms state that, including yours. If you would like to call us at 905-631-7336 we would be happy to address your concerns with you.

Margie from Burlington
Margie from Burlington
1 review Burlington, ON
10/10

Bathroom vanity

Paint it like new did a fantastic job spraying my bathroom vanity cabinets. Very impressed with the quality of the work! Great way to recycle perfectly good doors/ furniture and update for a fraction of the cost of new.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much and we are thrilled that you are happy with your bathroom vanity doors, they look fantastic! We look forward to working with you again!

Doug and claire Scott from Mississauga
Doug and claire Scott from Mississauga
6 reviews Mississauga, ON
9/10

kitchen cupboards painted

After installing dark hardwood in our kitchen, we needed to "lighten up" our kitchen cupboards. We visited Paint It Like New to see if this was an option. The staff was very helpful with suggesting colours, sub contractor to help us paint the boxes . We were given an accurate time as to when our doors would be finished and a few calls in between to let us know how things were progressing. This was a very reasonable budget friendly option to spending thousands to give our kitchen a lift. The paint job was excellent. I would suggest this little company to anyone looking for a different avenue other than total cabinet replacement or facing.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review! We are so happy that you are pleased with your results and we look forward to working with you again!

DK from Mississagua
DK from Mississagua
3 reviews Brampton, ON
1/10

paint an old oak desk

We took an old desk for a professional sanding and spray finish after seeing an ad on TV. Following the 3 weeks cure time, the finish started to come off when the first drawer was slid into position and the top was not sanded smooth. In hindsight, we should have painted it at home.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Aramusha from Burlington
Aramusha from Burlington
2 reviews Burlington, ON
0/10

Restoration & Painting

I took 3 kitchen chairs in to be reglued and refinished in Jan. 2013. They looked great. However, the joints were separating by December. The website says "Many minor damages can be fixed and this is included in our prices. It is best to point them out when they arrive so that we can fix them prior to priming. Major damage may be fixed with a special product by our expert sanding technicians for an extra cost." I paid the extra cost, and written on the work order in two places was reglue all spindles.
Ms. Hamilton responded to my complaint, "We are a professional spray shop and we also do our best to provide additional services such as repairs. It is explained that we are not a carpentry shop so we can't guarantee any carpentry repairs such as regluing. As I can't anticipate how furniture is used it is difficult to guarantee.
If you would like to return the chairs for us to reglue, you would more than welcome. It will be difficult as the chairs are now painted, but we will do our best. If it is a simple repair we will do it for free. If it is a more timely repair and touch ups of the paint is needed, then we will charge a fee of $25 plus hst.
So, she would not expect a chair to be sat upon?
Nowhere was it explained that the re-gluing was not guaranteed.
So, by her own admission, she cannot do the job, but will try again, and if she damages the chairs in the process, I get to pay her yet again. I will have the work done by someone who is qualified.
She has appeared to have removed the word "restore" from most of her website and advertising.
Perhaps Beachmom should have put in a complaint to the BBB.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Paint It Like New

Janet Hamilton is the owner and president of Paint It Like New! Inc . Janet has been a long time fan of home decor both inside and out, watching every type of decor show available. “Repurposing and recycling furniture has been a passion of mine from a young age. Learning ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Furniture Refinish & Repair pros in Milton?