Homes By Avi Inc.

Builders
245 Forge Road SE Calgary AB T2H 0S9
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Builders
Homes By Avi Inc.
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

61%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Homes By Avi Inc.

Average customer rating:
6.3 10 (99 reviews)

Sort by

Iveta in Calgary
Iveta in Calgary
0 reviews Airdrie, AB
0/10

Disappointed by Warranty and Customer Service

We have had numerous problems with poor workmanship in our home and have had to keep hounding AVI to make repairs, after numerous phone calls and emails some of our concerns have been fixed, however the last issue did it. We took position July 2018!
1. Scratched flooring on main floor. When they came to fix the scratched pieces we realized that AVI installed completely wrong floor. It took them almost 8 months to get the correct flooring and install it correctly! So make sure people you check that you get what you paid for! All this work was done when we moved in with all our furniture here. You can just imagine what we went through.
2. A crack on the sidewalk that is not AVI problem, but apparently the Developer.
3. Gate got installed the way that we could not open it as there is a window well. Took them 2 months to fix the issue. Of course we could not use the gate.
4. Railing in front was installed wrong way - completely of and it took them almost a year to fix it as well the post on our porch. Installed completely off, nothing was align.
5. Bathroom fans stopped working after a year. The person who came to fix it told me that they told AVI not to use the brand. I guess, cheap is the way to go.
6. Duct vent coming off under the kitchen sink - so they glued it on the cabinet. Duct vent on the floor in the living room half way sticking out because they did not cut big enough hole for it and left it.
7. Microwave issue.
8. Faucet leaking in the kitchen. Yes it is fixed but after a year and half we got defected faucet?
9. Missing countertop behind stove! Yes, it got "fixed" but it is not 1 piece but instead I have now 3 pieces of counter tops! When they came to inspected first when I made complaint, they said it is OK the way it is. So I went to showhome and took picture and showed them that it should be installed the same way. Finally they fixed it.
10. Garage pad cracked and collapsed. As per the "expert", Don, it was in the 1 year warranty only. Guess what, when they came to do the 1 year warranty check up, they never went into my garage. So now I am just praying that they will still do something about it.
11. Latest - the bath tub in our spare bedroom leaked and made big damage on our ceiling and walls. I phoned emergency number for AVI which they been really good until the "expert", DON, came to our house and told me that the bathtub is cracked. And he said that they have to determined if it is still under warranty or not or if it is manufacture defect. GUESS WHAT? Without explaining us, contacting us they simple decided that it was not under warranty or manufacture defect.... but they came to fix the tub and ceiling, but apparently we are responsible for the walls because it is not under warranty. You could clearly see that the crack is the wrong way not as someone hit it with hummer!!!!!!! So, the "expert", Don, been really customer oriented and yelling at me here at my house how it is not his problem and that he is here only to bleached the ceiling. So my walls in the living room are blistered, bean is cracked as well all the paint along the fire place is cracked too.

I am hoping that before your buy house from Homes by Avi, you will read all those reviews. Go with different company and save money. Homes by Avi is not what used to be. They do not care how much money you spent, unless you are buying hire range house. We are first generation living in Canada and we had to sacrifice few things to be able to get this house. But as per the "expert" Don who cares. Warranty Coordinator, Jackie, will not even reply to our emails. or let us know what is next step. Who cares, they already got our money. I already had few people asking me how am I happy, and I will tell you the true, Not at All. And do not buy with AVI.
And all those warranties, they are a joke. If you need them to fix something you are just praying it is still under warranty!
Very disappointed ex-customers, Iveta and Jaro

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Kathleen in Edmonton
Kathleen in Edmonton
0 reviews Edmonton, AB
1/10

New Home

Home not completed 6 mos later. Were promised repeatedly it would be. Signed contracts say it would be. It was not. Nice home, but won't ever buy from them again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Our trades work hard and orderly to fulfill all work within our short seasons, however, they are at the mercy of our varying weather. As you know, landscaping and other seasonal work is just that, seasonal. At this time, seasonal work is still being completed and every effort will be made to complete yard work in 2019, with yours scheduled for this week, pending cooperative weather. If you wish to discuss further, you can contact our seasonal/construction manager at the number provided by Megan.

B. in Edmonton
B. in Edmonton
0 reviews Edmonton, AB
2/10

Shoddy work. Lacks integrity

Bought house from Homes by Avi in 2012. In 2019 I had to replace broken hood fan. When I started to disconnect the old fan I discovered this. The hood fan (had to be chosen from a limited number available from their centre) had a 7" duct. They put in a standard 6" exterior duct. Whoever put in the electrical box to supply the hood fan put in low and in the way so the exterior duct is too low and off to the right. There was no connecting duct. They built the sheet metal box in the picture encasing the two ducts and then boxed it in wood so until now I had no idea the ducts were mismatched and not connected with airtight seal the way it should be. The flap of the metal box was not cut by me. I discovered it taped in place when I removed encasing wooden box that hid everything from view. Since I only discovered this this year, all warrantees are expired. Shoddy work for a house that cost over $800 K CAD. I shudder to think what other disasters are hidden behind the walls.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi B., We can understand how you'd be disappointed the mismatched duct, however, we've been assured by our trades that an encased box when built right, which yours was, will be airtight and exhaust properly directing air out of the house. From the looks of your picture, the box was working as intended as there is no debris in the duct box and there was no issues with the exhaust fan. Our warranty department has reached out to discuss further and is available to continue the conversation regarding your concerns if you wish to reach out.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Edmonton, AB
0/10

Terrible house foundations, cracks everywhere within 2 years

Homes by Avi came and inspected the cracks in the house and refused to fix anything. very unsupportive. Cracks continue to appear everywhere in the house within the one year. My neighbours homes are having same issues which is also builtby homes by AVI.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Eric in Toronto
Eric in Toronto
2 reviews Calgary, AB
0/10

Refuses to fix their mistakes, makes a woman bring out a ladder for their painter

Sell you premium home but act like they are going broke with warranty. Told me right in the face that "we are not going to tear all that up to fix this" while the conduit I paid for is not even connected. Then went on to tell the technician do what he could making the hole in the wall as small as possible disregarding concerns from the technician himself. Then made my wife to bring out the ladder so they can paint over the mistake they didn't fix. "Well mine is dirty do you want mud all over your floor?" the guy said.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Our goal is to provide a consistently reliable product and superb aftercare service. Please follow the communication provided by our customer service team to resolve any outstanding issues you may have.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Calgary, AB
0/10

Poor customer service, work and denial to fix the issues.

I will not recommend this builder to anyone. We got our home possession in Feb 2018 and after 3 months follow up we notified builder issues we noted after move. Some of them resolved but for others they are willing to do the fix. i.e. walls on both sides of fridge not vertically align, tiles is master washroom not adjusted properly, garage door panels was sticking out and they hasn't fix it. They promised to do the grading work by end of June but completed at end of August. Deck stairs hasn't been put.

It's nightmare to deal with their office. They don't keep their promise. Very poor customer service.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

As a company, we pride ourselves on delivering quality products and great customer service to our homeowners, and we would like to address your grievance, where possible.
We strive to provide clarity and operate with transparency, so we would like to clear a few things up. As per grading schedules, the work is to begin in June – at times, weather and other external factors impact the timing. Rear stairs can only be put in after grading is complete, and yours are on site and will be installed next week. For the concern of your fridge wall, we’ve worked with Alberta New Home Warranty (ANHWP) and it is within their guidelines. Unfortunately, as the warranty manager has told you, the garage door panels are on back order, but we will replace them ASAP.
We abide by strict builder guidelines and undergo numerous inspections on each home we build to ensure the safety and integrity of your home. If you would like to have any of these issues reviewed by ANHWP, our warranty department can coordinate that with you – please contact us directly.

unhappy home owner in Edmonton
unhappy home owner in Edmonton
2 reviews Calgary, AB
0/10

New Home nightmare

We have had numerous problems with poor workmanship in our home and have had to keep hounding AVI to make repairs, after numerous phone calls and emails some of our concerns have been fixed, however many remain unsolved. I am only listing the issues that to date have not been resolved.
1. Defective window not repaired. We purchased a brand new Home built by AVI. Possession date was 25 July 2017. On possession day we reported a defective window and were told that it would be repaired under warranty. When it was being replaced it was dropped and caused damage on the outside of the house. The damage on the house was repaired, however when winter weather came we discovered that the window was frozen shut. When we were able to open it we found ice buildup inside the window frame. We reported it and they came back several times to try to repair it. Every time it turned cold the window continued to freeze up. The last time they were here for an attempted repair was March 2018. On March 31 2018 the temperature outside dropped and we took a picture of the frost build up inside the window frame and sent it to AVI to request another repair. The response we got was that the window had already been repaired and we would have to wait until the winter of 2018/2019 when the temperature was cold again. We corrected AVI and explained that the photo we sent was dated 31March2018 and was factually taken after the attempted repair. We told AVI that when the window was repaired the person who did the repair told us to be sure to contact them if we had any further problems. AVI responded by saying that the manager Peter would contact us after he returned from holidays. We were never contacted by Peter and when we contacted AVI again with our concern we never received a response. All of this correspondence took place VIA email and can easily be verified. It is now September and the window still has not been repaired.
2. A small crack on the sidewalk has turned into an uneven chunk about 1 inch deep and about 6 inches long. When Al was here on July 23 he assured me that it would be fixed. When he returned on Sept 7th for other repairs he denied telling me that it would be fixed.
3. Parging was missed on a section at the back of our home about 8 feet long and 6 inches at the highest point. Our request to have this repaired has been denied.
4. AVI provided the landscaping and water ponds in our back yard and on the ground between our two homes. Photos were taken and repairs were made in the back yard, however no repairs were made on the ground between our two homes. Our concerns were going unanswered by our contacts with AVI so we went to our AVI sales person with our concerns. We received a phone call from Peter a few days later and he was upset because he said that he had pictures of our yard and the landscaping company had repaired both the back yard and the area between the two homes. I correct him and said that the neighbours had replaced the sod between the two homes, but that the landscaping company had not done anything to address our concerns about the drainage. He insisted they had fixed it and said that he would contact the landscaping company and get back to us. That was several weeks ago and we still have no response from him.
5. Splattered paint on deck railing. This was reported and we were told that it had been removed but we found that it was still there. We have been told verbally that it will be replaced; however we did not get anything about it in writing and due to the pattern of dishonesty that we have experienced from the AVI employees we have concerns that it also will not be addressed.
6. Garage door leaked water and does not operate smoothly. The weather stripping was replaced and at that time we noticed that two door panels are defective and that could possibly be the reason the door does not operate smoothly. We were told that the panels would not be replaced because they would not be covered under warranty because they were installed 1.5 years ago. AVI told us that they should be replaced because the warranty period should be from date of possession. Again due to the lack of honesty and response we have had with AVI we are not confident that this will be fixed.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Marcia,
We hear your concerns and have been working with our departments and with the Alberta New Home Warranty Program (ANHWP) to rectify your concerns, where we can. We hold your concerns to a high regard and encourage you to contact Peter Johns our warranty manager directly or like we mentioned on your other review, await his call as he will be in contact with you within the week to further discuss.

PS in Calgary
PS in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
4/10

Worst customer support

They earn billions but very cheap in treating customers and their issues. We bought brand new house, but everyday there is new issues. You send in an email and sometimes even videos, but they still do not believe in you. They will send their trades, god knows what they do but the problem arrises again, you send an email again and the circle continues. Worst thing never pick up a phone call or replies to your call. They do not believe the customers but believes in the non truth words of the third party contractors or people.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

The last thing we want is unhappy customers. We apologize if it seems that we’ve been unconcerned - that’s not the case. As with any new home, there are so many moving parts, departments, and trades involved and we have processes to ensure a solution will be provided. If you would please email nwarin@homesbyavi.com in our warranty department with your job number or address and contact information, we can have a representative be in touch with you.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Homes By Avi Inc.

After more than three decades of building award winning new houses in Calgary, we can look back and say that we helped build homes and communities and made a significant contribution to the city. It is very rewarding to leave a lasting legacy and to still see happy homeowners after ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Builders pros in Edmonton?