The Gentlemen Plumbers

Plumbing
3638 Manchester Rd SE Calgary AB T2G 3Z5
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Plumbing
The Gentlemen Plumbers
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

93%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2021 winner 5 timesBest of 2021winner 5 times

Reviews for The Gentlemen Plumbers

Average customer rating:
9.4 10 (1115 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Strathmore, AB
2/10

Over Priced!!!

Today's internet you can get prices on anything! DO YOUR HOMEWORK!!
I unfortunately did not, I signed their work order to install 2 new toilets at $685 each installed!!! Priced the exact item at your local Home Renovation stores and they were priced at $225 each!! Do the math!! $460 for approx 1.5 hours work!!! The second toilet they could not install (no fault of their own) but charged me the markup of approx $385 and left the toilet assembled on the floor. Find Plumbers with free estimates, Gentlemen Plumbers charge you $76 to knock on your door!!! So, I paid for 1 toilet to be installed the other to sit on the floor $1173.00!!!! Called and asked for Manager they said "Manager will call you ASAP",... no call !!!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Private User, thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you did not feel you received the exceptional service we strive for with each and every one of our customers. We always ensure our technicians go over any options and pricing with our clients prior to doing any work. I would really like to hear from you and get a better understanding of the situation. My contact # is 403-204-8019 Maria. Look forward to speaking with you soon.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Calgary, AB
0/10

Be wary of their diagnosis

Giving a one star rating as zero is not an option. Don't waste your money.

Called for a hot water tank coming up with a thermopile issue. After farting around for a couple hours the technician said to get any parts for it would take 8-12 weeks. That it wasn't worth fixing as the minimum repair was $500. Then proceeded to try and sell me on a $2000-$3000 water tank with either a 5 year or 10 year warranty, and that is was apples to apples the best system out there and worth every penny. Told them I needed a second opinion so they charged me $69 onsite fee and $100 diagnostic (when they didn't identify the actual issue other then my tank was a bad brand).

Called another plumber, came out, soldered a piece back on and replaced the thermopile TCO wire that Gentlemen plumbers had taken with them. Water tank is working, he also noted that the current tank actually has a 10 year parts warranty and ordered the new part for me.

Additionally I wanted them to fix a leaking faucet. Gentlemen plumber said he had never seen a cartridge like that and that this was not a brand of faucet he'd ever seen and that we should replace the while faucet. Turns out it was American Standard and the part is $27.

Really disappointed and feel like I got an overpriced salesmen instead of a plumber.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Private User, I am very sorry to hear that your visit did not go as expected. I cannot locate any information from when we were out to you. I would certainly like to speak with you and go over the entire situation, if you would give me the opportunity. I can be reached at 403-204-8019 my name is Maria. Thank you kindly

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Leaky toilet, multiple wet spots in basement

This is the second time I’ve used the Gentlemen Plumbers and they are fantastic. Punctual, knowledgeable, helpful, professional and not pushy or salesy. I would highly recommend using them if you’re in need of a plumber!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello private user, That's fantastic to hear you had another great plumber come to assist you. We certainly appreciate all our return customers. We do our very best to make every visit to your home a professional one. We look forward to seeing you again.

Private User
Private User
2 reviews Chestermere, AB
10/10

Bar sink back up causing major leak

Found a huge puddle of water by our down stair bar. Further investigation we found that the drain wasn't draining properly so assume it was due to a blockage. Called up Gentleman plumber and they were able to come right away. Was hesitated to call up another plumbing company that could come right away but Gentleman plumber did leave a good impression when I was selling my old house. Boy am I glad I waited. Got a call the next morning that they can come take a look that day. Jason was amazing. He provided us with detailed explanation of what’s going on and what he was going to do. Prices were provided upfront. Not only did the bar drainage have a blockage (apparently two blockage) and it wasn’t done up to code. My husband doesn’t get impressed much but he was impressed by Jason’s professionalism and work. Not only did Jason fixed the bar up to code and got our blockage clear, he ensures that everything was working and clean by the time he left. And boy did Jason spend a lot of time getting it all fixed from 10am when he arrived till 9 pm when he left. Jason is also great with kids. If I ever have any plumbing problem, I’m never calling any other plumbing company but gentleman plumber. Highly recommend Jason and greatly appreciate all his help!!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Private User,
That would not be a great thing to find in your house anywhere that's for sure! You did the right thing and wait for one of our plumbers to be able to come out and assess what was going on there. We are so glad it was fixed and up to code. We would be more than happy to be able to assist you again in the future. Just give us a call.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Brooks, AB
0/10

Diamond Club

After paying into the diamond club for 10 years to find out the work I was quoted on was not covered. All the paid funds were not refundable, maybe they should explain that when they are trying to sell you on their club rather than actually working.
Do not join any monthly club or you will be taken too. Then be sure they do not charge you after you cancel. Then try and get that from them too.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Private User,
I am really sorry you feel that way regarding your membership. On our contracts we have all the details so it is clear what you are signing and agreeing to. At no time is there a cancellation fee to any of our clients. If you have your contract can you please contact me and I would be more than happy to resolve any misconceptions. I can be reached at 403-204-8019 Maria

PK in Calgary
PK in Calgary
4 reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Great home inspection and plumbing issue solved!

Laverne did a great job of checking the plumbing and making necessary repairs. Price was reasonable. Courteous and prompt, he was fantastic. Highly recommended! We called late last week, and they came as soon as they could!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi PK, I am so glad that Laverne was able to repair all your toilet flapper, and was able to determine what was blocking the warm air from getting to the laundry ptrap. Thank you for choosing The Gentlemen Pros, we do look forward to being able to assist you in the future.

Shannon in Toronto
Shannon in Toronto
1 review Okotoks, AB
10/10

Professional, Quality Sevice

Called for help with a plumbing issue and to discover the source of a leak. They were able to attend in a timely manner and service was performed to a high standard. Trevor was kind, professional and knowledgeable.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Shannon, I am so glad you called us and that Trevor was able to help with that leak, they are not a fun thing to be dealing with at the best of times. He is a super nice guy, and it's always peace of mind having a professional in your home. We appreciate you being one of our valued customers. Contact us if you run into any other issues, we would be more than happy to assist you. Maria

Cmac
Cmac
0 reviews Edmonton, AB
10/10

Another great experience with the Gentlemen Plumbers

Pilot light in Water tank went out. They came very quickly. Since we purchased the unit from them all work was covered in the 10 warranty. I would not go anywhere else for my plumbing needs. Technician was very professional. Work was very thorough and she cleaned up the work space following the companies covid protocols. Signed up for their Gentlemen's Promise Package and now it is a one stop place for all plumbing, heating and electrical. Monthly fee cheaper than what I pay with Direct Energy and all three are covered.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Cmac, How great is that when the warranty covers you're visit to have your hotwater tank taken care of. Rachelle is a so awesome and an amazing plumber. I know you will enjoy the Promise membership as wee, so you will now have your plumbing, HVAC, and Electrical annual home inspections all looked after. We look forward to seeing you again.

Russell in Edmonton
Russell in Edmonton
2 reviews Edmonton, AB
6/10

Toilet flush draining very slow

We appreciated the quickness with which the technician was sent out and were pleased with the service and suggestion of purchasing a new toilet would likely be the only solution (Dec 21). Gentlemen Plumbers would provide pricing for a few toilet options. Did not hear from them so I e-mailed Jan 6.; received a quote on 1 toilet. I had a few questions which I e-mailed Jan 6. Today is Jan 13 and still have not had any response. I found the pricing for the toilet expensive compared to purchasing from reputable plumbing store. Not to satisfied with the service after the technician came out.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Russell, I am sorry to hear that after the plumber gave you the options for the toilets
that it wasn't what you expected. We work very hard to accommodate our clients needs, I would love to hear more about the situation and see what we could of done differently for you.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Fast, Professional and Intelligent Service

Laverne showed up on time and prepared. He thoroughly outlined the service to be provided and was professional and an exceptional communicator. He assessed the work needed and was proactive in addressing issues that were related to the work at hand. He was clean and organized. In completing a home inspection, he brought to light a few items that need addressing or at least watching and gave suggestions for solutions going forward. A real pleasure to welcome him into my home and will definitely consider Gentleman Plumbers for any further work.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Private User,
Looks like you got our friendly giant Laverne, such a great guy. Sounds like he was thorough and walked you through step by step, that is what I like to hear and is so important so you as our customer understands the process. I also would like to thank you for choosing The Gentlemen Pros and we would be more than happy to be able to assist you again.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about The Gentlemen Plumbers

With professional, dedicated plumbing service to all major cities and surrounding areas in Alberta, and with some of the best plumbers in the industry, The Gentlemen Plumbers work hard to exceed your expectations and deliver quality. If you need a plumber, call us today for plumbing or heating issues, leaky sinks and faucets, clogged drains, toilet, bathtub and shower repairs, furnace cleaning and repairs, hot water tanks and tankless hot water heaters, furnace installation and maintenance, trenchless pipe repair, camera sewer inspection, and more! We have local branches in Calgary, Edmonton, Red Deer, Lethbridge, and Medicine Hat, with extended service all over Southern Alberta, including Camrose, Sherwood Park, St. Albert, Airdrie, High River, Crossfield, Carstairs, Olds, Innisfail, Wetaskiwin, Leduc, Lacombe, Okotoks, Nanton, Taber, Cardston, Didsbury, Brooks, Crowsnest Pass, Cochrane, Strathmore, Sundre, Three Hills, Ponoka, Fort Macleod, Pincher Creek, Bowden, Fort Saskatchewan, Chestermere, Sylvan Lake, Spruce Grove, and Stony Plain.

CATEGORIES
Plumbing
SERVICES
Plumbing installation, repair and service Leaking Toilet Repair Hot Water Tank Replacement Toilet Installation Repairing a Leak Septic System Service Dishwasher Installation Water Line to Fridge Installation Commercial Plumbing Unclogging Bathtubs and Sinks Unclogging Sewer Lines Unclogging a Toilet Unclogging a Kitchen Line Sewer Line Replacment Trenchless Pipe Replacement Sewer Line Camera Inspection Lining Sewer Pipes Humidifier Installation Furnace Repair Service Furnace Replacement Air Conditioning Service Garage Heater Service
SPECIALITIES
Plumbing installation, repair and service Leaking Toilet Repair Hot Water Tank Replacement Toilet Installation Repairing a Leak Septic System Service Dishwasher Installation Water Line to Fridge Installation Commercial Plumbing Unclogging Bathtubs and Sinks Unclogging Sewer Lines Unclogging a Toilet Unclogging a Kitchen Line Sewer Line Replacment Trenchless Pipe Replacement Sewer Line Camera Inspection Lining Sewer Pipes Humidifier Installation Furnace Repair Service Furnace Replacement Air Conditioning Service Garage Heater Service
WEBSITE
https://www.thegentlemenpros.com
YEAR ESTABLISHED
2001
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
100
PAYMENT METHOD
Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Direct Debit, Cash, Cheque
MEMBERSHIPS
Diamond Club, Platinum Club
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
1 Year, 5 Year, 10 Year, Lifetime
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.