Oshawa Carpet One Floor And Home

Floor Retailers
495 Taunton Rd E Oshawa ON L1H 7K4
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Floor Retailers
Oshawa Carpet One Floor And Home
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

91%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Indicates how well a pro reacts to reviews and review-related interactions with Homeowners.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Oshawa Carpet One Floor And Home

Average customer rating:
9.1 10 (34 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Blackstock, ON
10/10

carpet

I have bought carpet on two different occasions from Carpet One, and have been very pleased with their selection and, service and advice. Their installers are very efficient and pleasant. I would highly recommend the company.

Approximate cost of services:
$1,800.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We are so glad to hear that you are a happy repeat customer! We look forward to seeing you again for your next project!

Jane  from Oshawa
Jane from Oshawa
1 review Oshawa, ON
1/10

carpet

We selected carpet on sale and they promised to have it installed within a specified period of time since we were having company from England. We called just prior to the installation date to confirm everything 'a go'. It was. THEN they called back 2 days prior to say the carpet was unavailable but that they had 'comparable' carpet in stock for same price. We had no choice but to accept different quality carpet over the phone.
It felt like a bait and switch. We have rentals and was hoping to find a carpet place that we could rely on.We would not go through this again.

Approximate cost of services:
$700.00
What could this company do to improve their services?
Any advice to offer fellow homeowners facing a similar project?
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I am very sorry to hear that you are not happy with your experience with our store. Unfortunately, shipping delays are often unforeseeable and we were doing our very best to complete the installation within your timeline. I would like the opportunity to discuss the situation with you and ensure that you are ultimately satisfied with your new carpet. Because we offer the Beautiful Guarantee, if you are dissatisfied with the carpet that was installed, we have may have the opportunity to replace it for you with the original selection. Please contact me directly at the store at your earliest convenience. I look forward to hearing from you. Sincerely, Michelle Communications Director

Sherry from Oshawa
Sherry from Oshawa
1 review Oshawa, ON
10/10

Hardwood Floors

We were trying to match previously installed hardwood floors and appreciated Cheryl's knowledge and recommendations as well as the ability to bring home samples to test against what was already in our house. The installer was very courteous and the work is impeccable. We have had a great experience throughout.

Approximate cost of services:
$3,000.00
What could this company do to improve their services?
Any advice to offer fellow homeowners facing a similar project?
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

thank you so much for the great review, we are glad you were happy with the service you received!

Richelle Nantais from Bowmanville
Richelle Nantais from Bowmanville
1 review Bowmanville, ON
10/10

Carpet with installation

Cheryl was just excellent at helping us find new carpet that looks fabulous and matched our budget. They were on time, polite and courteous. Their quote was the lowest by far! We are recommending them to all of our friends and colleagues and will return to do our window coverings!

Approximate cost of services:
$1,700.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Richelle.

Andy from Whitby
Andy from Whitby
1 review Whitby, ON
10/10

Carpet

Very pleased with the service and product. Staff were courteous and very helpful when we were trying to decide what to buy. Carpet was delivered and installed exactly as promised.

Approximate cost of services:
$2,000.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much Andy for your review. We always strive to make sure our valued customers are happy and we're glad we could meet your expectations!

Christine Ferguson from Oshawa
Christine Ferguson from Oshawa
5 reviews Bowmanville, ON
1/10

Distressed hardwood floor in living room dining room and hallway

I was initially satisfied with the work done this summer and they even came back one to fix obvious flaws but now I am seeing more problems. first the nails are showing and I would have thought that somehow they should be covered. I have had hardwood floors before and never had the nails showing. When the sun shines on it the bare wood shines and looks like gouges in the floor. Also I purchased a wood called distressed. I am now finding places where the wood is just chipping off and leaving me with unfinished wood. Looks like I have been digging into it. There are no children or dogs in this house so I am not understanding why. I thought it only fair last week to let the salesman, Michael, know how I feel and the problems. Letting him know I could not recommend his company again based on my experience. All he said was "I am sorry". I would have thought that he might have been interested in seeing why I am not satisfied. Because of this I am not only leaving a review but letting everyone know I will never ever use this company again.

Approximate cost of services:
$4,900.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I am very sorry to hear that you are experiencing issues with your hardwood floor. We stand behind the product that we sell and would like the opportunity to come out and take a look. Please contact me directly at the store and I would be happy to arrange a site visit. I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Michelle
Communications Director

gd from Oshawa
gd from Oshawa
1 review Oshawa, ON
1/10

carpet

Ordered 3 pcs carpet pre cut. Delivery date given, then called saying carpet was on backorder. When it came in and being installed 1 pc short by 4 inches. Company blamed installers saying their guy "checked off" the size and attacked installers work. "offered" another pc at cost. DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE!! ZERO CUSTOMER SERVICE.

So as we can see by the response, Carpet One NEVER has cut a carpet the wrong size. Tell you what, I will trade you my 12x12 piece for one that actually is 12x12(144"x144") I can give it metric too if you need that. I cannot understand why my installers are being attacked for Carpet One cutting a piece of carpet the wrong size. Owe up to it and make it right----and not on the back of your customer. Anywhere else would have provided a new piece to the customer. Also, Carpet Ones reply was that any decent installer would use a carpet stretcher to work. My installer had one but refused to pull that much in the distance provided because the carpet isn't made to be stretched that much. Good for him, why would I want that? Surely if there was a problem after stretching it Carpet One would blame it on the installers.....unless they are from Carpet One. I stand by my assertion of customer service. For Carpet One to say they supplied the right sized carpet, they are completely wrong yet refuse to accept that.

Approximate cost of services:
$2,500.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I am very sorry you are unhappy with the service you received. As you mentioned, we did offer to give you a replacement piece of carpet at our cost to try and help you out even though there was no error on our part. I think our offer of a new piece at our cost was a very fair offer and I believe that you were given excellent customer service from the very beginning.

Yes there were back-orders, which we cannot control, but you were called and informed of the back-orders as soon as we were informed and given the option of a full refund if the new dates did not work for you.

All material that comes into our warehouse is accounted for when it is received to make sure there is no damage or shortages. Also, when material is prepared to leave our warehouse to either be installed or picked up by a customer it is double checked to make sure the quantity is correct, especially when carpet is being cut at our location. To say that you received "zero customer service" because we would not give you a free piece of carpet is simply not a fair assessment of the situation. There is simply no benefit to us sending a short piece of carpet to you as it goes without saying that if we did then we would inevitably get a phone call about it.

We did recommend that you allow us to install the carpet with one of our professionally trained and certified installers but you decided that you would rather have someone you knew do your install, which means that we have no control over the installation or anything that happens during that install. At no time did anyone from Carpet One attacked your installer, it was simply suggested that an error might have been made during install which caused the shortage.

The original offer of a replacement piece at our cost is still open, should you wish to take us up on it please contact the store.

Barbara McMillan in Oshawa
Barbara McMillan in Oshawa
2 reviews OSHAWA, ON
10/10

Hall Runner

The store has a wonderful inventory with great selection. I was particularly impressed with Paulette who helped me with my order. She was knowledgeable and personally followed my order, keeping me up to date with the order, when it was received and when it went out for binding.

Approximate cost of services:
$240.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your business Barbara.

Cathy Stokes in Oshawa
Cathy Stokes in Oshawa
5 reviews OSHAWA, ON
10/10

Wall to Wall carpet installed

Carpet was professional installed over one and 1/2 days in a large family room, 2 offices and hall and stairs. They did a wonderful job and it stills looks perfect 2 years latter. I would recommend them to anyone. Last year we had them install ceramic in my Mother-in-laws kitchen, hall and bathroom. Same great service and great quality too. We are looking at putting in hardwood this year in our living/dining room and they will certainly be on our list for quotes.

Approximate cost of services:
$4,000.00
Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Oshawa Carpet One Floor And Home

Welcome and Thank You for considering Oshawa Carpet One Floor & Home as your local source for all the flooring needs for your home or business. We have been proudly serving our friends and neighbours in the Durham Region and beyond for more than 40 years. From inspiration to installation, ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Floor Retailers pros in Oshawa?