Metro Wide Paving Ltd

Paving Contractors
Toronto ON
Write a Review
Write a Review
Paving Contractors
Metro Wide Paving Ltd
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.


This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2021 winner 2 timesBest of 2021winner 2 times

Reviews for Metro Wide Paving Ltd

Average customer rating:
8.9 10 (88 reviews)

Sort by

2 reviews Toronto, ON

Paving private laneway

As part of a group effort with my neighbors, I embarked on a project to have our private lane re-paved, as it was in state of total disrepair.

We called up to 10 different companies, of which only 3 actually called us back. MetroWide was one of those companies. Joe came to quote the job, and then we didn't proceed until a year late. (due to a court case over the road). We eventually hired MetroWide in May 2011, and they completed the job on time and on schedule. We had a couple of concerns during the project, however Joe was always quick to communicate and remedy the problem. His crew worked hard, and they did a professional job. Joe was personally onsite at least 2 out of the 3 days. I believe he takes his company's reputation very seriously and I thought they did a great job.

We did have them come back to do some extra work, and again Joe was fair and we negotiated a good price. He is willing to work with you, and listen to your concerns. I found this company to be honest in their dealings, and they will not rip you off. Joe even gave us 6 pilons to keep for our lane, for FREE.

I would recommend this company if you want fast, reliable service at a fair price, and if you want someone who will actually return your calls!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

It was a pleasure working with you Julie!!

I will never forget how kind you were to us
when we were working on site.

All the best to you in future endeavours.

Please call anytime if you require anything.

Sonja in Scarborough
Sonja in Scarborough
5 reviews Scarborough, ON

Have a two car driveway re-surfaced

We arranged to have our 2 car driveway redone on June 30, 2011 and were told that the job would be completed by the second week in August. This time came and went and several calls were made to Joe to ask when we could expect them to return and complete the job (at this point, the driveway was just exposed gravel). The answer we continually received was “it will be done next week.”

A series of “next week’s” came and went and still no one showed up, so we called Joe back. He now said that they hadn’t come because “it had been raining in September.” We’re not exactly sure where it rained for all of September because, in Scarborough, it was quite dry that month. We spoke with some of the owners of the other 5 homes on the street that Metro Wide was doing and heard the same story from all of them: “We called MW too, a date was quoted that they’d return, but nobody showed up.”

On October 7, they finally arrived and completed the driveway by laying the needed asphalt. On October 19 it rained and the water ran backwards into our garage. We called Joe back (the only person we were “allowed” to speak to at MW by this point, but that is another story), and he said he’s send out someone to take a look. On October 24, two men arrived and agreed that there was indeed a problem with the driveway, and that 4 feet of asphalt in front of the garage door would need to be taken up again and re-laid. On November 5, they pulled up that section of driveway, and on Nov. 17, they re-laid the asphalt. This “repair,” however, left us with a joint in our new driveway, but the workers who did it, said that there was no other way to complete the repair without tearing up and redoing the whole driveway.

Bottom line: a job that was promised to take 6 weeks to complete ended up taking closer to 5 months, and yielded a “new” driveway that had to be repaired before it was even a month old.

Metro Wide Paving gets a 0 from us

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Well, I guess you cannot keep everybody happy.
I personally responded to every phone call this
client made, we went back several times to try
and rectify the problem, and we did. The weather
was fine, the driveway is good and solid, the water
runs properly. the garage floor is lower than the grade
of the sidewalk, thus the problem with the slope @ the garage.
Instead of this client being happy with our response times,
we are being criticized. What Gives??
As you can see by our other responses, we are a solid company,
and everybody is fair with there ratings. To say 0/10, is a bit
harsh and unfair.
I believe other client's will look at this, and say the same thing.
No where in this complaint does our client say that we ripped her
off, we did not put in enough asphalt, we cheated on the gravel, we
never responded to any of her calls, nowhere!!! At the end of the day,
this is a client that will never be happy, and as owner of this fine
company, I just have to accept that, and not take it personally.
I will continue to run my business the same way I have for the past
26 years, my good rating here, and A+ ratings with other firms is
proof of this.
I will continue to provide good honest service to all of my clients,
and if it takes a little longer than normal, it is not done on
purpose, remember, if we don't complete the job, we do not get paid,
so it is in our best interest to complete this job!!!
We did our best to remedy this problem, and feel a 0 is a personal
shot, and totally unfair.
I believe others that visit this site, and read other responses will
not think that we are a bad firm, we do good work, and have an
excellent reputation in the industry........just ask around,

Take Care,

Joe Zappia,
Metro Wide Paving Ltd.

J in Mississauga
J in Mississauga

Widened & repaved driveway

We were very satisfied with the job that Metro Wide did for us from start to finish. We had approx 25 different companies quote on the job & even though they were not the cheapest, we decided to go with them and are so glad we did. They came & did the job as promised, kept their word about when they were going to come back & pave & a few of months later, we noticed a crack in our driveway so we called them up and within the week it was fixed no questions asked. We highly recommend them - they are professional, did a quality job & have excellent customer service.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Appreciate the kind words,

Thank You!

Bobo in Scarborough
Bobo in Scarborough

Drive way and patio

Metro Wide paving did my driveway few year ago I call them again this February as we are 100% satisfied with their job and design I will recommend them.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

All the Best Bobo,

Glad we could help!!

Val & Bob     Mississauga
Val & Bob Mississauga
2 reviews Mississauga, ON


We hired metrowide to pave our driveway and repair an existing retaining wall. The contract was signed in late july and completed november 10. The job was delayed to some degree by repairs we had done to our leaky basement. I made countless phone calls to Joe asking when the retaining wall and driveway would be completeted;
and his response was -should be there later this week-or first thing next week-but it didn't happen. When his crew did show up to repair the retaining wall,they didn't bring the tools or rebars and I had to drive to Rona and get them myself. I was frustrated by this companies lack of concern and poor communication towards us -the customer. Just a phone call either way to let the consumer know their intentions would be appreciated;and mean it.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

It's too bad this client forgets to mention that we told him the wall he
hired another company to build was not very good, and that it would take
re-bars to complete properly.
It is also too bad he does not mention that we communicated very often,
and that the repair was charged at a minimal rate of $ 150.00 because
he offered to pick up the re-bars.
Tools? don't know what you are talking about, client indicated to me
personally that he was pleased with the work that had taken place,and
never indicatd any dissatisfaction.
Guess you can never make everybody happy, and maybe, mind our own
business and not commend or make suggestions to help out our client.
In this case, it did hurt us didn't it.


Hugh in Scarborough
Hugh in Scarborough
2 reviews Toronto, ON

Driving paving & side flower bed

When I first made my overtures to various companies for quotations on my new driveway project, Metro Paving was prompt and very helpful with suggestions for landscaping I had never thought of, nor had the other paving companies. From the time of the initial visit in early April before full frost had left the ground, it took some time for them to actually begin the project.

I found Joe very courteous and friendly, and he does know his business on his several visits to my place. By and large the main job of a new driveway was well done, and the idea of river rocks in the side flower bed with small bushes to be planted was brilliant. My neighbours are still complimenting us on how nice it looks.

My mixed reactions come from the added-on jobs I gave them to planting the bushes I had bought for the river rock bed next to the driveway. Intially, the crew just stuck the plastic pots in the ground and put in the river rocks. Amazing! How in the world were the roots going to break out of the plastic container and grow down?? But to their credit, the crew came back and redid the planting WITHOUT the pots and redid the stones. The other area for my mixed reaction was the side job of extending my patio with paving stones. The job was quite uneven when done, and rain water flows the wrong way toward the house then away from it. In additon, no effort was made to clean up the unused gravel, and several large unused concrete remnents were left in the back yard, which I haven't found a way to get rid of yet because of their weight.

My last area of concern is the final touch from the office. I have not yet received a proper invoice for the whole job (it is paid in full), which I need to claim for the 2009 tax renovation credit courtesy of our government. 5 phone calls and two emails to Joe and Co. but nothing yet has arrived in the mail, despite several promises.

Bottom line? My advice to anyone thinking of engaging the services of Metro Paving is that you make sure you do not pay them the final balance until FULL cleanup is done and a FULL invoice marked paid is provided.

I could have given them a 4 or 5 out of 5, but for the latter reasons, they slipped to a 3. Sorry, but these are the hard facts.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We tried Hugh, sorry we couldn't get
a higher rating.

Thanks for your review, we will strive
to improve as we always are.

Desiree in Brampton
Desiree in Brampton
3 reviews Brampton, ON

We had our backyard and front walkway paved by Metrowide Paving

Approximately 5 years ago we had our backyard and front walkway paved by Metrowide Paving. Initally I contacted 4 Paving companies and my husband and I decided to hire Metrowide Paving as we took an instant liking to their Sales Representative Tom. He was very professional and his worker's did a great job. We plan on having our driveway paved in the near future and we will definitely be contacting Metrowide Paving for a quote on the job.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank You!!

Ralph in East York
Ralph in East York
1 review East York, ON

First Review


Driveway Paving

Paved my driveway 3 years ago and did a great job that has held up. They took out the old asphalt and the ground underneath was wet and soft. They told me to leave it dry out and harden. It took a couple of months for them to get back but once they came they did an excellent job. I think they do mainly commercial work and the odd residential. They bring a lot of heavy duty equipment to the job site and they work quickly. Good job!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

A pleasure dealing with you!!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Metro Wide Paving Ltd

Metro Wide Paving specializes in residential & commercial asphalt/concrete & interlocking stone. We have been in business for over 30 years, and have an excellent record with our customers. We take pride in our work, and the work promised is always completed to our clients satisfaction.

Call us today for a free estimate!

Paving Contractors
Industrial Construction Commercial Construction Excavating Driveway Paving Parking Lot Paving Asphalt Paving Concrete Interlocking Stone Residential Construction Commercial Asphalt Paving Residential Asphalt Paving Exposed Aggregate Concrete Patterned Concrete Grading
Exposed Aggregate Paving Patterned Concrete
e-transfer, Visa, Cheques
Toronto, Markham,Miss,surrounding aras
$ 2,500.00
12 Months, due on completion
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.