Is this your business? Receive leads and respond to reviews. Claiming is easy and free. Claim this business

Kodiak Snow blowing Inc

Snow Removal
5927 Hazeldean Rd ON K2L1Y9
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Snow Removal
Kodiak Snow blowing Inc
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

75%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Kodiak Snow blowing Inc

Average customer rating:
8.8 10 (80 reviews)

Sort by

Yury from Ottawa
Yury from Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
9/10

Snow removing

I am with them 3 years. Will be this year too. There were some minor problems, as usual when too many snow within short time. But, they always responded, in acceptable time.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Yury for your positive feedback and for your business. We do the very best we can to be as responsive as possible with all of our clients and it is our pleasure to serve you. Look forward to another good winter ahead. Have a great Autumn.

John from Ottawa
John from Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
1/10

Snow removal

Have had this serice for 3 years. This years service is terrible. Didnt show up at all today. Use to plow a few times a day to clear driveway in morning and after city plow. Not anymore. A bunch of us are leaving next year.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your feedback. On 02/14/15 we received a total snowfall accumulation of 5 cms of snow (our minimum snowfall limit). Whenever we receive this small an amount of snow we will do 1 PASS ONLY after the city plows have gone by on the side streets. (It has always been this way.) Although 5 cms had fallen by 5 PM on 02/14/14, the city did not go out to plow until after midnight that night (4 AM on 02/15/15). We took a chance, started our work at 2 AM anticipating the city would be working overnight and it took us 13 hours of WAITING for the city plows to complete their work once they started. Had we started at 5 PM on the 14th the drivers would have been waiting for 22 hours for side streets to be plowed. I cannot justify having my drivers wait 22 hours for a 5-cm snowfall!

The city plow schedules represent a much bigger challenge than you take into consideration. In years past we could count on them being out as snow was subsiding, making it easy for us to be right behind them completing our work. Now, we complete our work within a 6-hour time frame and sit there scratching our heads wondering whether the city plows are going to appear and if so, when. The city refuses to supply any information regarding their schedules to the private contractors, so we learn of their whereabouts only by sitting and watching. There is a limit to how long we can realistically expect our drivers to do this, don't you agree?

You might think that the most logical course of action would be to have our drivers start their pass as soon as 5 cms is down, complete their work, and go home. In theory this works; in practice it does not. Many of our drivers come from as far away as Merrickville, Gatineau, Cornwall, and Gananoque. Calling them in for a 6-hour shift, sending them home, and bringing them back whenever the city decides to show up (which could be 2 hours later or 10 hours later), just isn't feasible. I would have drivers quitting left, right, and center.

If you check our Service Logs (https://www.kodiaksnow.ca/service-logs-2014-2015/), Kodiak has already been out on 17 separate dates so far and performed a total of 24 visits on each client's driveway. There has never been a time in the history of Kodiak (10 years) where service was not provided and I think it is unjust that you make this statement now. In this case, service was provided, just not as quickly as you would have liked.

A common theme behind many of the negative reviews we receive is a lack of understanding of our internal processes. Key to our operations are our drivers. They are not machines and we cannot treat them as such. In almost all cases, they go above and beyond what is reasonably expected. 20+ hours of waiting time for 5 cms of snow is not reasonable and I will not ask it of them.

John Dowell from Kanata
John Dowell from Kanata
6 reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Snow blowing

We live in Bridlewood, Kanata, and Kodiak provides excellent snow blowing service, which is why we have engaged its services since 2008. They are prompt and make several visits as required, including after each time the road is plowed. If you sign up early, you get a discount on the season's rate. Since we first engaged Kodiak, several neighbours have signed up as well, probably impressed at how efficiently our driveway was cared for. Any issues, such as taking care not to fire snow at our lawn lamp, were promptly addressed.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your kind words Mr. Dowell. It is our pleasure to provide you with the best customer service we can each season and we look forward to doing so for many years to come. As always, we remain at your disposal. Happy Holidays to you and your wife :)

Tiamo from Ottawa
Tiamo from Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
8/10

Good service, professional and polite

We came mid-season in December and decided to go with Kodiak service. They've given us a bit of discount because part of the season was done. They were very nice, and have done the clearing as required.

On our street, they were definitely not the first guys out there, but they've done a good job of keeping things in good shape even clearing after the city snow plows. Only once or twice I noticed signficant delays, and that is expected.

The only reason I couldn't give them full rating was due to the fact close to the end of the season we got a letter that "due to operational" cost increases, we must pay extra $60 or $80 (I can't remember which). That turned us off. We don't get discounts when there is not much snow on the ground, and I think of this as a long term relationship.

Anyway, I don't know about the other reviewers here, but their service is good. Pricy than others, but it does the job.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Tiamo for your review. We do the very best we can for all of our clients every year and appreciate the positive feedback. Regarding our $15 'Fuel Surcharge', we have decided to do away with that in future, preferring a more progressive 'up-front' approach of annual increases to keep up with the cost of rising fuel prices. We received similar feedback from other clients who preferred knowing about price increases at the beginning of a season rather than at the end ...and we listened! Have a great winter :)

Kim from Kanata
Kim from Kanata
1 review Kanata, ON
1/10

snow removal

(Please note - my name is KIM ROBINSON. I am not Mrs. Greenwood. Another inappropriate assumption on behalf of the company). A rather long but very honest review of service...
We originally contracted Kodiak in 2012/2013 for snow removal services for half our driveway. We were very clear when we contracted we meant HALF OUR DRIVEWAY. They agreed. Basically we just wanted them to remove what the city street and sidewalk plows leave behind. Pretty easy.
We were pretty much without incident in 2012/13 (not entirely, but close). However, this season is different. My husband shovels the snow down to the sidewalk line so that when kodiak comes they can just remove it with the rest (we were never told we could not or should not do this... and no one contacted us to tell us it was unacceptable). They refuse to remove the snow beyond the street ridge. It is clearly within the area they are to clear, but the drivers won't do it. When I confronted one of the drivers about it, she told me that my neighbour and I have been "taking advantage of the company" and proceeded to tell me there was nothing she could do, if I don't like it call the office. This is their customer service!?
When I did call I was told my contract was only for the street "ridge" of snow left by city plows, but that yes the treatment I received from the driver was unacceptable. I told my husband this and he totaly disagreed - when we initally contracted service it was for HALF THE DRIVEWAY (which, of note, is where they put the plow markers... Hmmm...). He called them back and it was eventually admitted/confirmed by the company that this was in fact what we had contracted for... They HAD agreed to do half the drive. BUT apparently a few weeks ago, a neighbour we had recmmended Kodiak to had called to complain about their service and had claimed to speak on our behalf as well (she did not). Apparently the neighbour was rude and perhaps aggressive and the company refused her any further service. And apparently because she claimed to speak for us as well, the company decided to deny us proper service as well. Until we called Kodiak, we had no idea this had even happened at all.... But apparently Kodiak's customer service decided it was enough for them. No one contacted us from the company to discuss any issues... They just determined that my neighbour represented us as well.
I am beyond disgusted by the conduct of the company. I understand why they are not accredited by the Better Business Bureau. I am ashamed I have recommended the company to others and will take steps to share this story wth them and apologize for recommending the company in the first place.
In closing, after reading the company's arrogant and defensive responses the negative reviews on here, (and the negative feedback on Facebook and elsewhere), I am not at all surprised by the customer service we received. You are rude even when you are defending your poor service! Not good for a small business with lots of quality competition out there....
I wish I would have read these reviews before I contracted... Particularly Kodiak's responses...Would have never gone with them in the first place.
Don't waste your money (or patience) Do your research and see for yourself!
I recommend Kodiak hire a good public relations company and perhaps a competant manager if they are to remain remotely competitive.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thankyou Mrs. Robinson for your review. To be honest, I am in disbelief that you have the nerve to submit it, because in reality you have been taking advantage of our service. You pay $175 + HST to have us remove the city plow ridge and the sidewalk plow ridge at the foot of your driveway only (what you call ‘half’ the driveway), but then your husband cleverly pushes the snow from the top three quarters of the driveway down to the sidewalk (which he denied in my telephone conversation with him) so that my driver ends up removing all of the snow on your driveway for half the price! Imagine how the rest of my clients would feel about paying the full price if they knew that you were getting all of the snow cleared away on your driveway for only half? What’s the difference between what you are doing and having your neighbor push all their snow onto your driveway for us to clear? Everyone wants something for nothing and where there is a loophole, there is a way! There were no issues in 2012-13 with our service because my driver at that time did not report to me what was going on. This year the new driver did and you got caught. Nonetheless, we continued to provide service throughout the ENTIRE season for both yourself and your neighbor. (We did not cease providing service or ‘deny you proper service’ as you claim.) Going ahead, we will not. It is not fair to the other clients that pay full fare and it is not respectful of Kodiak. I’m sure you will find another company you can do this with however, that will be happy to provide you with service for at least another season before they discover what is going on too.

Yvonne from Kanata
Yvonne from Kanata
1 review Ottawa, ON
1/10

Snow blowing

Kodiak provides bad services. They are consistently late in clearing my driveway. When other snow blowing companies already cleaned my neighbours' driveways but they are nowhere to be seen. Calling them up did not solve any problem except unpleasantness. I make sure to myself that this is first and also the last season I will hire them.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

All of our tractors were dispatched at 11 AM and are completing their routes as we speak (5:05 PM). I am the operating manager of this company and consider 6 hours a reasonable turnaround time for completion of our routes. I am therefore confused about why you would be upset. You have received service in a timely manner. Our routes are of course organized in a different order than those of our competitors, so we won't necessarily ever be at your address before our competitor will be at your neighbor's address. At the other end of the route however, we will be at our addresses before our competitor will get to his. This is just common sense. If you would care to provide more details of your complaint I would be happy to respond further. Specifically, we do not have a record of any client with a first name of Yvonne having called our office today. (We maintain call logs for all inbound calls received.) Unless I have a valid address to research I will consider this a bogus review.

Diane Mclean from Nepean
Diane Mclean from Nepean
5 reviews Nepean, ON

First Review

6/10

snow removal

The company was fairly prompt in removing snow throughout the season. They were always here immediately after the city plows had cleared the street, even when the driveway had already been cleared.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Ryan from Nepean
Ryan from Nepean
1 review Nepean, ON
0/10

Service

Kodiaks service is awful this year. We called a number of times. Then shortly after we complained about this service, they called half way through the season to tell us that our neighbour no longer subscribes and wanted us to pay the difference for the full driveway. They claim they have a terms and conditions (a contract I never signed BTW) that the price goes up if one of the neighbours back out. Never again Kodiak!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review Mr. Mansfield. Since you signed up for service with us in 2009, we recorded only one (1) complaint from you on Dec. 15/2013 @ 3:43 PM, noting that the competitor had arrived at your neighbor’s house before we arrived at yours. Our 'price adjustment' phone call was made to you on Jan. 16/2014. (We maintain call logs for all phone calls made and received at Kodiak.)

Regarding pricing, as a long-term client you are aware that we offer two prices to clients with single driveways. The first price is for an individual (‘regular’) single driveway and represents our base service price. The second is for a ‘shared’ single driveway and represents a significant discount over the regular single driveway price.

Our base price is clearly featured on our postcard flyer which gets distributed to homeowners every Autumn by Canada Post and is also visible on the Home Page of our website. Similarly, our Terms & Conditions are posted in electronic format on our website and are copied on the reverse side of your contract, which gets emailed to you EVERY August. They clearly state that, “Shared driveway prices apply only if the homeowners for both attached driveways subscribe for service during the same season. If one of the two attached driveway clients does not subscribe for service, regular single, double or triple driveway pricing will apply to the attached client left subscribing for service on his/her own.”

When you signed up for service with Kodiak in 2009 these Terms and prices were explained to you and have not changed since. There is nothing arbitrary about our pricing and our phone call to you on 01/16/2014 was not a retaliatory act as you imply. The phone call made to you was made to ten other clients who all agreed to pay the prescribed price for their driveways.

As a Kodiak client you have access to GPS tracking technology for your tractor online through our website or on your phone via our mobile app, plus you are guaranteed 24-hour Live Answer on snow days, after-hours support, updates on City of Ottawa parking ban information, and annual discount offerings. I would hardly call this ‘awful’ service. It is a shame that you do.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

Is this your business?

Receive leads and respond to reviews.
Claiming is easy and free.

Claim this business

More about Kodiak Snow blowing Inc

Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Snow Removal pros in Ottawa?