Is this your business? Receive leads and respond to reviews. Claiming is easy and free. Claim this business

Kodiak Snow blowing Inc

Snow Removal
5927 Hazeldean Rd ON K2L1Y9
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Snow Removal
Kodiak Snow blowing Inc
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

75%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Kodiak Snow blowing Inc

Average customer rating:
8.8 10 (80 reviews)

Sort by

Teresa in Ottawa
Teresa in Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Snow removal service

I was extremely please with the service I received from Kodiak this winter. They cleared the lane way in a timely fashion and did return trips to clear drifting and plow rows left by the city at the end of the driveway. My driveway marker was taken and it was immediately replaced without issue. I will absolutely sign up with them again next winter

Was this review helpful?
Karen Charron in Ottawa
Karen Charron in Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

excellent service

Great service, highly recommend. Parents are elderly, and I have never had to worry about them being out shoveling. The company is reliable, timely, and goes beyond. We were hit with snow into April and they came! This was beyond the contract. My mother is very particular about her laneway, and fearful of damage. She is very satisfied. We have never had any damages. My parents are safe and the service is wonderful. Thanks

Was this review helpful?
pegsters in Ottawa
pegsters in Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

snow blowing

WOW! After a record breaking snowfall in Ottawa yesterday, not only did Kodiak plow my lane way THREE TIMES, but Chris literally pushed my car out of its snowed-in tomb! What a guy!
I can't say enough good about this company. They're always friendly, cheerful and reliable.
THANK YOU CHRIS!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Pegi. We are proud of all of our drivers. They are expected to be courteous and helpful and do not disappoint us. There certainly was alot of snow on this day, so I'm glad Chris was able to assist :)

Caterina in Stittsville
Caterina in Stittsville
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Snow blowing

I have been using Kodiak Snow Blowing services for 5 years and have been completely satisfied with their service. It so nice to see them come and clear my drwy in a timely matter and I never have to worry about shovelling my way out to get to work on time.
For me there is no turning back to shovelling ever again. Well worth every penny.

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Snow Clearing Service

Kodiak Snowblowing is great. The first storm of every year is a little chaotic, much the same as my first storm commute. lol. After that, everything just clicks into place and the service is great. I've been a long time customer and will continue to be a Kodiak customer.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your loyalty and your business. No doubt the first storm was a doozy, especially for our new drivers who were not used to the long hours. But, they did a great job, enduring 31.5 hours of work over 2 days! We invested heavily in improving our training program this year and credit this decision with making our rookie drivers as prepared as they could have been. Our supervisors did a great job helping them as well. We look forward to their improved speed and quality as we move through the season. Have a great winter.

Lorna in Stittsville
Lorna in Stittsville
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Plowing

We have used Kodiak for 3 years now and I have nothing bad to say. They are there within a reasonable amount of time when we have had large snowfalls and comeback for a second pass after the city plow leaves their mess! In the spring we have never been left with any lawn, driveway or any other damage. I like the app they have, I do use it. It give a rough idea of when the plow will be here. After speaking to our "plow fellow" I understand that each driver has a lot of driveways to do, it is all about time and patience. Thanks Kodiak for keeping our driveway clean and saving my back!!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Lorna for your review. I appreciate the fact that you spoke to our driver and recognize that 'patience' on the part of the client is essential. Each driver services approximately 125 houses in 6 hours. Unfortunately, each homeowner has a different schedule and we can't always be on each driveway just when the homeowner wants us to. Have a great day.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Snow Blowing

I live in Kanata Estates and am so happy with Kodiak's s service. Kodiak blew the snow from our driveway today twice, beginning at 6:00 am. We noticed our neighbours, who are with Capital, were not serviced at all. Great dedication from Kodiak. So happy with my decision to be with and stay with Kodiak.

Ryan

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Ryan for your review. I presume you are referring to the clearing we did on Jan. 12-13(?). Storms which incorporate a lot of wind are very difficult for us to deal with. I appreciate you recognizing the two passes we did make. Have a great winter. Thanks for your business.

Larbi in Stittsville
Larbi in Stittsville
1 review Ottawa, ON
0/10

Terrible Service this year

This is my second year with Kodiak. My review based on this year's service so far. Last year Kodiak provided an excellent service to us. We were very very happy happy. We decided to hire their services this year. However, this year is a different story. During the December 2015 snow storm (25-30 cm) they showed up at 3:30 PM. During the January 12 and 13, 2016 snow fall (more 10 cm) they still didn't show up as I am writing this review (12 pm) . The city plough already went by and snow is still accumulated at the end of our driveway. I run a business from home that requires meeting with clients. My clients cannot park and therefore no business for me. I am very frustrated and disappointed at Kodiak's service this year.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Good day. Without supplying verifiable client info (ie. accurate client name, street name, or even city) I am able to provide generic ‘delivery of service’ data only. Per the Service Logs we post on our website, our tractors were delivering service from 5 AM on Dec. 29th until 2:30 AM on Dec. 30th (21.5 Hrs). I gave the boys a 4.5 hr rest and had them back in their tractors from 7 AM until 7 PM on Dec. 30th (another 12 hrs). We recorded a total snowfall of 21 cms at the Kodiak yard on Dec. 30th. Typically it takes our tractors 6 hours to complete their routes for a 1st pass. In heavy snow it can obviously take longer, especially when cars are parked helter skelter in the streets blocking traffic. If I knew what street you lived on I would be able to verify or disqualify your claim of a 3:30 PM pass on Dec. 29th. On Jan. 12th our Service Logs attest that our drivers worked one shift from 5 PM to 11 PM that day. I then pulled them back as the winds were negating any work that we had done to that point. (In other words, the 5 cms of snow that we removed before midnight filled in again by 1 AM.) To make a blanket statement that you received no service on this day would be inaccurate. I know that Kodiak and Kittle were the only two companies providing service at this time in Stittsville and most of Kanata. On Jan. 13 we resumed operations at 7:30 AM once the winds had died down and the plows started to make their rounds and we completed a 2nd pass on 80% of our our routes by 2 PM that day. If you had not received your 2nd cleaning by 12 PM I would assume that you are positioned close to the end of one of our routes and would have received it shortly after posting your review. Typically, if a client runs a home business I alert the driver to make sure he provides service before 8 AM and/or before 4 PM, depending upon when the snow starts. As I have mentioned in previous postings Kodiak flips its routes every year to give equal opportunity to everyone (ie. so that one client is not always at the beginning or end of a route). I presume your positioning on the route got flipped this year and that’s why the service is being delivered at a different time from what you are used to. I will also assume that we are not aware that you run a home-based business. If you would like to confirm your address by email I will make sure the driver accomodates you. If you of course do not let us know I cannot help you. For every problem there is always a solution if you give us the chance to provide it.

Ghoul-bourn in Stittsville
Ghoul-bourn in Stittsville
1 review Ottawa, ON
2/10

Snow Removal

So far- not impressed with Kodiak so far. The snowfall of December 28/29th 2015. I had to call the number to remind them to do my driveway. Called again after I saw the driver do a lane-way 3 doors down from mine and then go away. Drivers are not familiar with their routes obviously. Once the driver came at 6:29 PM (website and voicemail states that they were to do 2 passes before 6PM and then another around midnight of this date. The driver left 4 inches of snow still in the lane-way so we got the cars stuck trying to move them back in. You can do better Ann. I will give you one more chance with the next snowfall to see if you can improve your service. The girl Shawna said she opened a ticket about this as I could not on your website. Also- the GPS tracking for the plows was not working on your website as well. Hey- let's chalk it up to first time mistakes and I will improve my review if the service is satisfactory on the next snowfall.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your feedback. We acknowledge having a new driver working on Norway Spruce St (Goulbourn area of Stittsville) where he had issues missing a few driveways. He is familiar with his route, however the first storm of the season was a big storm and he of course was slow and stressed. If you have been a client of Kodiak before you know that we have new drivers every year. There is always a learning curve, but we have supervisors working with them to help them improve their speed and quality and usually after they have a few 10 cms storms under their belt they improve significantly. Understanding this on the part of the client helps and your patience is appreciated. On the evening of December 28th we experienced no less than 6 power failures at our office. Each one caused our servers to shut down and reboot. The last one knocked our GPS server offline entirely. Because of the holidays I was not able to get a technician working on it until today (Jan. 4th). We should have it back online again by mid-week. I would be very appreciative if you would return and submit another review in a month's time. I think you will see that the issues you experienced in this first big storm have long since been resolved. All the best, Ann P.S. We did not have any issues with our website. The online ticketing was fully functional throughout the storm and continues to be so.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

Is this your business?

Receive leads and respond to reviews.
Claiming is easy and free.

Claim this business

More about Kodiak Snow blowing Inc

Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Snow Removal pros in Ottawa?